We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!”
Review of Cafe Escondido

Cafe Escondido
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cafe serving great Espresso based coffees, quick breakfast sandwiches, French Toast, Asian style lunches, healthy delicious smoothies and cocktails! Come in and relax! We are a breakfast and lunch place. We open at 7:45am till 3pm. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday. If we happen to be closed out side of Tuesday and Wednesday feel free to try the many other places in West End. Remember to Relax and enjoy your stay.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“YUM!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Fabulous spot, people, food, prices...need I say more..I think not .....except had a fabulous time in Roatan and cafe Escondido was a great spot on the strip in West End, above the dive shop. The view is great and this is a wonderful spot to relax and meet new people. (all of which we did)
Cheers :>)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDebbH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review and we loved having you here
B & V, Cafe Escondido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    65
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonder lunch, drinks and people”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate at Cafe Escondido a couple times during our stay, it was convent because we were diving with the shop below them. The fish tacos were very tasty. Also the sweet and sour bowl, and cashew chicken bowl were great. Priced well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macrae9907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our place,
B & V, Cafe Escondido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Cafe Escondido”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Go here! This restaurant is fairly new to West End ( we have been going to Roatan for 8yrs).....just be sure to go by 2:30, as they close at 3pm.....EXCELLENT for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review,
B & V, Cafe Escondido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding! A jewel of the West End, Roatan!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Love Cafe Escondido! Cruise down to West End Divers & up the unassuming stairs on the right into their super chill space of tables, couches, and hammocks under a low slung roof. Post up here for a meal or a coffee or drinks... and you will be returning for each during your trip. Operating under a culinary ethos of doing simple things well, Escondido does a selection of Pan Asian (heavily Chinese & Thai) rice & noodle bowls (plus wraps & whatnot) that are spot on for when you step off a dive boat famished. Throw in great drinks & full coffee bar (including a great affogato!) w/ an unfailingly friendly staff... excelente.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kneecap92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review,
B & V, Cafe Escondido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very good food (especially breakfast and the banana pancakes) and coffee. Staff provide very good service and are very friendly and helpful. Nice views from the open air upstairs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DUBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon,
B & V, Cafe Escondido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Escondido also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing