We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret it”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I stayed here for 10 days recently. I was planning to stay for maybe 1 or 2, but enjoyed it so much I never left.

I've stayed in many guesthouses across the world, this was one of the best of them, no joke. A big plus for me was the kitchen. It was like renting a litte studio apartment on the island - an apartment that was super-clean and orderly, with plenty of little touches that showed that a lot of thought and care had gone into the place.

I really can't recommend it enough. If it's in your price range, and you are looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay, I would book in a hearbeat. I plan on going back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

I traveled to Roatan to go SCUBA diving. As I was looking on-line for a hotel, I noted this one. Mike and Sue were very responsive to my e-mails and I quickly determined that this was the place for me.

Mike picked me up from the airport. He is a friendly and engaging guy who knows a lot about the island and the people there. Sue was great with advice and very nice to talk with. The hotel itself is what it says, more of a lodge with a main house and a second semi-detached wing. Each room has a fridge and a microwave, some have full kitchens. There is no broadcast or cable tv, but they do have a wide selection of dvds to watch.

The location was great. It is only about 100 yards off the main road, but this is far enough so that the noise of the bars did not bother me, yet close enough to get to all of the restaurants, dive shops and gift shops.

The room was spotlessly clean and the towels were soft. The matress was a bit firm for me, but that is a matter of personal preference.

I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend the Mariposa Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

If you are a budget traveler, Roatan can get expensive quick. We stayed at Mariposa Lodge in one of their apartments with a private bathroom and kitchen. The room was impecably clean and the kitchen was well stocked (except for sharp knives, we cooked using our sharp pocket knife). Outside the apartment there is a large deck with hammocks and tables. The location is great because the lodge is slightly set back from the main road and the beach, so it's much quieter. The walk to the beach only takes you about 1 minute.

Mike and Sue are very hospitable hosts and even have a 300+ DVD collection that they readily share with guests. If I ever find myself in Roatan again, I'm staying there!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeahgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Probably the best value you can get. We stayed in one of the appartments on the top floor, and it was truely amazing. The view is great, but the apartment was even better. Fully equiped kitchen, a living room with free dvds for the rainy days, a clean bedroom a nice hot shower, and a small but very nice balcony with a hammok and a friendly cat (Camarones as we named it).

It's not on the main street, but so close it doesn't really make a difference.

As for the owners, Sue and Mike, they live in the lodge, and are the nicest people around.

I truelly recommend this place.

Have fun in Roatan!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustcallmeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff, very calm, no party place, no noise from bars on the beach, hammocks on the terrasse, a safety box in every room/apartment,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epietsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in Roatan - stayed at the Mariposa after hearing very good reviews over the years . It deserves a shout out. The lodge is slightly set back from the main strip of West End - better. It's quieter. If you want a sea view this isn;t the place- but if you're after - spotlessly clean, no hassle accommodation at a very decent price - it's between $30 - 40 for the best room - a little apartment with kitchen, water, massive shower, replenished coffee - nice big balcony, this is really one of the best options in the West End of Roatan. There's an extensive DVD collection - magazines- big tv in the room that we had - and the owners mike and Sue are attentive but not in your face - really lovely folk.... Closest dive shop is a 2 minute walk - but the rest are all under 8 so no worries there...enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

If you're going to West End, Roatan, do yourself a favour and stay at Mariposa Lodge. Why? Well, because:

* It's beautiful. A picturesque three-storey wooden house set back from the beach, each with a wide verandah, perfect for hammock-dwelling. There are additional single-storey apartments, also with their own outside porch and hammocks.

* It's beautifully maintained: The rooms are neat as a pin, with flyscreens that - wait for it - have no holes! Your room is serviced every day, and your drinking water is replaced as needed.

* It's brilliantly equipped: Each room has a kitchenette (fridge, stove top, microwave, drip coffee machine, and pots and utensils), so you can whip up your own sauteed lobster to scoff in your hammock. It's not only infinitely better than eating at the local restaurants, it's also infinitely cheaper. Rooms also have a TV and DVD player, to watch the more than 500 films available from the office. There's also a book exchange and magazine rack.

* It's incredible value for money. Roatan is expensive; Mariposa takes the sting out of that with its more than reasonable rates (with deals for stays of five days or more), and the kitchenette - a great feature when you know that you'll have to pay $5 for your morning pancake in restaurants.

I know this reads like I'm one of the owners, but honestly I'm just a recent guest delighted to have found people who actually care about their property. After five months travelling in South and Central America, it makes a very, very nice change.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentalbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Corales
Hotel Los Corales
#9 of 9 in West End
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 9 in West End
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in West End
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing