We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chillies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chillies
Ranked #2 of 13 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took a private cabin in the lil jungle court for 4 days at 26$ the night. Very nice!
You're surrounded in lush green gardens, beautiful flowers and crabs. Lots of crabs lol
There is a lil kitchen if you wanna cook. Right in front of the hotel, there is the Sundowners bar for drinks, owned by a canadian!
West end is very small. The hotel is at one extremety, but everything is at walking distance. The beach, is right up front. You can snorkel your way to nice corals in 5 minutes though you gotta rent your equipment elsewhere (5$) as they do not rent it.
Cost me 10$ of taxi from the roatan airport. They charged 20$ to my friend 2 days before. You have to bargain :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel and the beautiful garden and the snorkeling in the bay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
91
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danli, Honduras
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent 4 days with Chillies on Roatan and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is basic but well-kept and clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. While there is no A/C we were pleasantly surprised to find that the cool ocean breezes and the fans kept us comfortable through the nights. With Native Sons diving in the same location, restaurants, glass bottom boats, beautiful beach right in front, we really didn't have any need to travel to other sites.Thanks Mish for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The private cabins are a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alansumnerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our cabins. I hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at Chillies a few weeks ago and was absolutely fab. The location is great, opposite a gorgeous beach and Sundowners, a cool beach bar. Staff were lovely and the receptionist, Lilliana was so helpful. We dove with Native Sons, attached to Chillies and it was my first time diving and Eddie, the instructor was absolutely awesome, as were the other instructors. My bf is a more experienced diver and he really enjoyed it too. Saw turtles pretty much every time we went out. Couldn't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of wildlife, go for a room in the main house. The private cabins are beauti...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in private cabin (C3) and really enjoyed it there. Having my own clean room with hot showers was key. Slept well every night, and was easily able to find people to hang out with in the common areas. Location is awesome, across the street from Sundowners and a very quick walk to anywhere else in West End. Definitely the best place to stay, and very reasonably priced. Staff are super friendly and fluent in both English and Spanish. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location, nice bungalows (we had one for 3 persons, but we were only 2. might be a bit small for 3...), very clean and calm.
We were asked to bring school furniture for the nearby school if we had any spared space in our luggages. We managed to bring notebooks and pensils, which was really appreciated!
Generally about West End, take every thing you can to fight against mousquitos because they will bite you nights and days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sploog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay apart from the mosquitos. Thanks for the school supplies and come back again some day to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived around 18:30 off the ferry from La Ceiba. The receptionist was not the least bit friendly,I though perhaps it was because it was time for her to go home,but, I did not see her smile once in the three days we were there. She did however have a room available for us. I asked her,"does it have a bathroom?" she replied in a tired voice "yes it has a bathroom". But in actual fact it was a shared bathroom. The room was tiny and a bit of a sweatbox and we were woken several times in the night by mangoes falling onto the decking! Unfortunately the dive school was closed until mid july also.
That said, the hostel is close to the beach,cheap, fairly quiet and adequately clean .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishymishy, Owner at Hotel Chillies, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am really sorry that your stay at Chillies wasn't very enjoyable. Once a year my husband and I go on holiday and leave our staff running the hotel. Normally this works quite well but it seems that this time it didn't go so smoothly. I am sorry that my worker wasn't very friendly. This is her first job and she only started in April so she really is just in training. I have talked to her since returning so hopefully this will not happen again and if it does I will have to find someone else who can be nicer to our guests.

As for the heat there is not much I can do, this is the tropics in the summer, and it can get very muggy. Also in June and July you have to get uses to the sound of mangos hitting roofs and decks all around the island. I live above the room you were staying in and I know that sound very well. The good side to it is that in the morning you can walk around the garden and pick up mangos, freshly fallen from the trees. I just had one for breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been to Roatan 4 times in the last 18 months. We stay at Hotel Chillies because of the wonderful staff, clean accommodations, and incredibly reasonable rates. We have had nothing but the most warm and wonderful welcome from the owners, Mish and Alvin, each time we stay in their lovely garden in our private cabin. The diving through Native Sons is the best! We will never dive with anyone else because of their incredible safety record, professionalism, and most of all, friendliness!
Kris Nei and Mark Smythe

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_N42863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
0.2 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#3 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Resort
Half Moon Resort
#31 of 41 in Roatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chillies

Property: Hotel Chillies
Address: Half Moon Bay | West End, West End, Roatan 99999, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best budget hotel on Roatan. Safe, clean and central. On the beach, dorm beds, private rooms, cute wooden cabins, luxury studio apartments, beautiful garden. Native Sons dive shop on property. All rooms have access to a kitchen. We have a small cafe for simple island breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chillies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chillies Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing