We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon, December 2011 (I'm sorry this review is so delayed!) It is an absolutely AMAZING place to stay and we can't wait to return. We did not have any dive experience at the time, and Kent was a great instructor & dive guide. Chris & Monica are amazing hosts, they gave us such great advice of where to go & what to see during our stay! Even when my husband needed prescription lenses for his mask, Chris gave us directions to a nearby shop. They are extremely flexible, knowledgeable, and friendly; not only did they give us rides to and from the airport, but Monica packed us a lunch to-go as well! :) They will teach you so much about the island, the reef, and the environment.

The resort is away from the touristy area of West End and is so peaceful and quiet. We walked to West End beach one day and enjoyed it there, but were happy to return to our tranquil home :) It is super easy to get to the restaurants of West End, but we often found ourselves getting pizza from up the road and enjoying the stars on Tranquilseas deck.

The snorkeling and diving around the resort is amazing. I cannot believe that our dive "trips" were often just a 5 minute boat ride from the pier. Simply amazing. And you will not believe the sunsets!

Could not recommend this place more! Thank you Chris, Monica, and Kent for the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    49
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
291
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

During our recent stay on Roatan we went out for a dive with the team from Tranquilseas. We were on the island filming a documentary and needed underwater footage of the beautiful coral reef. Kent and his team went out of their way to show us some of the coastline of this beautiful island. They took us to a remote, beautiful dive site, giving us a chance to shoot some great underwater footage. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time. Top notch dive shop and crew! I would definitely go dive with them again in the future, both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing holiday at a small hotel... this place was perfect! Chris and Monica (the owners) went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. Originally, we were not planning on eating at Tranquilseas, but I am glad we did. The diving was also amazing and the dive staff was incredible. Tranquilseass itself is very quiet so if you want to "get away..," it is perfect. We would take the hammocks out to the dock each night and relax while watching the sunset. The snorkeling was also very good... right off the dock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The dive staff is definitely one of the main reasons there are consistent 5-star ratings for Tranquilseas, I believe, and the key as to why I would return. I have been Open Water certified for a few years, but due to a negative experience early on, I had not been diving often enough to gain the skills or confidence to become a comfortable diver. I arrived at Tranquilseas anxious about diving, but the professional and respectful approach of Kent, Dianne and Divemaster-In-Training, Ross, supported my learning, and their constant instruction, patience, kindness and encouragement allowed me to grow as a diver to the point that I am no longer afraid. There is a strong emphasis on safety that results in fun and relaxed diving. This is a welcoming place for the inexperienced as well as experienced diver.

As mentioned in a previous review, the cost is slightly more than some other places on the island, but in the case of the dive staff, certainly worth it. Related, it is evident that Chris, the owner, has made serious efforts for sustainability in the building of Tranquilseas, and respect for the preservation of the reef and natural environment is another reason I would choose Tranquilseas over many other places. As in any business, there is always room for improvement, and Chris actually asks guests for feedback in this area, a rare quality, I think.

Special thanks to Dianne, a highly skilled and humorous instructor, and to Ross, DiveMaster-In-Training, for your patience, direction and encouragement throughout the week. It is greatly appreciated.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tranquilseas is a quiet and relaxing resort with a very friendly staff, perfect for people who want to be away from the overly touristy areas. The rooms are comfortable, the food is great, and the views are beautiful. My husband and I spent the week diving, and the dive instructors were fantastic. The dive center was organized and professional; it was overall a a great experience. We would definitely choose Tranquilseas for our next trip to Roatan!

Room Tip: Tree frog had a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at Tranquilseas and I would definitely recomend this place for anyone who is interested in disconecting from the daily routine, having great meals, enjoying a wonderfull experience diving ( I made my rescue course with them) and having people helping you all day long.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I never write reviews so for me to take time to comment on Tranquilseas Dive Center speaks volumes. Having said that I really liked this particular outfit and team assembled by the owner. All are professional and personable with a strong emphasis on a SAFE yet fun diving experience. I enlisted this dive outfit to help assist in getting my advanced open water dive cert which I knew would be a challenge even under the best circumstances due to the amount of work involved on both sides. The owner took his time to help plan all of my dives and pair me with an instructor for all the elective dives I would need, and I can't thank them enough. I would recommend this dive outfit to anyone visiting Roatan if you want great instructors and fantastic dive sites. Thanks Again for all your help...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RIvka432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing