We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought we were special...”
Review of Vivaro Roatan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vivaro Roatan
Reviewed December 25, 2010

and then we read the Tripadvisor reviews. They were raving about Jenny's place and rightfully so. We wanted to stay on Roatan for 10 days but ended up spending 25 days! And we would go back there in a second if we could. Jenny knows how to make people feel at home, and she is a wonderful and hospitable host. She has lived in Roatan for nearly 9 years and is very knowledgeable about the best places to eat or to dive. Just ask her.

We stayed in the main house with beautiful beach views. The house is very comfortable, has a fully equiped & big kitchen, a sofabed and comfy lounge chair in the living area, cable TV and a really big balcony. Nice to sit there and watch the ocean surf about 50 meters from the house.
There are two double bedrooms each with private bath. The main bedroom is huge with two double beds and has it's own balcony. The bedrooms are downstairs, living area upstairs. Internet can be arranged if you bring your own laptop. Rooms have airconditioning and fans.

We had an amazing time there. West End can be a bit loud if you stay near the bars and restaurants. Jenny's house is about a 5-10 minute walk away from that and is perfect if you want your nights to be quiet. I would highly recommend Jenny's house or the cabins when staying in Roatan.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0balista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Jenny Blenny (who owns the home) is one of the true amenities when renting the Blenny House or cabins. The house is set up as a duplex in which she lives on one side and rents out the other. The home is two story and is set just back from the water with nothing but coral and grass between you and the Caribbean. The upstairs has an open kitchen, living/dining room and a huge porch. The kitchen is well equipt including a microwave and dishwasher. We spent most of our time on the porch which includes a table and chairs for dining and a couple of couches for relaxing.
The downstairs includes two bedrooms both with full baths. The master has two Queen sized beds and a back porch. Bath towels are included in the rental, but you will want to bring your own beach towels with you.
There is plenty of reef to enjoy just in front of the house but bring your aqua socks as the spiky coral is dangerously sharp to navigate before getting into the water. The house is about a 5 minute walk from downtown which isn’t too far and you can get to the bay in about 1 minute. Purchase your groceries at the large grocery store outside of town as prices for groceries (and alcohol) in town double price.
Jenny Blenny is amazingly helpful and very friendly. We invited her over for cocktails and she gave us great info about the island, diving, snorkel locations and more. She gave us a great price during the low season as the town was empty and she was happy to have renters. We got the house for $100 a night plus $15 for air conditioning. It’s was a deal split by 4 people. Our friends who stayed on for a month rented the cabins for $30 night. Note that we were renting from September-October so don’t expect these prices during the high season.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My 11 year old son and I travelled to West End for his first real dive trip. Blenny's was recommended and we were not dissapointed. The room was just what was advertised and perfect for what we needed most. A very clean, comfortable, and affordable room. We stayed in Blenny Cabin. The room had two beds, one double and one single. Both were clean and comfortable. The room had a small a/c that was more than enough. On the large deck was a two burner stove and a kitchen sink. The room had plates, a small fridge, cooking utensils and there were some pots and pans. Jenny set up our taxi driver so we stopped off at a supermarket on the way in from the airport and got supplies. We were able to eat most of our meals in the room or on the porch watching the water and sunsets. Jenny knows the island and everything going on so she is the perfect hostess when you are looking for something to do between diving. The walk to town was very short so we were just far enough out so that it was completely quiet at night. For us, Roatan is about diving and living in the West End. Our motto is "travel cheap/travel often" Blenny's was perfect. Just the right place for just the right price.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had some truly wonderful days here. Jenny had arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport, drive us to a big supermarked for food shopping and then to her place. It is quiet, clean, confortable - the rooms are very charming. We went swimming one minute from the cabin, walking to main beach, shops and restaurants took 3 minutes.

Thanks for all help you provided, Jenny. And for borrowing us books to read while touring the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhildbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Blenny House. The view from the upper veranda is wonderful, overlooking the ocean. The house is two stories and very roomy. The two bedrooms each have their own bathroom. The master has a nice private veranda also. You will enjoy Jenny; she lives next door and will make you feel right at home.

The Blenny House is situated just far enough from the busiest part of the West End that it's quiet, yet it's just a brief walk down a wide, gravel, well-lit path to the main road and many different dive shops and restaurants.

I walked next door to Cocolobo every day for a nice hot breakfast, just $5.00. A couple hundred feet later, I was at Atlantic Sea Divers, the dive shop we used all week and enjoyed very much. In addition to Cocolobo, Land's End and Half Moon Bay Resort are all practically next door, so you have several choices for enjoying an adult beverage less than 100 yards away, without even taking the short walk down the road to the heart of West End. But do take the walk--it's a fun place. I walked into West End a couple of times every day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Great location, fantastic view and a lovely host named Jenny - what more could you ask for in a vacation rental? Upon arrival, we found fresh flowers in our cabin and were immediately taken with the ocean view from our porch. We enjoyed both the A/C and the ocean breeze! I also appreciated the peaceful location and the easy walk to West End. Other perks: very clean, hammocks, fans, hot water, cooking facilities. Jenny is a gracious host and will kindly answer all your questions. Stay here...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

We also love the location. Close to everything but far enough removed to be peaceful and private.
Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I came across Blenny House and cabins through the internet, and decided to give it a go. I have travelled all over the world (always on a budget) and don't think I have enjoyed anywhere as my time in Roatan.
The term "BUDGET" in my experiance generally means Very basic, and little if any service. NOT the case at Blenny house and cabins... you have to meet Jenny the owner. without interferring Jenny will do everything she can to make your stay comfortable, relaxed and she is a fountain of knowledge, nothing is ever a problem, and having lived in Roatan for at least the last 5 years she really does know almost everyone, and can really help when you are planning any activities, or just need abit of local advice.
Jenny arranged for a driver to meet me at he airport, and he took me to the supermarket before the accoms, this set me up for the week, a really nice guy.
I stayed in the cabins, these are georgous, only 50mt from the sea what more could you ask for. Very comfortable beds, and I loved the out doors cooking and living area, and just to make things absolutely right; aircon in the bedroom. Lovely freash clean sheets, and loads of towels.
If I wasn't down at Sundowners beer in hand watching the sunset I was on my deck at Blenny House and Cabins... the most perfect spot for a bit of sunset watching.
I was 5 minutes walk from the Westend Strip (It's very safe to wander around), and if you choose to stay only in Westend there is no need of a vehicle. Westend is a huge amount of fun full of likeminded fun people, lots of choice of eating out and the diving is spectacular.

I dived with Dianne of Reef Gliders... the most awsome dive instructor, and really recommend Dianne for all your diving , you won't regret it.

Jenny the owner of Blenny House and cabins really is the "Hostess with the Mostess" friendly, and increadibly welcoming, a real breath of freash air after some of the very dodgy places I have paid alot more to stay at. The accoms are comfortable clean and increadibly charming, I will be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblesUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T L, Owner at Vivaro Roatan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Check out Vivaro Roatan - two new three bedroom villas in the the same fantastic oceanfront location close to the heart of West End.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.6 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#8 of 14 in West Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivaro Roatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaro Roatan

Address: West End Road | Mangrove Bight, West End, Roatan CT91HX, Honduras (Formerly Roatan Vivaro)
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range: $50 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SEARCH VIVARO ROATAN FOR OUR MAIN SITE FOR MORE DETAILED INFORMATION Vivaro Roatan is Roatan's premier luxury rental home. A collection of three luxury staffed and meticulously maintained oceanfront homes on the island of Roatan. Vivaro - Beachfront is a five bedroom villa on an amazing private beach. Vivaro - West End - North House and Vivaro - West End - South House are walking distance to all the action in West End. Prices start at $400. Send us an enquiry so we can give you our best price and help you plan a fantastic trip to Roatan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vivaro Roatan Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing