We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after snorkel lunch!”
Review of The Buena Vida - CLOSED

The Buena Vida
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We ate at Buena Vida after a snorkel trip with Roatan divers in June, 2014. We were a group of 8 with 4 kids. The owner and staff was very attentive and offered to fry fish strips for the kids when we inquired. The kids loved it! The adults in the group drank local beers and had the most amazing fish tacos. They were lightly battered small pieces of fish with cabbage and a spicy sauce on top. AMAZING! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boushiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

boushiegirl, thank you for taking the time to write a great review on TA! You and your families were a treat to serve and I am so glad you enjoyed you day, not only here at the BV but on Roatan as a whole. I am glad you all were able to enjoy the Lionfish, hopefully the more we consume the more under control this predator will limited in its effect on the reef that we all enjoy so much. Thanks again and we hope to see you back on Roatan in the future.

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Enjoyed the food, bar, and chatting with owner. Pizza was great, you can even take it to go. Highly recommend eating here!

Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Cindy, thank you for the great words! We continue to operate as The Buena Vida for breakfast, lunch and bar and recently added Chubby Hubby Pizza as a "co" brand, working in tandem. Our hopes are, as the CH brand grows, we will expand it into it's own brick and mortar location in addition to the current set up with The BV. Again, we appreciate the kind words and your support! We hope to serve you again soon!

-Joe & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ended up here one night on the recomendation of someone. The pizza is INCREDIBLE! Great atmosphere. Service in Honduras wasn't the best, but here it was great. The owner, Joe, is wonderful. I ended up eating or just having drinks there nearly every night I was in West End. An absolute MUST visit if you're in Roatan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Alex B, thank you for the awesome words! Chubby Hubby Pizza is a new concept for us that we are rolling out in tandem with The Buena Vida. We have received very good feedback on the pizza as we grow the brand. Service is a big deal for us and we continue to strive to offer the best we can. Again, thanks for your support and we look forward to serving you again at The Buena Vida and Chubby Hubby Pizza. Keep living "The Good Life"!!!

-Joe & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a nice, open-air place where owners Wendy and Joe will take care of you! The plate of fish tacos is huge and the drinks are quick.

Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Rachel, thank you for taking the time to write a TA review. We are very proud of our Lionfish Tacos and they are a favorite at lunch as well as at night time for dinner. Hope to see you again on Roatan and here at the BV!

-Joe & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I recently visited West End on a dive trip and went to Buena Vida one evening for their pizza. We had heard good things about the pizza, so wanted to try it for ourselves. Comparing it to several other pizza locations in West End, we felt this was the best!

Joe, the owner, came out and introduced himself and chatted with us for a bit. We were very complimentary of his staff and food.

Buena Vida also serves breakfast and lunch, although we weren't able to try those out.

I would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

KKScubadiver, thanks for your support as well as your patronage here at the BV. We are excited about out new pizza program and the response has been great. Hopefully we will see you again at the BV and hopefully you get to try our breakfast and lunch.

-Joe & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buena Vida also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing