We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't try this until our last night...wish we found it earlier”

Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in West End
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Didn't try this until our last night...wish we found it earlier”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I'm not sure why so many reviews complain about the slow service here. You're on vacation in a sleepy little beach town....where else do you have to be besides sitting out on the deck enjoying the moonlight and conversation? Even so, I didn't find our wait time to be very long.

This place is a little deceiving. There's a white sandwich board out on the street with the menu, but you have to walk down a little path to get to the restaurant on the beach. It's a lovely view and feels very private. When we sat down, the owner/chef came out and told us about the specials that evening. He also came back later in the evening to check on us. A nice touch, I think.

I had a taste for lobster, but since the fish of the day was mahi mahi, I went with that. It was cooked perfectly with a mango pineapple salsa, and the vegetables and rice were delicious. One of our group had the garlic lobster and said it was a little overcooked. Another one of our group is a vegetarian so she had a pasta dish with vegetables. It was enormous, but she ate almost all of it and said it was very good.

The prices were very reasonable for fresh fish. The garlic lobster listed on the sandwich board was $15, and my mahi mahi was $16.

If we had tried this earlier in our stay, we probably would have gone back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    139
    75
    53
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“go somewhere else”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Although everyone I've asked told me about the lousy service... and good food; I decided to try it anyhow!, I wasn't in a hurry and the lionfish with mango and pineapple catched my interest.
In a terrace overlooking the sea, with nice mellow music, I ordered and was ready to wait...
To my surprise, the service was great, I asked for rice and beans, whicht wasn´t with my meal and they made the change effortless...
the problem was the food!!! the fish was so overcooked, that it felt hard, kind of rubberish, and soooo salty, that even that I asked for extra mango and pineapple to compensate the flavuor, it was simply useless. I just couldn´t make myself finish the dish, and I knew it was not cheap!.I ended up paying 25 usd.
I went out to the Street and found an icecream store and bought one, just to wash off the salty flavour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great food”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We ate here on our first night in West End and were not disappointed. The sunset from the dock was breathtaking and our waitress was awesome, though the service was a little slow for us being one of two tables. However when the food came it was worth the wait….we had the coconut barracuda and the lobster….we couldn't decide which was better. Atmosphere was amazing, and the prices were very reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eboett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Sandwich ever!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We ate at the Lighthouse Restaurant and had local Salva Vida beer and the freshest, best tasting Grouper sandwich ever. This is a little island gem with a wonderful view, traditional Roatan Island feel and great music playing. I would say this is a gem that needs to be discovered when visition Roatan!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Omg!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A group of 6 of us went for lunch on a Wednesday. We had the place to ourselves for the first while and then a couple others started to filter in. The food was outstanding. I had the deep fried lobster, it was so good I'll be dreaming about it for months! Everyone in our group had a great meal! Service was good and the view couldn't be beat. Nothing like a great meal with a great view! When we return to roatan next year it's already on the list of "have to do again" and the cost very reasonable! Much better than other seafood restaurants we went to on the island!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing