We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week in Roatan”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Mariposa Lodge for a week and loved it. Nice place with a hammock on the porch of every room. Room came with a microwave and a fridge and the AC worked great. The room was comfortable and the location is great. Only about a 100 yards from the main street so it is centrally located to everything but you don't hear any of the noise.

Room Tip: I had a room with AC but I think that even without it I would have been totally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed in a couple of places in Roatan, and despite Mariposa being a bit set-back from the street without a waterview/access -- we still prefer Mariposa and the leafy canopy with a short walk to the beach vs. being eaten alive by sandflies or standed on coral-cutting shorelines (still) far from sandy beaches... We have stayed in Mariposa's upper suites with private kitchen/tv/bath, which gave us lots of room to spread out and the benefit of cooking some meals for ourselves (considering restaurant prices in Roatan have skyrocketed!) We have also stayed in the more economical shared kitchen/bath group bedrooms on the ground level. All spaces are clean and well kept. Furnishings are basic but comfortable. The movie selection is great, and hammocks abound! There is an occasional rooster crow (but this happens everywhere).... Mariposa is a solid choice for accommodations in West End.

Room Tip: Consult in advance re: options and budget..and they will do their best to accommodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked a week at Mariposa lodge for our honeymoon in Roatan. We found the apartment to be very comfortable and had everything we needed. We chose not to go with A/C and found it didnt really get very hot inside anyway. The ceiling fans were enough to move some cool air around. The apartment was very clean and kitchen was well equipped. We picked up several of the small yellow mangoes that dropped on the driveway everyday for breakfast. I love that variety they are so sweet! Unfortunately we didnt get to meet Sue as she was away, I was hoping to get a massage :(. Mike was very accessible, friendly and helpful as was Wanda at the reception. Housekeeping was extremely efficient and thorough without being intrusive. The location is great, close to the beach but just far enough back for some privacy and peace. We even were lucky enough to spot the scarlet macaw that was hanging out in the back neighbour's hog plum tree, that was a real treat. We also had a sweet cat that was a resident on our deck the whole time we were there. We live in Belize and are used to open air living and various noises coming from neighbours but for those that may be more sensitive you may want to bring your earplugs as the neighbour's dogs tend to get to barking around sundown. This is not any fault of Mariposa but just a note for those that may not be used to that sort of thing. They did seem to settle down and never kept us up, just a little annoyance in the evenings. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this lodge for anyone wanting to visit West End, Roatan. We snorkeled off of the beach at West Bay, my husband had a great dive with West End Divers and we really enjoyed eating at Sundowner's, Creole Rotisserie Chicken and the Argentinian Grill as well. We took several trips including an excellent Garifuna hudut lunch at Miss Iris' Gorieta la Machuca in Punta Gorda and a hike through the Carambola Gardens. If we return to Roatan we will definitely come back to Mariposa.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Apartment number 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Mariposa Lodge is a lovely place. It has a real island vibe. I had a great experience staying there. Hammocks and mangoes everywhere. It is a great value and location right in the middle of West End, but close to the watertaxi stand to West Bay. Plus they have a super helpful staff of local islanders.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afriend921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stayed three comfortable nights. Everything you expected was there. We had a good time. Cool collection of free dvd's to chose from. Good service.

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room at the back.There was a little privat balcony. Spacious and no noise exept f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I picked this place because of the great reviews on TA as well as a top mention in Lonely Planet. I had 4 nights planned in West End but after 1 night I wanted to check out of this place. It may have once been great but there are some serious problems with it now.

Pros
Basic kitchen facilities in the room, mini fridge, cutlery and plates etc. There is a clothes line out the back to hang your washing (that you do in the sink). This place seems tailored to self catering people, maybe who are happy to pay a bit more and save money on not eating out.

Cons
The rooms seem outdated and old. There's a serious cleaning issue as well. I found some animal droppings and a fossilized insect body on my blanket so threw it in the ground and went without for the night. I discovered hat the same blanket (including droppings and insect body) were put back on my bed when the room was cleaned! The bathroom is very old and smells all the time. No wonder, when you look at the air filter on the roof it is covered in dust, long forgotten.

The aircon is at level with the beds pointing straight at the head of the beds so my traveling companion who was sleeping closest caught a cold and couldn't dive the next day.

Lastly, they advertise wi fi in the room rate but it was never available in our room so we would be wandering around the premises looking for a signal which was always so weak the base must be located three floors up where the owners live.

We wen hunting for alternative accommodation and found the Splash Inn, less than a minute down the road, closer to the center of town, including air con for the same price! auper clean rooms with a 24hr reception (Mariposa's is sporadic and you often have to climb the 3 flights of stairs to find someone to speak with). It was so much nicer with giant comfy beds and pillows we thought we were in heaven after two nights at Mariposa. We would have left earlier but the Mariposa impose a 2 night minimum obviously to entrap guests.

Room Tip: Try to stay as close to the owner's apartment as possible so you might get a wi fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latsirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2008Roatan, Owner at Mariposa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

I’m very sorry you folks didn’t find the Mariposa Lodge to your liking. As you noted, the lodge caters to mid-range backpackers looking for in-room cooking facilities, comfort and security on a very tight budget.

Unfortunately the free Wi-Fi we provide is limited in range and speed. Handheld devises with small antennas are often unable to pick up the signal while larger lap tops don’t seem to have a problem. I will investigate the cost & possibility of upgrading our router and signal booster to newer bandwidth.

While we ask walk-in guests to commit to a minimum of two nights we have never needed to impose that policy as long as we know before10:00am checkout time. This policy was started several years ago to contend with a taxi driver corruption scam that was seriously affecting our ability to break even with a single night rental.

Cleanliness is an issue we take very seriously and we have always received high marks in that field. Our housekeeper will be apprised of your complaint and efforts redoubled in rechecking rooms that have been unused for a few days prior to check-in. Unfortunately a blanket on the floor in a hotel room during housekeeping is a pretty common occurrence that would garner little attention other than being put back on the bed.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you're looking for big comfortable rooms with A/C and a friendly and outgoing staff, then Mariposa Lodge is the place for you. Me and my girlfriend spent four nights here and couldn't have been more pleased. It's in stumbling distance to the bars and restaurants, but far enough away to feel hidden and special. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Corales
Hotel Los Corales
#9 of 9 in West End
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 9 in West End
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range: $56 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing