We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Bay Islands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roatan Vivaro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roatan Vivaro
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time to Bay Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We traveled to the bay islands for the first time after many years in Mexico. We chose Blenny Cabin and wrote to check availability as we wanted to stay on the west end and only a couple days going and coming back from Utila and other islands during our 3 weeks. Kirsty responded immediately and was very helpful with information on pick up from the airport and getting to Utila and back, Roatan info etc.. We arrived and she was a joy with great smile and hospitality ( with her lovely new daughter!) She helped us settle in the cabin ( included cold six pack of beer). We shared the deck of the cabin for two days with a fantastic couple that come every year. The cabin sits on the sea with good view of sunsets. It is a short hike to the little town and connect with Capt. Verns boat to Utila. We ate at Lands end next door and was good as well. We did not need air conditioning and bugs were not a problem. When we returned after a few weeks, we shared the deck with another great couple from Canada. We met Jenney, the owner and she was a delight. Great place to relax and the price is right. Very cool, clean cabins ( we didn't see the inside of the house. We only stayed 2 nights coming and going but glad we did.

Room Tip: The cabin is a shared deck with kitchen and if you don't mind conversing with your neighbors, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleRainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I, along with our daughter and son-in-law, who live in La Ceiba, rented the Blenny House for one week in January. We were more than satisfied and pleased with the house, the location, the price, and the manager, Kirsty, and owner, Jenny. Blenny House is located on a dead end road, about a 5 minute walk from the main part of West End, which makes the location very peaceful and quiet.

The beach is not directly accessible from Blenny House as there is a coral reef in front, but the view is wonderful. West End has a nice beach on Half Moon Bay, a number of restaurants, dive shops and bars. We liked the area much better than we did West Bay which has all the big resorts.

Kirsty, the manager, was wonderfully helpful when I was emailing her about our visit. She was patient when I know I asked her the same questions several times! Both she and Jenny were very helpful with advice about the area. Thanks, Ladies! Also, TC, the black Lab, was fun to throw coconuts for! And, Spencer, Kirsty and Brian's 5 month old baby girl, is adorable and sweet. :)

I would definitely recommend the Blenny House for a family or two couples who are looking for a decent accommodation at an affordable price. We will most likely be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enumclaw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We rented one of the cabins. It was a great choice for us. The porch looks out onto the ocean with just a nice lawn in between. Our "cabin" was a large room with refrigerator and microwave. On the porch there was a cooking area with a sink. Best of all is the view, and it is a 4 minute walk to all the happenings on West End while still having your own space to retreat to.

Be aware that it is a bit rustic if you are used to upscale living, but it is great for the price. We stayed for a week. Maid service was about every other day, but we like to reuse our towels anyway.

Perfect. Thanks, Jenny, for the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great location, sweet short walk to West End central, very nice. Great place, clean and basic ameneties, just what you want when you have an entire island to explore! A/C had some issues at first, but Jenny took care of us no problem--you can tell she cares about your experience. No phone, internet, or cable TV, and that was great!!!!! She can hook you up with internet if needed though. She called some local folks and made sure I knew where to go, and it's because of that we had a great time at the infamous "Hole in the Wall" for the Sunday "all you can eat steak and lobster." You must do it.
I'll be back. The Blenny house was not only economical and quaint, but superbly located and you feel more like a family member than a guest. Cheers to Blenny House!

- Kevin H, San Marcos, Texas

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and another room with two twins (both on 1st floor), futon/pull out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in the Blenny House. This is a full house for at least six people, which we had for the two of us. It is located in a very quiet part of West End. A 5 minute walk through lush green leads you into town where all the dive shops and retaurants are. The Blenny house is a perfect place to relax. Sitting on the veranda and watch the sun go down is just amazing. The house has all the things you need for a comfortable stay. Two bathrooms, three toilets. The rooms are nicely decorated and we loved the photographs of the blenny fish on the wall. We cooked ourselves for 6 days, which was great in the big kitchen. A huge supermarket is on the island, their driver can take you there to shop for groceries.

The location is just one minute walk to half moon bay where snorkling on the reef is great. Dive boats leave from there as well for the reefs just outside the coastline.

Due to the fact that the veranda is high up, we had great views and little trouble with musquito's and sandflies.

All in all, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjvanderveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I travel to Roatan each year and stayed in the Blenny House for my second year in a row. I was not disappointed. This is a true gem of the West End.

This year I will focus on family travel, since we were 5 people, including my 4 year old grandson. The house is spacious and has beautiful hardwood floors. One large tiled shower and a full bath in the master bedroom. Jenny, the owner, has fresh island flowers and living decorations to greet her guests. There is a TV, VCR and a good collection of movies. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with dishwasher and appliances. This is especially helpful for family travel. Eating out every day or paying for an all inclusive resort for 5 costs a fortune. Jenny's driver will take you to the best supermarkets once you arrive in Roatan. If you are willing to do some cooking, you have more of your travel money to put toward the activities that the island has to offer, including souveniers, nightlife and food (when you decide to eat out).

The view from the balcony is astonishing. Our group included the following age groups: 4, 17, 20, 26 and 40. My daughter fell in love with the kitchen. My grandson loved swinging in the hammock and watching the boats go by and the astonishing sunsets from the balcony. My son-in-law loved the view, the quiet and the close proximity to the beaches and nightlife (just a 3 minute walk). I loved all of it: the comfort of the beds, the home-away-from-home feel and of course, the affordability. (You may find smaller places for less, but that kitchen can save a bundle for families and larger groups).

Watch the path for "J.B.", the town drunk hermit crab (I tried to attach a picture, but it was too big for this site. I SWEAR it exists). And watch on the balcony or patio for the tiny black humming birds, which at first, may be mistaken for large insects. The serene setting has a night watchman and a cleaning lady comes by to tidy up. Jenny lives on the property, and is happy to to provide that glass baking dish or small item that you may have forgotten to bring.

If you need something a bit smaller, Blenny Cabins are also available on the same property, with the same ocean view.

WE WILL BE BACK. Blenny House is the perfect accompanyment for paradise!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasguerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

This small cabina on the ocean is a nice location and a easy walk to town 5 min. Next door is a nice boutique hotel Cocolobo for beers and a swim, or head to Lands End for happy hours, meals and a swim, and next door Seagrape has internet.

The rooms and bathroom is nice, comfy and has AC if needed, a nice hammock and a porch. A share kitchen outdoor on porch too, though I didnt use. I was the only one there and enjoyed the solitude and serene setting. Its not really up to date, a tad worn even, but everything there is similar.

Crystal Beach cabinas on other end of beach looked great too.

Room Tip: Off the main drag, peaceful and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.0 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roatan Vivaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roatan Vivaro

Property: Roatan Vivaro
Address: | West End Rd., West End, Roatan CT91HX, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivaro Roatan is collection of three luxury waterfront homes on the island of Roatan. The West End properties were completed in July 2016 and replaced the previous Blenny House and Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roatan Vivaro Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing