We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“exceptional vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exceptional vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at TS with my girlfriend. We went for the R&R and the diving. I am an amateur diver while she had never dived before! Another couple there was in a similar position. Chris was able to find instructors (Kent and Di - wonderful people and exceptionally knowledgeable dive masters) that catered to all the needs of our motley crew - from diving, to instructions, to an amazing boat trip to Cayos Cochinos.... to food and drink... It was in its own class of luxury travel - enough attention to create a thoroughly customized experience with as much privacy as you need. It was kind of like going on vacation with friends... who take care of everything. I can't speak highly enough of what Chris, Monica, and Paul are doing down in Roatan, in terms of creating a hand-crafted, beautiful, sustainable, vibrant, eco-lodge, a world-class dive service, and in protecting the aquatic habitats. These are genuinely decent people, surrounded by a fantastic community, doing great things, and focused on making sure you have a fantastic trip.

I've traveled over much of the world and have stayed everywhere from dirty hostels to the Four Seasons, and Tranquil Seas is unique. If you like diving and want more than just your average vacation go here - if you're going to complain about bugs and the lack of room service then you don't get it.

Room Tip: Hummingbird is closest to the water - my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dchopra26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    45
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
100
267
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

While I didn't stay at the hotel, I dove frequently with the dive shop while staying on Roatan. Good operation, good equipment. A little more expensive than other options, but it's worth it for the resort's proactive commitment to reef conservation. My main DM was Kent, a local who knows the reef from the ground up. This is his backyard, and his knowledge is passionate and inspiring. I also dove with Diane, a highly skilled instructor who turned a blown o-ring at 50ft into a positive learning experience. (Occupational hazard, guys!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReefLover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a small resort with excellent staff who went out of their way to makes us feel like family. We went to Roatan for a quiet holiday. Chris and Monica made that happen. The snorkling was great whether from our dock at the lodge or around the island. As has been mention in a previous review, the final day trip to Cayos Cochinos was awesome. I would highly recommend this resort to my friends that dive and to anyone who is seeking a quiet eco friendly lodge.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second trip to Tranquil Seas. We had excellent dive instruction and outstanding accomodations. The final day trip to Cayos Cochincos was awesome. This is the way to do diving in Roatan! The dive instructors, Kent and Diane, were both rigorous and patient. One of us was quite apprehensive and she came out of the experience loving diving. If you want to avoid the loud, busy atmosphere at main stream resorts this will be the place for you.

Room Tip: We liked tree frog. The view is great. Some of the other rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What an amazing tiny resort with so much character. Chris and Monica were extremely nice and helpful. Monica is also the best chef I have ever encountered at a resort. Juan was the most interesting and coolest bartender ever too. He helped us with our Spanish over many drinks. Kent was an awesome dive master. Very knowledgeable and flexible.

If you want a big resort with fancy rooms, an expansive spa, a swim up bar, and tons of people, this is not for you. However, if you want a romantic, unique experience with no screaming kids that you will cherish forever, this is for you. I've never been more sad to leave a vacation...

Thank you to everyone at Tranquil Seas for being so great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree Frog and the view was amazing. Basically a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Look no more Tranquilseas is the place to stay on Roatan. My family of 5 spent a week here in August 2012 and it was glorious! We stayed in the Octopus and it was the perfect mix of quite, comfortable, clean and rustic - ideal for a beach vacation. Tranquilseas is truly about relaxation, snorkeling and diving. There is decent snorkeling right off the dock and you can swim out to the reef where it is rather remarkable. The ocean is clean and warm and could not be better!
Kent, the dive instructor is terrific. He is safety conscious, perceptive and very knowledgeable about the dive sites and sea life. Diving along the reef is absolutely incredible! So much fun!!
Chris and Monica were wonderful hosts. They check in regularly to make sure all your questions are answered and will take excellent care of you. And, Juan in the bar is a real gem.
I've read that people mentioned sand fleas being a problem. We experienced maybe 2 bites each, however, you don't feel them bite and they don't itch whatsoever. So honestly they are not a problem.
I always research thoroughly before booking lodging and Tranquilseas is the perfect family vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judicearnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Don't let my subject line put you off, this place is awesome. However, if you want a traditional hotel experience, keep looking. If you are a savvy traveler and know how to make yourself at home and only need a little guidance along the way, there's no place better than TranquilSeas! We considered a couple other options on the island and after seeing them, we are especially glad to have been at TranquilSeas. The location is ideal. Remote enough, but easily accessible to West End and West Bay. Beautiful, clean, well-kept. And as with any smaller business, the people make all the difference. Chris, Monica, Paul, Alex, Kent, Barry, Juan, Victor, Isabel--I hope I'm not forgetting others (even Scrumpy, P, and Feo) were incredible. They even made my birthday extra special with a TranquilBreezer, amazing paella, and gooey chocolate cake with candle! I really could go on and on about the place, the people, the food, the atmosphere. We did all the requisite traveling around the island and never found a place we loved as much as TranquilSeas. I'll close with a couple of tips: This is probably not a great place for toddlers/little children (lots of stairs) and PLEASE consider bringing school supplies to be donated to schools in need!

Room Tip: View didn't matter to us. If you are in Turtle and you are a light sleeper, keep in mind there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing