We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had stayed Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel La Buena Onda
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I had stayed Longer”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at Buena Onda on our last night coming back through Roatan, and I wish we had booked it on our first leg as well! It is beautiful, just off the main strip and everyone was super friendly. Certainly the best way to meet amazing people and enjoy the relaxing nature of the island. There were kittens, what more can I say?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
14
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hostel La Buena Onda was one of the most incredible hostel experiences I've ever had. Sophie the owner is fantastic, and helps you with whatever you may need. Sophie and Alvaro (the guy who helps out with the hostel) are extremely helpful and make you feel at home as soon as you walk in the front screen door. Not to mention you will meet amazing travelers from around the world here and you will more than likely make life-long friends.

The walk to the beaches, restaurants, stores and bars is short and not bad on the eyes either. The hostel itself is great and has everything you need to cook and feel comfortable during your stay. I stayed here for 10 nights and would have stayed longer if I could have. La vida es buena en Roatan!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieCook93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently traveled to Roatan for a quick break from graduate school demands back in the states. Being a student, I researched budget accommodations and booked a bed at Buena Onda about 5 weeks in advance- and I'm glad I did! When I arrived they were booked and stayed fairly booked throughout my stay. The location is perfect- just a 5 minute walk to town, far enough away from the noisy street. While it did get a little warm at night, I think that is to be expected when you travel to a climate like Roatan. I felt safe and welcome throughout my stay; any questions I had were answered! I would highly recommend staying here if you don't mind sharing a room with other friendly travelers. I will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jridolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank god that hotel chillies did not hav any bed for me so that I ended up staying in buena onda. I stayed 8 nights there. Amazing staff friendly and caring owner sophie. So clean and and 3 min walk to the beach. There re hammocks upstairs where u can chill out and the hostel is very friendly environment. I went to roatan all the way from dubai for diving. Staying at buena onda defo made my trip worthy and if I ever go back to roatan I have no doubt staying at buena onda. For those who want more privacy, they hav few private rooms also. Dont miss out on this place, really!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank annadxb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Thank god that hotel chillies did not hav any bed for me so that I ended up staying in buena onda. I stayed 8 nights there. Amazing staff friendly and caring owner sophie. So clean and and 3 min walk to the beach. There re hammocks upstairs where u can chill out and the hostel is very friendly environment. I went to roatan all the way from dubai for diving. Staying at buena onda defo made my trip worthy and if I ever go back to roatan I have no doubt staying at buena onda. For those who want more privacy, they hav few private rooms also. Dont miss out on this place, really!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank annadxb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Initially I was sceptical on arriving at the place and resisted paying until I had stayed at least one night (I had booked in for seven nights). Well, the place grew on me and now I can say that it is definitely a decent place to hang up your boots for a while. I stayed for 8 nights in the end and I enjoyed it a whole lot. I stayed in a dorm room.

I guess a lot depends on the crowd that is in the hostel at the time, but I think Roatan tends to attract a quieter, more mature bunch anyway, so you're probably going to be OK at Buena Onda. It is very chilled out and quiet. The WiFi is decent. The beds are comfy and the whole place is kept clean.

The walk to and from town should not put you off (it is at most a ten minute walk) and in fact I think will alleviate cabin fever of staying in West End itself, which is just too small to live in for long. I really enjoyed my daily, sometimes twice daily, walks into town.

My only recommendation is that you take your own bowl (there is only one in the communal kitchen) and possibly your own spoon. Washing up of dishes in this part of the world involves cold water so I'm not convinced that the standard of hygiene in kitchens is all that high.

Another recommendation: eat a budget meal at the tiny streetfood stall just off the petrol station forecourt. It has a Pepsi advert for a sign. very tasty, very large, fresh cooked, and very affordable!

Final FINAL recommendation: get cash from the ATMs often as they tend to stop working simultaneously and at the least convenient times. There is one inside the convenience store at the petrol station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polecat070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I totally agree with previous positive reviews and comments about close location, lovely roof, WiFi and etc. Great place to stay, clean and cozy. Not fancy, with outdoor shower, onsite kitchen, but for such price, we had more then we paid for. And the host is just AMAZING.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaMicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.0 mi away
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
0.4 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Buena Onda

Property: Hostel La Buena Onda
Address: | West end, West End, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Onda..the perfect place to be like at home...enjoy the peace and good energy of the hostel and the people..with only 4 bedrooms around a big tree, Buena Onda has the capacity for 20 travelers. having the option to share in a dorm or sleep on a private room with private bathroom...Garden with hammocks, bbq and a big roof terrace where to chill at night. hot showers, big kitchen, internet, DVD movies......difficult to leave after you have been with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel La Buena Onda Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing