We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spacious, clean and convenient to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Creston, Canada
2 reviews
“spacious, clean and convenient to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Nice to be able to prepare your own meals and only dine out when you wish, The kitchen is adequately supplied with utensils. Being in the middle of the West End, the music is a bit loud on the weekends, but not unbearable. I was troubled by mosquitoes and no-see-ums, but I suspect that is a problem all over Roatan. Being 100 yards away from the beach, I had hoped to avoid insect bites. I had very minor concerns while at Mariposa, and Sue and Mike were prompt and responsive. I was very pleased with the level of cleanliness that they maintain in the units with daily service. The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.. I will recommend Mariposa to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meconopsis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    67
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
93
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Safe, great location, relaxing, fun, owners are helpful but not intrusive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldercouple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Originally we planned on a week's stay but extended to 10 days. A stay at the Mariposa is like going to your friend's house---- if your friend happened to live on the island. It's not a luxury 5 star resort, but rather a very comfortable B&B with an island flavor. Sue and Mike are great hosts and provided great ideas to make our vacation memorable.
The rooms were HUGE with lots of amenities to make it our home away. A full in-room kitchen was provided in which we cooked shrimp, lobster, and fish bought 100 yards from the front door. They share a large DVD collection (DVD players in every room) if you are not into the bar scene on the main drag.
Rooms are spotless and free of any insects, which was amazing (to me) given the climate. The huge veranda has hammocks and a gathering area with tables and chairs to share the day's adventures with fellow travellers.
My one negative--sleep quality & quantity could be improved if they strangled the neighbor's roosters which apparently start their day (and yours) at 4 AM. I know, I know--spoken like a city-boy tourist.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Thank you Mike & Sue, owners of the Mariposa, for once again making our vacation so wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay. Bright clean rooms, bottled water, in-room safe, hammock, kitchenette, coffee machine with coffee, TV, DVD player & free movies, plus great staff...the Best value in the West End!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles007Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langue, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

I recommend this hotel, mainly the appartments with kitchenette.

I tried firstly the rooms with AC and their are less interesting then the appartment and far more expensive (60US$ compared to 50$US).

It's good to stay there, it is perfect for a couple. For group, their is a little house with 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette. That seems really interesting too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

In addition to friendly and helpful owners, Mariposa has spacious and clean rooms with good furniture and a handy kitchen setup in the private rooms. For a traveler staying more than a few nights this becomes invaluable, as it gives you the option to cook in your room. Rooms are well maintained with everything in working order and comfortable beds. Sue and Mike are great - always on hand to offer advice or just friendly conversation. A pleasant and easy stay - we'd return again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanonaetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay tremendously, in large part because of the wonderfully equipped and comfortable rooms. They supplied everything we needed!
deck and clothesline for dripping scuba gear.
hammock on the deck
shelf space galore in the bathroom
counter space, fridge, stove top, microwave, coffee pot, enough dishes pots and pans, a good knife and cutting board, water
an outer porch for muddy shoes,
movies
free wi fi
plenty of outlets in the room

proximity to the dive shop, produce trucks, little grocery stores and a few restaurants. (The Thai restaurant was VERY good.)
good lights and fans
a sense of privacy in location away from the main street and in floor plan of building from other guests.
daily maid service with daily clean towels (fluffier even than the ones I have at home)


Owner's personal presence and attention make a big difference!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WednesdaysChild0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.9 mi away
Villagio Verde
Villagio Verde
#6 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing