We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Basic Hotel for Stay on Beautiful Island”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Basic Hotel for Stay on Beautiful Island”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mariposa Lodge was everything I wanted and more. For a very low price I got a very clean, well maintained room that even had a kitchen and fridge. The fans were enough for me to stay cool at night. The location is perfect - set back a little from the street but still close to everything. I was traveling by myself and felt very safe. Management was very helpful and worked with me to figure out key drop and storing my bags before I left. I really loved the hammock hanging on the porch!

At one point the water did go out (because of pressure issues affecting all buildings around them) but this is to be expected on an island where things don't always work perfectly (part of the charm if you ask me). I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    68
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
93
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our 2 person room was small with no ventilation from sealed windows and no ceiling fan. Manag ement asks that you don't leave the AC on when you leave but the room was stuffy and smelled stale on return. We could see that the other rooms had fans and window screens. At bedtime, the AC was noisy so we shut it off and sweated.
The fridge was too small to provision in some juices or food, it held our coffee and a jug of water. The water was supplied in a plastic barrel with a pump dispenser. We ran out of toilet paper but saw the management to ask for more. The shower head is a limited flow device that seeps out, we took the head off to have a hose-down. The beds are not comfortable and one of them had a broken leg.
Close to main street and to the water taxis.
Hens and roosters rule the yard.
The beaches and restaurants are close by.

Room Tip: Get a room with windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elemtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2008Roatan, Owner at Mariposa Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are sorry that the Air-condition Room you specifically requested did not meet your need for fresh air and open windows. Guess its all about expectation. We do request guests to not leave units running when they are out all day. Most people are Ok with that since it only takes minutes to cool the room off when you return.

We do endeavor to keep rooms stocked with necessities. When housekeeping is in the room daily there is one roll of toilet paper on the hanger and a spare on the back of the toilet. it is rare that guests need more than a full roll per day per person, but we are always happy to provide more if requested.

Shower heads are Moen, 1.2 gpm, environmentally friendly units. They do take some getting used to but consider that Roatan's fresh water is pumped from deep wells using diesel generated electricity, and you can begin to understand it's preciousness. We do what we can to save water.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great place, close to everything but far enough back to be quieter. Great managers, friendly, helpful, made sure we were taken care of. Thanks, Bernie and Wanda! Clean, loved the fact we could cook or reheat food in our apartment. We never ran out of hot water, but we did run out of toilet paper (twice) and drinking water. If you notice your water jug is low and know you tend to be a water drinker, then just ask for a refill while someone is in the office. Same with your toilet paper. No A/C not an issue, fans kept it cool and our apartment (#1) was out of the direct sun. This trip was actually the honeymoon my husband and I had had to put on hold and we had a fabulously delightful time. We highly recommend the Mariposa Lodge and would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The lodge is great! The manager, Bernie, took great care to ensure guests have a positive experience with focus on safety, cleanliness and suggestions for ways in which to explore the island.

The lodge is close to the beach, restaurants, shopping and dive shops. It was so nice to just walk out of the lodge and access pretty much anything we wanted.

We stayed in apartment #2 which was spacious and clean. The kitchen was perfect for us as we cooked several meals with the fish we caught while deep see fishing.

There was plenty of safe/ fresh drinking water which is provided to all guests at no extra charge.

We had plenty of hot water for washing dishes and showering.

Our bed was in the back of the room which helped with privacy and noise.

Overall, the lack of A/C was not an issue for us as the 2 ceiling fans helped to cool the place in the evening.

The lodge is situated up the hill and it feels like you are in the jungle. There are chickens and roosters all over the place. Some folks complained about the rooster calls in the mornings, but we found it endearing. There were a few cute cats who would hang around the lodge.

The free DVDs were nice since there were a few nights we were exhausted from diving all day.

There are hammocks on the decks and we even got engaged while relaxing in one! :-)

Bernie helped us to get safe transportation to a remote part of the island, Camp Bay. The driver was wonderful as he taught us a lot about the history of the island and the diverse local population.

A nice synchronicity occurred where we met Bernie's cousin while out for the evening. It was nice to experience the close-knit ties of this family.

Bernie is very attentive and cares about the guests and the perception of the Mariposa Lodge.

Thank you for hosting us and making our experience great! -Jason and Alison

Room Tip: Apartments are spacious - we were in Apartment 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymousGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The place is great far enough to be quiet but 3 min.walk from the main street. Choose a room in the main lodge for the cabin 8 that we got was too small for 3 persons. We did'nt have hot water in our cabin but the manager who could not get it repair arranged for us to go to another shower. We got a rebate for this inconvinience. The place is very clean and the staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed with Mariposa Lodge for a week over the Christmas holidays and it was a perfect place! The staff were so friendly, the rooms were big and very clean and the location was perfect. The rooms all had nice decks with a great hammock and friendly cats would come visit every day. We never ran out of hot water which I think is a rarity in Roatan (at least this what we found in other places). I would highly recommend this place and would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Mariposa Lodge was a lifesaver! We booked last minute over the New Years holiday when we arrived in Roatan and couldn't have wished for better accommodations. The rooms were clean and spacious. The deck and hammocks are perfect for lounging, and you're still right in the center of town. The staff was so helpful and flexible, and you honestly can't beat the price. We would 100% stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to the Bay Islands!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LzepWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 8 in West End
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 8 in West End
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 8 in West End
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing