We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally some real holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After living in Asia for 10 years, we stayed in numbers of similar eco friendly lodges. This was our first time in Roatan and we were happy to have chosen Tranquilseas. Monica's food was super fresh, staff was very accommodating and friendly. My son, 11, got PADI certified (Junior Open Water), he was very lucky to be introduced to diving in such pristine waters, visibility was incredible. Kent, the diving instructor was super patient with him, and I got to dive twice with them, a truly memorable experience. We also took a private tour, one full day driving north to south in Roatan, we got to see quite a lot, highly recommended. Overall, a very relaxing week, whether you dive or not, give it a go...

Room Tip: We stayed in Octopus, a 3 bed room suite which can sleep 10 people. So plenty of room for our family...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divingsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Tranquiseas and our visits keep getting better, There are two highlights to each stay at Tranquilseas, the diving and the resort itself, so I will deal with both separately.

The diving was amazing this trip on several levels. Kent is the best dive master we have ever dived with. Some other places you wonder what they would/could do if an emergency happened but we never feel that with Kent. He is always conscious of the divers in his party and adjusts the dives to suit the level of the divers. I can't imagine how many dives he does each year but he still seems enthusiastic about each dive. Unlike most of the dive shops in the area diving at Tranquilseas goes beyond the several dive sites near West End, West Bay or Sandy Bay. Several dives were up the coast and we were the only divers in the area. One thing we were pleased to see this trip was that the efforts of the Roatan Marine Park are paying off. We saw many more fish and they were larger as well. Good to see the marine life rebounding so well. Another feature of diving in Roatan is the diversity and size of the coral and sponges. There were some barrel sponges that could hide a person. Incredible. We seemed to luck into seeing sea turtles on almost every dive (18 in total). On our last dive we counted 11 different sea turtles and at one point we could 3 of them in our sight. My wife got lucky and saw "The Thing" a rare sea creature that many of the dive masters have never seen. Yes it is called "The Thing". It is so rare that they have not been able to classify and name it.

The stay at Tranquilseas was as usual personal and relaxing. Chris and Monica really do an outstanding job tending to the individual needs of their guests. If you want a raucous party hotel then skip Tranquilseas but if you want excellent food, a relaxing atmosphere and quiet nights this is THE place for you. The kitchen is closed on Thursday so that was the only time we left the resort to go to West End for a meal. The food doesn't get any better offsite so why leave. Tuesday night is the famous Tapas night. They had a brat local band and Monica prepared amazing and authentic taps from her native Spain. The rooms are clean and simple with lovely decks. Not all of them have a view of the ocean so make sure you book one that does if you want to lounge in your hammock watching the sea.

I can't think of any downsides to our stay at Tranquilsea. We are already looking at dates to return next April we like it that much. We really don't think you can do better in Roatan for scuba and snorkelling with quit and relaxed accommodations with excellent food and drink than Tranquiseas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpownall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our second trip to Tranquilseas and I can't recommend it enough! The grounds are gorgeous, the diving spectacular and the food & service are terrific. We have never gone back to the same place twice, always wanting to see something new & different, but we will be regulars here.

The diving:
Kent is the best dive master we've ever been diving with. He takes his time describing the dive sites, the dive plan and goes out of his way to make sure you have a great dive. At the beginning of the week I told him that I've been trying to see a seahorse for years & he was on the lookout for me the whole week and finally found a pipe horse on the second to last day. I was thrilled! Diving with Tranquilseas couldn't be easier. The gear lockers are right next to the dock and Kent & Kerry always beat us down there and got our gear out to the boat for us while we were still having breakfast, they completely spoiled us. The dive sites are a short ride away and all different & beautiful. If you have a chance to do the dive safari, go for it! The boat ride to the safari sites is very pretty and goes through the mangroves and gives you a chance to see more of the island. The dive sites we went to on the safari had the most beautiful underwater topography I've ever seen (Big Bight Pinnacle & Gully Galores). We finished our advanced open water dives while we were there & Kent always took extra time to make sure we understood the material and felt comfortable with the dives.

Our room:
We stayed in the Hummingbird this time, it was perfect for us. All of the rooms here are great and you really can't go wrong. I particularly loved the view from the hummingbird, lush plants & a view of the ocean and we had lots of hummingbirds at the feeder on our porch.

The resort:
Peaceful! This is a very quiet resort which is just what we love. If you love to party, this isn't the best place for you to stay, but if you love nature, the sounds of birds and the ocean and meeting interesting people, this is the place for you! Because of the small number of guests there, you really get the chance to get to know everyone. The resort is in a great location too. The west end is just a $3 cab ride away and has lots of bars, restaurants and live music and west bay is just a short water taxi ride from the west end.

There's also great snorkeling right out front. The reef is just a short swim and there's a huge variety of life to see. We saw squid, lion fish, a huge spotted eagle ray, spiny lobsters, crabs and many other fish. There's a kayaks available too that can be moored half way between the dock and the reef if you're not in the mood to swim out, but the swim takes maybe 5 minutes.

The food:
We're both vegetarians and it's sometimes hard to find food that's not an after thought on vacation. Not here, there are first class vegetarian items available at every meal. The nightly menu changes every night & there's a choice between a vegetarian entree or non-veg entree. We ate here most nights. For lunch, the new homemade veggie burger & stir fried noodles with veggies & peanut sauce were great.

Go and have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AimeeCXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our third trip to Tranquilseas. It was the best yet! Lush foliage abound. The grounds are beautiful and our cabana"Tree Frog" was perfect. Very private with an ocean view. Chris has added areas to the deck where there is a nook for everyone. Monica's food was delicious as always. We were able to go with the dive crew and snorkle which was fabulous!. Kent is wonderful and all the staff were great. We are already planning next year at Tranquilseas."Heaven" Thankyou Chris and Monica

Room Tip: Tree Frog is private w/ocean view. There will be 2 new cabanas which will be beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanHPaoliPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Monica and Chris went above and beyond to make me comfortable here. The grounds are gorgeous.. Kent the divemaster is a wonderful and talented man and our last dive safari was out of this WORLD!!! Food is kind of meh, but there are so many wonderful places to go eat in the area it was hardly an issue. no AC for 4 days then they moved me to a cabana which was out of this world and spent 4 more happy wonderful days there.. I can't stress how wonderful the staff is there.. and everything is beautiful it was like being in a beautiful jungle on the beach. Marvelous! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan23450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tranquil Seas. Chris and Monica were terrific as were all the staff. We had wonderful attention on the scuba dives and felt very safe. The food was excellent and very reasonable. We hope to go back again soon. Early April was a great time to go because there were very few guests. The entire place felt like an extension of our cottage with lots of great places for lounging and conversations. Tuesday night is Tapas Night and a little more lively.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tranquil Seas Roatan was the most awesome relaxation vacation yet! We told Chris that we weren't in a hurry but we wanted to "do it all" and he found a way for us to enjoy all Roatan has to offer yet feel like we were on Island time the entire stay. Each morning we awoke to a wonderful sunrise view of the Caribbean and had breakfast in the most beautiful, peaceful, and private setting you could imagine. Chris and Monica made us feel as if we were guests in their home with our own keys to anything we wanted. The personal attention to our every desire was something we have never truly experienced like this before. Any thing you wanted, all you had to do was ask! The Dive shop was no exception(special thanks to Kent), Just tell them what you wanted to see and they took care of the rest. I must mention also that the snorkeling was also quite nice right there off the dock just a short swim out to the reef and we snorkeled for hours enjoying the beautiful fish everywhere. Kent, our favorite dive master, also gave us some tips on the snorkeling and we ended up with one of the dolphins from a nearby cage that was out free and swam all around us a great moment we will not forget. The Island tour with George made for a great day as well, his personal attention was awesome as we hired him for the day and he gave us a huge list of ideas but ultimately took us anywhere we wanted to go. We did visit West Bay and West End but only briefly on each and I really am so glad we stayed @ Tranquil Seas as we really enjoyed the relaxed and quiet atmosphere. This place is tops on our list for our next relaxation vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popeye2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: $139 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing