We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“open water certification and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wray, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“open water certification and more”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family of 5 (and a boyfriend we drug along) did our open water dive certification through Tranquilseas dive center. It was a great experience. Our classroom work had been SSI while Tranquilseas is PADI. They did the research to make sure we met all the criteria required by SSI to get our certification. We chose to go over the afternoon prior to our dives to get outfitted with all our gear. The equipment we rented was very nice and modern. They had nice lockers that each of us put our BC, regulator, weightbelt, wetsuit, etc.. in so we knew no one else would be using that gear for the duration of our diving. We had rented a house about 10 minutes drive from Tranquilseas. Each day they came with the dive boat loaded with all our gear and picked us up. At the end of our 2 dives each day, they returned us to our dock which was great! Our dive instructors for the 4 certification dives plus two additional dives were Kent and Peter. They were very thorough in all aspects of our training. We enjoyed all the dives sites they took us to. We saw turtles, rays, lionfish, and a ton of other neat things. We even did a night dive. They went above and beyond all our expectations. I can't imagine having a better first diving experience anywhere! Thanks again Chris, Kent, Peter, and Ross!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    50
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
293
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We wanted to stay here, but it was full. We ended up at West Bay instead, but it is too touristy there. We came out to Sandy Bay to check it out and had lunch at the Tranquilseas. This place has a beuatiful and homey design. It has a great view of the Ocean. The food was great, but the best thing was that they had German Tucher beer. It was sooo much better that the Salva Vida (saves lives) beer that is available everywhere else. They only serve lunch until 2:00 p.m. so you have to have your timing right. They serve Mariscos, but you have to put in your order a day ahead. People said that it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent three days diving with Kent. He is a terrific divemaster; knowledgeable and responsible. I would highly recommend this dive center....Saw sharks, turtles...and did some great wall and wreck dives. This dive center emphasizes safety first.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DS14640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I should start this out by saying that I don’t know what else I can say that hasn’t already been addressed by other reviewers. All I can do is reiterate everything that the other reviews said (with the exception of those who didn’t give Tranquilseas five stars).

Chris and Monica are amazing people. They both have such big and fun personalities and are wildly talented on top of it. Their never ending crusade to be environmentally friendly and their efforts to teach others to do the same are just another endearing characteristic. Chris is a great source of information and just a fun person to be around and Monica is an unreal cook and remarkable host. My husband and I were also lucky enough to be there when Chris’s dad Paul was there too. He is a riot so make sure to sit and chat with him.

Like other people said, it’s a very intimate setting with only five cabanas. After a day it felt like we were staying at someone’s house. It’s really cool that the layout is such that all of the cabanas feel/are so private but you still get to know other travelers but without it feeling forced or obtrusive. We met so many great people I hated to leave. We stayed in the Hummingbird which was beautifully designed (just like the other rooms we got to check out-Octopus and Tortuga). We had a great view of the sea and reef. There are two more rooms that are in the midst of being built above the Octopus. In the week we were there, amazing progress was made and we never even noticed construction noise. Paul gave us a tour of the new construction and the cabanas are going to be incredible. There is also going to be a yoga studio on the very top that is going to have unparalleled views of the reef.

The snorkeling right off of the dock is great. It is also easy to take a kayak and tie up to the buoys near the reef and snorkel there as well. We went on a couple of snorkeling/diving trips on the boat as well. One with Kent who was great and another with both Chris and Kent. They were two perfect days amongst a week of them.

There was a scheduled power outage one day that was only supposed to last a few hours and ended up lasting all day. That night we sat out on the deck and spent a lot of time visiting with other travelers and looking at the stars. Who knew an inconvenience could end up being such a gorgeous night?! Plus, Tranquilseas thoughtfully provides flashlights in each room.

We went to Tapas and Tunes on Tuesday. The food was awesome and the band was fun too. Lots of classic rock.

Massy Ferguson, an American band from Seattle, was performing and we went on Friday. It was so much fun and a great chance to meet people that live on the island as well as other travelers. Chris and Monica know how to throw a party!

Since Monica is such a great chef (and teacher, because the food was ALWAYS amazing) it was really hard to justify eating elsewhere on the island. We managed to pull ourselves away for a few meals but I would have been content to stay in which is saying a lot for me since the thought of not trying other restaurants in the area is generally abhorrent to me!

The location was great, the staff is great, the property is great, everything was perfect and I would like to say thank you to Chris, Monica, and Paul as well as all of their staff for making this the most perfect winter getaway. I was sorry to have to come home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maymay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at another facility and wanted to see the island and learn some history. After some inquiring we were connected with Chris. The day was more than we could have imagined. We spent the day traveling and hiking with Chris. When the road stopped we kept "going up and around." I am safe in saying most people who come to Roatan come for the beach, snorkeling and diving. We did not dive but left with so much knowledge about the island, learned history and saw sights that are seen by few who visit. After a full day of adventure with Chris we went back to Tranquil Seas, met Monica toured Tranquil seas, had great drinks and Tapas. Chris and Monica have a great place that is well thought out and we will visit them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53534sconie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tranquilseas for 4 nights in mid-January to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary. What a beautiful place! From the airy cabana to the beautiful deck overlooking Sandy Bay to wonderful staff and guests, we loved it all!

Although most guests come to Tranquilseas for the amazing dive center, we found plenty to do as non-divers! Primarily, we strolled down the beach and relaxed on the deck, drinking fruity rum drinks, reading, chatting with other guests, and enjoying the quietness that is Sandy Bay (and a vacation without children!). We also snorkeled (rented gear from the hotel) and used the complimentary sea kayaks right off the hotel's dock and throughout Sandy Bay (you can snorkel right next to Anthony Key's dolphin enclosure and see some dolphins!).

There is also beautiful botanical gardens (Carambola Gardens) and spa (Baan Suerte) right down the road/beach (5-7 minutes walking). Chris also arranged for a full-day trip zip-lining and exploring Gumbalimba Park for us!

The hotel is also a quick $5 cab ride to West End (simply walk to the end of the driveway and flag down the first white taxi you see). We spent every night (and most of a full day) at Sundowners Bar drinking Monkey LaLas and sitting on a beautiful strip of beach people watching.

Overall, the hotel was fantastic and we can’t recommend Tranquilseas enough!

NOTE: If you are planning to eat/explore outside the hotel, bring plenty of case/get cash at the airport when you arrive! US Dollars are accepted by everyone (even cab drivers) so there is no real need to exchange money. During most of our time on Roatan, all 3 of the ATMs in West End were out of money or turned off. Also, once they were turned back on, the ATM at the gas station processed our request and then never gave us money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveBabyWillTravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we just spent 2 weeks on Roatan. The island is beautiful and the locals are friendly. We rented a house just down the road from Tranquilseas and hooked up with them early on. Our dive experience was great, after the 1st day they picked us up at our dock which was really nice. All the dives were well planned and we got really good pre-dive info as to what we were going to see, what our planned depths would be and how we would end the dive. Although we brought our own gear the dive shop is well stocked with anything you might need. Chris and his crew are top notch all the way....thanks for a great trip...J. S. Dean

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing