We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great late night drinks!”
Review of The Buena Vida - CLOSED

The Buena Vida
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great late night drinks!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stopped in here after Sundowners closed because I wasn't quite ready to go back to my hotel. The people there were really friendly and made me feel totally at home. The drinks were good and it was a good place to meet some of the locals. There is even an ATM machine inside for your convenience. Would like to eat there next time I go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Elaine, thank you for you kind words! We are glad to hear you felt at home with us. We hope you are able to come back and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner with us soon, we think you will enjoy that too. Keep living the "Good Life" and hope to see you on the island again soon!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    23
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food, and friendly prompt service. We ate there several times throughout the week and it's hard to pick a favorite meal. The fish tacos were great! Very reasonable prices.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Brooke H, thank you for your kind words! We have 2 things to sell, our food and or service and we work diligently to provide the best we can. Look forward to seeing you again on the island. Keep living the "Good Life"!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great casual spot in West End!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

You can't go wrong at the BV. Right in the heart of 'town', owners Joe and Wendy are constantly going the extra mile for their customers. This is not gourmet haute cuisine, but casual comfort food with a few twists. Servers Alan and Angela and chef Raoul were a treat. We were pleased to see Joe and Wendy hired locals to serve/cook unlike some other establishments in town, and even more pleased with the great service we got from the locals (also unlike some other establishments in town). We met several expats who raved about this place and we were not disappointed. Reasonable prices and good food - wish we could go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, westieb! Not to over use the cliché, we are nothing without our customers, but it is sooooooo true for us. We enjoy good service ourselves while out and continue to strive to offer the best service possible. All 5 of our employees are Honduran and are some of the best if not THE BEST on the island! Hope to see you again on the island! Keep living the good life!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little something for everyone!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hearty breakfasts that remind us of home, spicy fish tacos, sushi nights, garlic cheese dip that is so good I end up ordering extra extra bread, good music, great company...what more could you ask for? Joe and Wendy and Buena Vida are a great addition to the West End social life. Don't miss Monday Night's music trivia! Expect to stay late for after game dancing!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
KiwiDoig, thank you for your kind words and your continued support! Food and Service is all we have and we work really hard on hopefully providing the best we can. We really enjoy being a part of the happenings in West End and we hope that shows. Keep living the "Good Life"!!!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best places in West End”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We really liked this place and although it’s not perfect, it’s deserving of five stars. We were in West End for 8 days and ate there three times. That should tell you something.

Food: Excellent. They have innovative, fresh dishes with a local flare. They’re sort of small plates (like tapas) and they often have specials (buy one get one free, sushi rolls, 2 for 1 fish tacos, etc.). Everything we had was excellent or very good. They were out of several things we ordered but we were there in low season so that’s understandable.

Service: The local staff is very friendly, efficient, and well trained. Plus the owners (expats, husband and wife, I’m assuming) are there most nights and are actively involved. You can tell they really into it.

Atmosphere: Cool/casual/island/hip (I don’t know exactly what that means but hopefully you do).

Some nights they are closed for things like trivia night or rock-and-roll name that tune so be sure to check ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Phil, thank you for your patronage as well as these very nice words! Yes, Wendy and I are really into it and I am proud to hear that shows in our attentive staff and good food. Our apologies for being out of a few items from our menu. The island, at times, poses a challenge in getting certain supplies and sometimes it's just because we can't get out of West End. In spite of our limited menu offerings on Monday night, we hope you were able to enjoy Music Trivia, it is always a blast and the "thing to do" on a Monday in West End. Thanks again for taking the time to putting your experience into words and we hope to see you back on the island in the future.

Keep living the good life!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buena Vida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing