We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little something for everyone!”
Review of The Buena Vida - CLOSED

The Buena Vida
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hearty breakfasts that remind us of home, spicy fish tacos, sushi nights, garlic cheese dip that is so good I end up ordering extra extra bread, good music, great company...what more could you ask for? Joe and Wendy and Buena Vida are a great addition to the West End social life. Don't miss Monday Night's music trivia! Expect to stay late for after game dancing!

Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

KiwiDoig, thank you for your kind words and your continued support! Food and Service is all we have and we work really hard on hopefully providing the best we can. We really enjoy being a part of the happenings in West End and we hope that shows. Keep living the "Good Life"!!!

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We really liked this place and although it’s not perfect, it’s deserving of five stars. We were in West End for 8 days and ate there three times. That should tell you something.

Food: Excellent. They have innovative, fresh dishes with a local flare. They’re sort of small plates (like tapas) and they often have specials (buy one get one free, sushi rolls, 2 for 1 fish tacos, etc.). Everything we had was excellent or very good. They were out of several things we ordered but we were there in low season so that’s understandable.

Service: The local staff is very friendly, efficient, and well trained. Plus the owners (expats, husband and wife, I’m assuming) are there most nights and are actively involved. You can tell they really into it.

Atmosphere: Cool/casual/island/hip (I don’t know exactly what that means but hopefully you do).

Some nights they are closed for things like trivia night or rock-and-roll name that tune so be sure to check ahead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Phil, thank you for your patronage as well as these very nice words! Yes, Wendy and I are really into it and I am proud to hear that shows in our attentive staff and good food. Our apologies for being out of a few items from our menu. The island, at times, poses a challenge in getting certain supplies and sometimes it's just because we can't get out of West End. In spite of our limited menu offerings on Monday night, we hope you were able to enjoy Music Trivia, it is always a blast and the "thing to do" on a Monday in West End. Thanks again for taking the time to putting your experience into words and we hope to see you back on the island in the future.

Keep living the good life!

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As my fellow food allergy colleagues know, traveling can be very hard. Joe and Wendy took on my food allergies very seriously. The bonus was that the food was very very tasty! Highly recommend BV for anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, justbreath226! Food allergies are a very serious thing and in spite of being allergic to a number of things, your cards (both in English as well as Spanish) made it VERY easy to accommodate you needs. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in paradise soon!

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There's always something fun going on at Buena Vida whether it's early for breakfast or late night partying. Great food, great hosts conveniently located right in the heart of West End Village.

Thank roatandrummerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dave, thank you for taking the time to post a very nice review! Our local community is a VERY important part of our customer base and we proud to serve. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you during rainy season and beyond.

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I ordered the blackened lion fish and it was excellent. Good service, good cleanliness & good drinks.

Thank Diver836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! Thank you for your patronage and we hope you enjoyed your time on the island. Hope to see you back in paradise real soon!

Keep living the "Good Life"!

-Joe and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buena Vida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing