We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Nearby Hotels
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$540
$524
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Bahia Resort(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
$174
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lands End(West End)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Half Moon Resort(Roatan)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Los Corales(West End)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayoka Lodge(Sandy Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
497
53
6
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
53
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken fishking crabyoga studiowest endoctopustranquil staylaid backeagle rayowner chrisa short cab ridebarrier reefsea lifegreat caresmall grouptropical paradiselion fishgreat guy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 563 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are looking for a place for a truly chill stay with absolutely excellent food, extremely reasonable bar prices, pleasant staff, great diving, and dreamy rooms, Tranquilseas is your place. 1000x better than any of the big resorts we saw. Our room was plenty luxurious - especially for the cost - and the entire experience was just outstanding. We took two dive courses with the Dive Shop and the instructors (Kent & Di) were EXCELLENT. This is the safest and most competent Shop I've ever dived with. There is absolutely nothing even mediocre to say about this resort - everything was great. Chris and Monica, as others have written before, are phenomenal hosts. Monica's cooking is out of this world....the all-inclusive package is an amazing deal considering you get to order off of her extensive menu at every meal. I guess if you're looking for a big party scene, it's not your place, but as others have written before, it's a short taxi ride to the scene at West End, and you can come back to privacy and peace. Stay at TranquilSeas!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We love Sandy Bay and we love Tranquilseas! Sandy Bay is not too far from the touristy areas of West End and West Bay, so it's easy to visit if you want to shop or want to pursue nightlife activities, but we'd rather stay in peaceful Sandy Bay away from the cruise passengers and crowds.

Tranquilseas is a great value, and has beautiful, individual bungalows on a small hillside overlooking the ocean, just a few steps away. They have a small but very good dive operation, we were very happy and satisfied diving with them, and dive groups were always small. Breakfast is included and was great, with several choices. For other meals, there is a small menu at Tranquilseas...we had some great dinners there, or you can eat next door at Blue Bahia, which we loved. Internet in the room worked well. A very friendly couple owns this place, and they and their staff will take great care of you and make sure you have a great stay. They are heavily involved in local conservation efforts and also help in the local community. This is a romantic spot with a nice, personal touch from the owners, with whom we keep in touch and consider friends.

We LOVE the diving on Roatan...great conditions, usually no current, warm water, and lots of sea life and healthy reefs with good variety. My wife is crazy about wrecks, and there are two good ones close by. Most dives are very close so the boat rides are quick and easy. I also like to spend a lot of time freediving...it takes a few minutes to swim across the lagoon to get to the reef, and I was out there every day before or after scuba dives. The dive operation can accommodate snorkelers as well as scuba divers if you don't want to swim out to the reef. They also have kayaks you can use to cruise around or visit the reef.

Chris will drive you over to the other side of the island if you want to do the shark dive at Cara a Cara...we can't imagine any divers coming to Roatan and missing this.

We highly recommend Tranquilseas for a romantic getaway or a quiet family vacation! We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon, December 2011 (I'm sorry this review is so delayed!) It is an absolutely AMAZING place to stay and we can't wait to return. We did not have any dive experience at the time, and Kent was a great instructor & dive guide. Chris & Monica are amazing hosts, they gave us such great advice of where to go & what to see during our stay! Even when my husband needed prescription lenses for his mask, Chris gave us directions to a nearby shop. They are extremely flexible, knowledgeable, and friendly; not only did they give us rides to and from the airport, but Monica packed us a lunch to-go as well! :) They will teach you so much about the island, the reef, and the environment.

The resort is away from the touristy area of West End and is so peaceful and quiet. We walked to West End beach one day and enjoyed it there, but were happy to return to our tranquil home :) It is super easy to get to the restaurants of West End, but we often found ourselves getting pizza from up the road and enjoying the stars on Tranquilseas deck.

The snorkeling and diving around the resort is amazing. I cannot believe that our dive "trips" were often just a 5 minute boat ride from the pier. Simply amazing. And you will not believe the sunsets!

Could not recommend this place more! Thank you Chris, Monica, and Kent for the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

During our recent stay on Roatan we went out for a dive with the team from Tranquilseas. We were on the island filming a documentary and needed underwater footage of the beautiful coral reef. Kent and his team went out of their way to show us some of the coastline of this beautiful island. They took us to a remote, beautiful dive site, giving us a chance to shoot some great underwater footage. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time. Top notch dive shop and crew! I would definitely go dive with them again in the future, both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank alexae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing holiday at a small hotel... this place was perfect! Chris and Monica (the owners) went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. Originally, we were not planning on eating at Tranquilseas, but I am glad we did. The diving was also amazing and the dive staff was incredible. Tranquilseass itself is very quiet so if you want to "get away..," it is perfect. We would take the hammocks out to the dock each night and relax while watching the sunset. The snorkeling was also very good... right off the dock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews