We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Sol
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here and found it met our needs very well - especially for the price! It is clean, comes with a basic "kitchen" so you can make your own meals when you want, hot shower and, if you want, air con. We have traveled a lot and of all the places we have been, this place had the most comfortable beds!! It's handy to the main drag/beach and very secure, thanks to the resident dogs!

Room Tip: We liked #1 on the bottom - no connecting room/door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 5 nights and then stayed 2 nights at another hotel at the west end.

The positives were the rooms had a kitchen, good showers (hot water) and the option of air con if needed. Also, they supplied drinking water and was in a quiet location.

The negatives for us were that the rooms are just concrete blocks so felt unappealing and ours smelt a bit musty. Wifi didn't work in or outside our room, so we had to sit outside other peoples rooms closer to the hotspot. No mosquito nets (really needed on Roatan) or hammocks and the walls in the room are quite thin (don't play music or talk too loud). It's a little bit back from the main street, so bring a torch so you don't have to stumble back after going out.
Also, the manager organised a taxi to pick us up from the ferry, and for that service, we paid $20USD. We thought that must be the normal price for a taxi on the island and maybe just a small premium for her ringing for us, but when we organised a taxi back to the ferry, it was only $10USD (why the big price difference?). i just thought the manager should have told us that we will be charged a $10 premium for the taxi she organised.

Overall, it's probably really good for backpackers because of the kitchen facilities in the room, but we really preferred Posada Arco iris (stayed for 2 nights after casa del sol) which had superior rooms, private patio with hammock, was across the road from the beach, had good wifi coverage and the atmosphere was better.

Room Tip: if wifi is important to you. Make sure you get one of the rooms closer to the road/entrance for good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We (my boyfriend and I) stayed in Casa del Sol in November 2011 for 15 nights and were so glad we were recommended it. It is located in a quiet area but just a 300metre walk to the dive shops, restaurants, and shops. The room we stayed in on the bottom level was great with it's ensuite, kitchenette, and patio area to for dining outside. The rooms were clean and tidy and the maid came everyday to clean and make the bed, towels and sheets were changed regularly. We consider it great value for money especially considering how clean and quiet it is and that you can cook your own meals on the gas stove, make your own coffee in the coffee maker or chill out in the garden or patio area. It was great for a longer stay as it was comfortable and it was nice to get to know fellow stayers and share dive experiences. The management was friendly and helpful and able to offer cheaper rates if staying longer than 6 nights. Our friends moved there from other accommodation in West End and ended up staying on another week! We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

First off I was impressed with their use of social media. I had been looking for a place for us to stay during our visit to Roatan and had found several options when this hotel responded to my tweet with a link to their site & info that they have a trampoline for my son. The price for a place with a full kitchen was too good to resist. We were not disappointed either!

There are several dogs on the property, but they're harmless. They bark a lot when you first arrive, and then they calm down. The patio is WONDERFUL. It's nice and large, has a clothesline, a hammock, and a small table with some chairs. It overlooks the garden and has a wonderful tropical feel.

A/C is extra, which is common in Central America. The 1st few nights we did fine with just the ceiling fan; however, temps got a bit higher and humidity increased and we decided on the A/C. It's really worth the extra amount not only for comfort but also because the walls are very thin and when fellow guests are outside on their patios it makes sleeping with the window open difficult.

The only thing that could make the kitchen better would be a small microwave, but otherwise there are more than enough pots & pans, dishes, utensils, etc. We even made homemade gnocchi while there no problem.

The location is close to West End without being in the midst of all the hustle and bustle. It's also easy to grab a taxi on the road in front of the hotel.

The driveway to the hotel is a little rough, and we had family members slip on it twice, so be careful with that part. There is no TV in the room either. Not a problem for us, but if you need one . . .

Definitely recommend this hotel for solo, couples, and small families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Casa Del Sol is around the corner from the main action in West End. Yet, it's quiet, feels secluded and very peaceful. When you lie in your hammock (that is in every patio), with a "Salva Vida" that you picked up in town, you feel like your thousands of miles away from cilvilization!
The rooms are very clean, affordable and very comfortable! Each room has an air conditioner unit and ceiling fan. But leave the a/c off so you can hear the sounds of the island creatures sing to you as you drift off into sleep in your clean, comfortable bed
The service is very friendly and always ready to address your needs.
The Casa Manager, Lisa has been on the island for over ten years and can tell you where the best places to eat, drink and hang out are on the island! She can tell you the best means of transportation to get there and how much you should expect to pay.
Your close enough to walk to everything, nightlife, scuba, snorkeling, beach, shops yet when you want peace and quiet, you're just around the corner at your hotel.
This place rocks!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great patio and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yschilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great place to stay. We stayed in the upstairs room with a kitchen. Awesome deck out back where I got a wifi signal. Everything was as promised. When we return we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gshaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Park
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Clean, well equipped with a nice garden. Perfect for a 2 week diving trip. Traffic noise from the road might bother some. Aside from the girl that showed me my room, didn’t see a single member of staff for 10 days. The room was immaculately cleaned every day though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teirrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#3 of 7 in West End
731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Half Moon Bay Beach, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West End
Number of rooms: 212
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel West End
Casa Del Sol Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing