We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value & Hospitality in the West End.”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Value & Hospitality in the West End.”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Over a three week period we stayed in three different places in the West End on Roatan. The Mariposa was by far the best value ($40 a night). Located just off the main street (about a minute walk) the Mariposa Lodge is centrally located to all of the restaurants, gift shops, dive shops, taxis, buses and the beach. We stayed at the Mariposa for ten days.

The room offered a kitchenette with two gas burners, a microwave, coffee pot (with great Honduran coffee) and a small refrigerator along with plenty of food storage space for those staying longer term. They also provided 5-gallon bottles of purified drinking water which was great. In other places we stayed which cost more than twice as much we had to provide our own drinking water. The rooms were kept extremely clean by the fantastic housekeeper who was very thorough and obviously takes great pride in what she does. Some things we especially loved about the housekeeping were:
1. Clean towels for both the bathroom and kitchen area each day.
2. The bathroom sink, toilet & shower areas were cleaned each day always smelling fresh & clean upon our return each day.
3. She swept not only the entire place each day but also swept the deck area outside each day which is great considering how much sand and dirt can be tracked in from the dirt roads and beach.
**There was much more than this, but these things in particular were much appreciated by us. Please understand, the overall customer service in the West End is not good at all, so we appreciated the Mariposa a great deal for this feature.

There was a separate room as the bedroom although it just had an open doorway for entering. We stayed in room #1 which had a full bed and a twin bed with a TV for watching movies (in the reception office they offer over 500 titles to choose from, free!) The entire place had nice large tile floors which were always cool and comfortable to walk on and very clean. There was also a nice sized closet with a few hangers and shelves, a dresser and a safe lock box for small valuables.

Sue & Mike were both wonderful hosts and just good people - we observed this with all of the international guests they visited with and their staff during our stay. We had a problem with our shower head the first day we got there and Mike immediately came down and replaced it. We also ran out of propane for the stove (in the middle of cooking dinner a few days after we got there) and Sue had it replaced within a couple of minutes.

There was a one-one book exchange in the reception office and they did offer wifi although in my experience it didn't work very well with my android phone. We didn't bring a laptop so don't know whether it would have been a good connection or not.

Sue offers Shiatsu massage from a room in the Mariposa for just $40 an hour for guests. We didn't take advantage of this but did see a number of others going in for massages while we were there.

The only real negatives to us during our stay in the Mariposa were the following:

1. Room #1 didn't have any REAL windows - just screens, security bars and wooden blinds, thus not keeping out the outside noises which included other guests using the shared porch which has tables & chairs right outside 5 of the room windows; roosters which seem to start crowing at about 4 a.m. each morning and all throughout the day; barking dogs and noisy vehicles which drive right up the dirt road that goes right past the window at the head of the full bed and also many of the bars on main street have very loud music that goes late into the night. Also, if the wood blinds are open so you can see out the window it gives you absolutely NO privacy because of the shared deck. What this means is you really can't have the blinds open for outside air-flow and daylight and have any privacy at all. Luckily, there are two ceiling fans which came in VERY handy during our stay. (I would say that if you're a very light sleeper, the Mairposa/ room #1 may not be the place for you.)

2. We did have our share of very small ants in the room although this was quite common in many places we stayed in Honduras. I mentioned it to the housekeeper and she immediately sprayed and they weren't as bad after that.

3. The bed was VERY uncomfortable, as were most of the beds we slept in while in Honduras.

When I return again to Roatan's West End, especially if staying for a longer time and needing the kitchenette, the Mariposa Lodge would be my number one choice. We walked through all of the West End looking at rooms, getting quotes, etc. and by far Sue & Mike's place was the overall best value. Thanks you guys!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSister9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    67
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
93
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I loved staying at Mariposa. I had a room that was superb value with a kitchenette so I was able to cook and save money on food. The staff was super friendly and knowing I was traveling alone the manager would come keep me company when I was stuck inside due to rain. She also gave me a tour of the town and showed me all sorts of good places for drinks and introduced me to people so I had friends to socialize with. Mike and Sue are friendly and great people. I will definitely stay again and hope to bring my whole family with me sometime!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanyroselynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Good place to stay, really close to the restaurants and activities area and a really peacefull ambient

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxime007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Mariposa. Mike and Sue provide clean and spacious lodging set back from the busy main street though it is still close to everything. We loved our private deck for reading and relaxing in a hammock, and found it very convenient for drying bathing suits and sandy shoes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed in one of Mike and Sue's lovely apartments and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms are set up for comfort and convenience - and have everything one might need. We didn't cook in the room (so many nice eating out options in the West End) but prepared ourselves breakfast of fruit, yoghurt and coffee every morning. Mike and Sue are great hosts and we enjoyed speaking wtih them. We also each got several magical massages from Sue during our weeklong stay. SOOO good!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LCCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Nice to be able to prepare your own meals and only dine out when you wish, The kitchen is adequately supplied with utensils. Being in the middle of the West End, the music is a bit loud on the weekends, but not unbearable. I was troubled by mosquitoes and no-see-ums, but I suspect that is a problem all over Roatan. Being 100 yards away from the beach, I had hoped to avoid insect bites. I had very minor concerns while at Mariposa, and Sue and Mike were prompt and responsive. I was very pleased with the level of cleanliness that they maintain in the units with daily service. The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.. I will recommend Mariposa to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meconopsis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Safe, great location, relaxing, fun, owners are helpful but not intrusive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldercouple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villagio Verde
Villagio Verde
#6 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing