We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Lodge is centrally located in west end, close to shop and dive centers. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Kitchen was great to cook own meals. Rooms are cleaned once a day if you wanted. Wifi was fast. Lots of DVDs/books to choose from. Sue was really friendly and answered all our questions and booked our flights. We booked for 7 nights and extended our stay. I would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    67
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
93
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The place is nice, clean and quite - and the young lady at the desk was very helpful. Nice selection of movies aswell which was great because we were unlucky with the weather.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

After I exhausted my first two weeks in Roatan I needed to find another place to stay. A friend at West Divers suggested checking out Mariposa. I'm so glad I did! The location was perfect...right in the middle of West End and just enough off the main strip where all you hear are roosters ;). I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling solo or with their significant other.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We came to Mariposa after it being recomended to us on the mainland. We planned on staying for 3 or 4 days, but stayed for 4 weeks. We used the kitchen to cook small meals (a good way to try to stay on budget). Loved the location, right off the main drag, but far eneugh away that you could enjoy the porch hammocks and tables in relaxing setting. Bernie, the front desk girl was chill. I gotta say I'm most impressed with Mike's DVD collection. I watched movies I forgot existed. Between the movies, the music played on the radio, and the look of West End, it was like being back in the 1990's.

Thanks mike and sue, hope we can make it back someday. We're in san juan del sur now. It's a cool town, but we totally miss the vibe of West End and Mariposa.

Room Tip: We didn't get a room with AC becuase it was cheaper, and we were fine most nights with the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed in the suite with a kitchen and bathroom. There was a great sitting area outside with a table, benches and hammocks. Close enough to the main part of west end with lots of restaurants etc., but far enough up a path that it was nice and quiet at night. The dvd player and selection of dvds came in handy for rainy nights. Would definilty recommed this to fellow travellers...the only down side is it is not on the beach, but it is close enough to walk there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Mariposa lodge has a great location just off the main road but still very close the owners mike and sue are super friendly and the rooms are more than you can ask for. We had the private room without ac and they supple everything towels, soap, fridge, full kitchen and most importantly unlimited water! A great collection of DVDs also. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Mariposa Lodge is everything you need without any unwanted surprises.

The apartment style rooms are well stocked in the kitchen with plenty of space. The location couldn't be any better and just far enough away from the night spots to be quieter.

Mike and Sue are great hosts!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencefrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#6 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villagio Verde
Villagio Verde
#7 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: West End | Roatan, West End, Roatan 33176, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariposa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge, where small is mighty. Mighty good that is! Small means personal, friendly service and answers to your questions day or night. Small means budget friendly with everything you need and nothing you don’t. Small means proximity to island locales and attractions and a quiet place to rest and relax. The Mariposa Lodge is situated 100 meters from the beach in the very center of West End, on the Caribbean island of Roatan, Honduras. The Mariposa Lodge is nestled on a knoll surrounded by tropical gardens, just a few minutes’ walk from dive shops, restaurants, and local artisan’s shops. Ceiling fans, tropical breezes and spacious decks add comfort and enjoyment to your time in the Bay Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing