We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hang Out West End, Roatan”
Review of Cafe Escondido

Cafe Escondido
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cafe serving great Espresso based coffees, quick breakfast sandwiches, French Toast, Asian style lunches, healthy delicious smoothies and cocktails! Come in and relax! We are a breakfast and lunch place. We open at 7:45am till 3pm. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday. If we happen to be closed out side of Tuesday and Wednesday feel free to try the many other places in West End. Remember to Relax and enjoy your stay.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a great place to hang out in between scuba dives, or just to hang out. Great drinks, great food, very relaxed atmosphere. Loved it!

Thank OHIONEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks for enjoying our space and the review.
B & V, Cafe Escondido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Escondido
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 428 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Upon returning to Roatan after two years and seeing Cafe Escondido as the top restaurant, we thought the fix was on. Someone with a really large extended family was filing false reviews and inflating the restaurant. So we ate there. In a word, yum. This is primarily a breakfast and sandwich restaurant so don't expect a big dinner. But we had the best fish tacos we have had anywhere. A huge portion of amazingly fresh fish topped with arugula, fresh vegetables and amazing sides.
The service is amazingly friendly and included several visits from the guy I believe is the owner to make sure everything was great. The most amazing part is the prices! We paid $5 for the fish taco plate that in Orange County, where we live, would have been $15. Beers were less than $2. I can't recommend this place more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SenorVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We love our Fish Tacos too! Thanks for the great review and hope to see you back down here soon! B & V, Cafe Escondido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were warmly greeted and seated for breakfast and coffee and a fruit breakfast. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and talking to the new owner and their plans for the space. We have been to Roatan several times and this resto-bar is a welcome addition to the west end scene!

Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hope to see you guys back here for coffee soon! Thanks for your review,
B & V, Cafe Escondido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The owners were quick to learn my name and welcomed me each morning when I came for my latte! And the banana chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches were to die for!

Thank Lpeters23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for your review, Stormy says hi and we hope to see you back here soon for more ice-cream sandwiches!
Thanks
B & V, Cafe Escondido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food and atmosphere are amazing.. From breakfast to dinner or even just crabbing a cup of capucinno and watching the sunset, Cafe Escondido is the place to visit at least once while on West End.

Thank sharlazelaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatdiver, Owner at Cafe Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for enjoying our space and your review! Hope to see you back here soon
B & V, Cafe Escondido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Escondido also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing