We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful dinner”

Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 64 Restaurants in West End
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second trip to Roatan and the Lighthouse restaurant. The whole snapper dish and the scallop dish were both very good. The wine was okay. The service and atmosphere were delightful. A place worth visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frackadelic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    139
    77
    53
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great grilled fish”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got the "tipica" lunch with rice, beans and plantains. Very good, reasonably priced. We went back later for a drink at sunset. Superb setting!

They did have trouble breaking our 20US, but other than that the service was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Bad!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Food was mediocre at best and service was terrible. Waited what seemed like forever to get our check and then realized that our waiter had left the restaurant and was on the beach talking to people. I finally got up to find someone to help us (no one seemed to care) and when we presented our credit card, the waiter said he needed our ID as well. As a prior reviewer had said, this seemed sketchy to us, so we followed the person to the back office and waited for another 10-15 min with him to process it. Ridiculous!
To top things off, none of us were feeling well after our respective meals.
Stay away from this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TRCR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is an incredible restaurant, great location right in the middle of West Bay with a view that doesn't stop. If you want a great place to watchh the sunset, there is probably not a better place that serves you to do it. But bthe best thing about this restaurant is the food...and you have to try their Fried Lobster! My wife and I have eaten lobster all over the world and this was truly the sweetest and most favorable lobster we have ever put in our mouths. Remarkable, so much so we got the recipe from the Chef! Also try the Guacamole and fresh chips, the Grilled Snapper, and their french fries are perfect. We went there twice in one week!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank harbormaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sketchy credit card protocol”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We read all the mixed reviews and we decided we wanted to give it a try because we wanted fresh fish. The food was decent, and our server was nice and generally attentive. We enjoyed our time until our bill came. 15 minutes later after the woman had not come I walked up to her at the bar and handed it to her since she looked busy processing inventory or something.
15 minutes later she still hadnt processed it so I walked up again. She was not happy. 5 minutes later still had not processed it. So I walked up again. She finally processed it, slammed the paper and pen down on the table and demanded I also give her my ID number. I told her no I wouldn't give here ID because it seemed sketchy so I walked out. When we got home the owner of our guesthouse had never heard of anyone asking for ID. If you go, pay in cash.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veronicahalbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing