We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multigeneraltional Vacation in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mancos, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Multigeneraltional Vacation in Paradise”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I took my family to Roatan this Spring as a treat for all of us: two seventyish grandparents, two young parents, and two grandchildren. Everything about our experience at Tranquil Seas was superb. The lodge itself was beautifully done, and intimate; the location on a quiet beach (for Roatan) just right; and the diving and snorkeling the best ever. Chris and Monica took good care of us, and Edwin and Henry made sure my son-in-law and 12 year old granddaughter had safe and exciting dive experiences (they both received heir dive certifications and went on a night dive). As for snorkeling, our trip with Chris to Pigeon Key where we encountered a giant Eagle Ray and Nurse Shark was an experience of a lifetime. If you can go to Roatan, I would think there could be no more friendly, safe, and beautiful place for your ocean experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in King Crab and Gecko, the new rooms Chris has just added to his little ecolodge. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    50
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
293
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I visited Roatan and stayed at Tranquilseas, based on a friends suggestions and great reviews. The reviews only understated the experience. We felt well taken care of, yet connected with place. Chris & Monica are exemplary hosts, and from their staff selections to the cuisine, they have it down. We didn't see much of the island, because to be honest our goals of relaxing, snorkeling and general slothfulness were well met right at the resort. Great value, incredible lagoon & ocean experience, we will be back, no doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guymessickaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and I found Chris on his mobile phone in the middle of the island. He returned the call promptly and we were on our way to Roatan.. Once again!!! There is something special behind the blue door... The resort wins a prize for an overall design. Compact, yet so thoughtfully designed.. Every inch serves a purpose. The grounds are beautiful. Chris and Monika were amazing hosts.. We were very lucky to vacation with people who appreciated both privacy and social time. Everyone staying there respected each other's space yet everyone was eager to share and be part of a larger group. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean. Tip: bring your own hair dryer, toileteries and soap.
Samir and Carla did a great job at the bar and the food was excellent.. Highly, highly recommend Tuesday Tapas - live band, great tasting tapas and wine from Chile!!!
Tip: all inclusive option is such a great way to go.. Less to worry about!
Diving was excellent.. PADI shop is very professional yet friendly and down to earth..
Tip: yoga with Christine is a MUST! This lady won my heart and I would fly back to Roatan just to take her class again!
Overall - short but such a restful vacation! We wish we could stay longer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolutely adored this place. Unfortunately I have put off writing this review, but my children are still gushing about owners Chris and Monica a month and a half later, and I can't stress how much we loved this place. This is the ONE place I really felt like everything, as far as cost and value for money, was more than fair. As soon as we would leave, I felt like people were trying to rip us off elsewhere, but NEVER that way here. Chris would go out of his way to help find things to do, customized to your interests, and in many cases set everything up for myself and my children, and with no extra costs that I could see, anyway. And the cost of the place is insanely reasonable (wait, does that make sense?). Just an amazing deal. We got PADI certified there, myself and my 11 and 13 year old boys. I was terrified, but they were so patient and just awesome, and I am so glad I did it because those waters are crazy! As in beautiful tropical fish EVERYWHERE and just beautiful. If I had it to do over again, I would eat almost all meals here and just a couple at Rotisserie Chicken in town, which Monica recommended and was our favorite place! Their Monkey Lalas are the best so there is no point having them anywhere else either. Everyone that worked there was so very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banzai1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nosneb69, Owner at Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks Lori for a truly great week and it makes us happy to be able to share paradise with families like yours!

have a great summer and hopefully see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

First of all, I am not one to really write reviews, but I had to for this vacation. Props to TripAdvisor for always leading me in the right direction. Sorry that this is long, but I just cannot do justice by typing a generic review.

Tranquilseas theme seems to be "making relaxing easier." Am I right Chris?

In any case, this could not be more true. We have had limited experience traveling abroad and it was a bit disconcerting arriving there not knowing where to go and what to do. Chris and Greg found us and made us feel comfortable right away. Funny story... the whole family went to the restroom leaving our bags with Greg. When we got back, most of our stuff was gone! Greg said it was fine but I wondered if we had been hoodwinked (Greg is an honest guy but I didn't know him at the time). Shortly, Chris came along, introduced himself and said.. "Hello, I am the one who stole your bags." Of course, he merely placed them in the van. Scary for a moment but he made me feel much easier after it was all said and done. And, folks, that is the way it was throughout. I felt comfortable, relaxed, and important to them.

I have never, ever, felt so appreciated in all of my travels.

There are no TV's, no clocks, no anything that makes us Americans feel at home. But that's the point isn't it? We would simply awake at sun-up, and go to breakfast. And, let me tell you, the breakfast was awesome.

Every AM, Chris would show up and ask us what we wanted to do that day. EVERY REQUEST was accommodated as he has connections throughout the island. We are typically meticulous planners, so it was a bit hard to depend on someone else to get it done. Chris never disappointed. Good luck getting something like that at a "big resort."

Now, a bit on diving. We did not opt for the all-inclusive deal as we had two younger kids (scuba certified at 10 and 12). I did not want to lock them in to diving the whole time as they wanted other things to do. They accommodated that and had us to afternoon dives so as not to get in the way of the more serious adult divers. We made it out on our own boat each day. That was huge for me and my wife. The dive instructors were great (thanks Henry and Edwin), treated our kids as adults, yet kept them safe. I could not brag on the dive team more. You guys really made our trip one for the ages! However, I am upset that my kids were by far the best divers of all of us, but that's another story.. haha.

Samir treated us so well at the bar, such a nice man. My tick marks on my tab looked like Morse Code, there were so many. But I had fun, obviously.

Luis served great food and even cooked up the tuna we caught on a fishing trip... very good. Again, good luck finding that anywhere else.

Everyone felt like family, and it is a family I would soon like to see again. Thus, I am working that much harder now to get back.

This group has a special place in my heart and will be back soon.

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation without the hassle of a big resort, who wants the personal attention that is better than anything I could imagine.

Good job, see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agswin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What we loved most about staying at Tranquilseas was the ease and convenience of EVERYTHING.......airport pickup, in 20 minutes you're in your bathing suit ready for an easy swim to the reef with minimal boat traffic, small numbers in dive group so it felt very personalized, relaxing outdoor living/lounging spaces, a nice variety of menu/bar choices which we considered delicious, nice breakfast included in your rate, live music 2 nights we were there, and a very interesting presentation one night, tours of any sort can be personally arranged for you, and airport drop off at the end of your trip. If you're looking for a quality snorkel/dive experience in Roatan, it doesn't get any easier folks. Some highlights of our stay included Tuesday night Tunes and Tapas...........food was outstanding and the live band was superb, wonderful breakfasts, a boat tour around the entire island with snorkel stops/lunch along the way, phenomenal diving and swimming to the reef, and the laid back atmosphere with great outdoor living/lounging spaces. Leave your high heels at home, just bring flip flops! The staff is friendly but unintrusive......they are around if you need them. If you want people waiting on you hand and foot then go to Cancun for that experience. Living in a treehouse by the sea is a great descrption of the lodge. It is very unique, you will notice something different everyday. I highly recommend Tranquilseas if you want more of a personalized dive experience, like to snorkel, or just need some relaxation with nice meals prepared for you. As a sidenote, Roatan is a special place. We have snorkeled Bonaire and the Caymans, but Roatan is our personal favorite. My husband says the same for the diving..........there is no comparison.

Room Tip: There is no bad choice, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flipflop650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colo.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's rare to stay in a place on a travel adventure with the right combination of giving you the feeling of "getting away from it all" while also being supported by an engaging, friendly staff. Tranquilseas offers both. I was the sole non-diver on a group dive trip so my experience is different from those who dove. Regardless, the way the lodge has built its common space for dining, drinking and relaxing gives you an experience like you are living in a treehouse by the sea. It feels special. And the new sky deck that Chris has added has breathtaking views.

My husband and friends dove. They loved it. I rode along on several dives and simply enjoyed being on the water on wonderful bright sunny days.

If you like "classic" turquoise-water and white sand beaches, a quick taxi drive and water taxi take you to Sandy Bay. On cruise-ship days, the beach traffic can be busy but if you need a beach day on your dive trip, it's a beautiful, convenient option.

Room Tip: The King Crab room is a spacious, lovely room. The balcony is a dream. It is a very open space so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing