We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly, low key, private stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roatan Vivaro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roatan Vivaro
Save
You added Roatan Vivaro to your Saves list
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, low key, private stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We rented one of the cabins. It was a great choice for us. The porch looks out onto the ocean with just a nice lawn in between. Our "cabin" was a large room with refrigerator and microwave. On the porch there was a cooking area with a sink. Best of all is the view, and it is a 4 minute walk to all the happenings on West End while still having your own space to retreat to.

Be aware that it is a bit rustic if you are used to upscale living, but it is great for the price. We stayed for a week. Maid service was about every other day, but we like to reuse our towels anyway.

Perfect. Thanks, Jenny, for the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great location, sweet short walk to West End central, very nice. Great place, clean and basic ameneties, just what you want when you have an entire island to explore! A/C had some issues at first, but Jenny took care of us no problem--you can tell she cares about your experience. No phone, internet, or cable TV, and that was great!!!!! She can hook you up with internet if needed though. She called some local folks and made sure I knew where to go, and it's because of that we had a great time at the infamous "Hole in the Wall" for the Sunday "all you can eat steak and lobster." You must do it.
I'll be back. The Blenny house was not only economical and quaint, but superbly located and you feel more like a family member than a guest. Cheers to Blenny House!

- Kevin H, San Marcos, Texas

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and another room with two twins (both on 1st floor), futon/pull out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in the Blenny House. This is a full house for at least six people, which we had for the two of us. It is located in a very quiet part of West End. A 5 minute walk through lush green leads you into town where all the dive shops and retaurants are. The Blenny house is a perfect place to relax. Sitting on the veranda and watch the sun go down is just amazing. The house has all the things you need for a comfortable stay. Two bathrooms, three toilets. The rooms are nicely decorated and we loved the photographs of the blenny fish on the wall. We cooked ourselves for 6 days, which was great in the big kitchen. A huge supermarket is on the island, their driver can take you there to shop for groceries.

The location is just one minute walk to half moon bay where snorkling on the reef is great. Dive boats leave from there as well for the reefs just outside the coastline.

Due to the fact that the veranda is high up, we had great views and little trouble with musquito's and sandflies.

All in all, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjvanderveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I travel to Roatan each year and stayed in the Blenny House for my second year in a row. I was not disappointed. This is a true gem of the West End.

This year I will focus on family travel, since we were 5 people, including my 4 year old grandson. The house is spacious and has beautiful hardwood floors. One large tiled shower and a full bath in the master bedroom. Jenny, the owner, has fresh island flowers and living decorations to greet her guests. There is a TV, VCR and a good collection of movies. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with dishwasher and appliances. This is especially helpful for family travel. Eating out every day or paying for an all inclusive resort for 5 costs a fortune. Jenny's driver will take you to the best supermarkets once you arrive in Roatan. If you are willing to do some cooking, you have more of your travel money to put toward the activities that the island has to offer, including souveniers, nightlife and food (when you decide to eat out).

The view from the balcony is astonishing. Our group included the following age groups: 4, 17, 20, 26 and 40. My daughter fell in love with the kitchen. My grandson loved swinging in the hammock and watching the boats go by and the astonishing sunsets from the balcony. My son-in-law loved the view, the quiet and the close proximity to the beaches and nightlife (just a 3 minute walk). I loved all of it: the comfort of the beds, the home-away-from-home feel and of course, the affordability. (You may find smaller places for less, but that kitchen can save a bundle for families and larger groups).

Watch the path for "J.B.", the town drunk hermit crab (I tried to attach a picture, but it was too big for this site. I SWEAR it exists). And watch on the balcony or patio for the tiny black humming birds, which at first, may be mistaken for large insects. The serene setting has a night watchman and a cleaning lady comes by to tidy up. Jenny lives on the property, and is happy to to provide that glass baking dish or small item that you may have forgotten to bring.

If you need something a bit smaller, Blenny Cabins are also available on the same property, with the same ocean view.

WE WILL BE BACK. Blenny House is the perfect accompanyment for paradise!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasguerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This small cabina on the ocean is a nice location and a easy walk to town 5 min. Next door is a nice boutique hotel Cocolobo for beers and a swim, or head to Lands End for happy hours, meals and a swim, and next door Seagrape has internet.

The rooms and bathroom is nice, comfy and has AC if needed, a nice hammock and a porch. A share kitchen outdoor on porch too, though I didnt use. I was the only one there and enjoyed the solitude and serene setting. Its not really up to date, a tad worn even, but everything there is similar.

Crystal Beach cabinas on other end of beach looked great too.

Room Tip: Off the main drag, peaceful and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Unsafe, hot due to inability to open windows freely. Windows would not lock, therefore less secure at night and when we were gone. In fact one of the windows came right out of the frame and i was afraid I would cut my hand.
Cooking outised is quaint but half the pots were rusted as were half the cutlery. Jenny replaced these as we asked but this should all be set when the place is rented.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enviro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed in Blenny cabins and were really happy with the location- right on the ocean, a few minutes walk into town, and away from the noise of the West End nightlife. The cabins have great front porches and offer a quiet and relaxing spot! Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.0 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
0.0 mi away
Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roatan Vivaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roatan Vivaro

Property: Roatan Vivaro
Address: | West End Rd., West End, Roatan CT91HX, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivaro Roatan is collection of three luxury waterfront homes on the island of Roatan. The West End properties were completed in July 2016 and replaced the previous Blenny House and Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roatan Vivaro Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing