We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Want To Leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't Want To Leave”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Tranquilseas in June of 2011. Our stay here was the last leg of our honeymoon. We spent 3 days in Copan then zipped over to Tranquilseas and spent the last 8 days of our honeymoon there. We had an absolute blast! Chris and Monica were wonderful hosts! We loved the laid back and relaxed atmosphere! We also finished our open water scuba certification with Tranquilseas. Kent Ebanks was our instructor and he was awesome! He was a great instructor and I would recommend anyone who is looking to finish their scuba certification in the caribbean to look up Kent at Tranquilseas! He will take care of you and teach you all you need to know in a relaxed environment! Chris was also great at giving us some tips about exploring the island. And Monica was a wonderful cook. All the meals she made for us were wonderful! Our accommodations were also very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms felt very homey. I personally liked the personal touch each shower had to go with the theme of the room! If you are looking for a laid back relaxing place to go on your honeymoon, vacation, or just looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life I would recommend Tranquilseas hands down!. We didn't want to leave! You won't be disappointed. Happy Trails! :)

Room Tip: Hummingbird Cabana had a decent view of the ocean while still laying in the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwsjr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    49
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
289
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, Calif
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our stay at Tranquilseas Eco Lodge for a week of diving turned out great. Like other reviews, rooms are a little rustic, but clean, convenient, and a niece place to stay. Food on site was very good, and there are a number of restaurants within short walking distance that provide a good variety. Staff members and Chris/Monica were there to service your needs. Diving was good with clear water and abundant sea life. Would definitely go back for another stay.

Room Tip: most rooms have view of ocean and restaurant and open eating have especially a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My partner and I love Central America and have found the perfect getaway in Tranquilseas. Not only are the grounds gorgeously landscaped, the lodge/rooms are absolutely amazing. Chris and Monika have honestly created an island paradise that is truly an eco-lodge. We loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to come back with the rest of the family! We stayed in West Bay for the first week of the trip and were not very impressed. Yes, the beach is lovely, but was crowded (especially with the cruise ship passengers) and riddled with vendors....not my cup of tea. The quiet nature of Tranquilseas really provided a relaxing environment...hammocks, snorkeling and reading. A perfect island getaway. Thank you so much Chris and Monika..we had the time of our lives!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

It felt like vacations that I took 20 years ago before everything became the same. Everything was on a personal basis from the diving to the meals and incredibly relaxed. The diving was wonderful and Kent is one of the best dive masters around. Everything gets taken care of but nobody seems to be rushed including the guests. It's very relaxing but my daughter and I were never bored. If you want a resort feel then don't come here. This place is laid back, has good food, great views, fantastic diving, unique beach style rooms but no tv or radio, nice people running it, is quiet, and very friendly. We will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEFROMCHICAGO-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Jean & I chose Tranquilseas as our Roatan accommodation after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were seeking a small lodge with a dive shop and one that employed sustainable tourism best practices. Tranquilseas exceeded our expectations.

Located on Sandy Bay about a ten minute taxi ride from funky West End ($3 fare), the lodge is a quiet tropical haven. We really enjoyed walking around West End, slipping into the many souvenir shops and restaurants (our favorite was Creole's Rotisserie Chicken - excellent value stands out from expensive tourist restaurants). But, we were happy to come back to the quiet of Tranquilseas.

The lodges 5 cabanas stair step down to the beach. Each has it's own deck with hammock and partial or full ocean view. The restaurant and bar, which operates on the honor system, is open air and decorated with colorful splashes of Guatemalan textiles. I had the veggie crepes for dinner & want that recipe!! Thank you Monica! The breakfast menu had a variety of choices, all sumptuous. Monica and her staff prepare breakfast to order daily, and a set menu for dinner. You need to go elsewhere for lunch. There's a lodge next door that served a good burger (yet after seeing the caged birds on property, we didn't want to patronize it).

The pool is located a level below the restaurant, and the dive shop below that. The private dock provides access to the dive boat and snorkeling in the bay. Chris is a professional in all aspects. He operates his PADI shop with an emphasis on quality and safety. We were very impressed that our nightly rate included a mandatory donation to the Roatan Marine Park. My dive master picked up trash and fishing line (illegal to fish in the park) during our dive.

The diving was really good. The coral is in pretty good shape and a fair amount of fish. The cost of diving is probably the lowest you'll find anywhere. The highlight for me was the turtles! 2 Green Sea Turtles & 1 Loggerhead turtle. They were so close! One was swimming languidly by, one was eating coral in the company of a gray angelfish, and one was blissed out while being cleaned by 3 remoras. I am very depressed about the fate of our oceans, yet here is a spot that is still nice to visit.

I have high praise for the integrity of Chris & Monica and for their creation of this eco-lodge. Thank you for a fantastic stay - I'll be back and will recommend Tranquilseas.

Sincerely,
Barbara

Room Tip: Choice depends on # of people & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

OVER EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

Upon arriving and meeting Monica and Chris we were excited to have found such a gem. Monica is always smiling and her cooking is brilliant. She made us feel at home just minutes after arriving and we did not have to worry about a thing during our stay. Chris runs a very professional and safe dive operation. Kent , a dive master and Chris worked with me in the pool, in the classroom and in the open water. They were diligent that I master every skill and ensured I was comfortable at all times. After passing the exams, I became PADI certified and completed 6 dives during our trip. My partner completed 7 dives and he was impressed with the level of safety and detail Chris and Kent provided during each dive excursion.

Our favorite day was the trip around the island of Roatan. We completed three dives, including a shipwreck dive and had a delicious lunch (packed by Monica) on a remote private island. It was great spending time with the group and Chris provided us all a history lesson as we circled the island. We saw a nurse shark, eels, octopuses, amazing coral, turtles and lots of tropical fish.

The lodge itself is truly Eco-friendly. The woodwork is amazing. It felt a bit like Robinson Crusoe’s tree house. Everything Monica and Chris look to build, incorporate and utilize is completed in the most eco-friendly manner, even if this means its costs them more to do so. It is quiet, clean and really felt like it was your extended home.

The locals were great. They were very polite. The taxi system is great on Roatan and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a taxi to pick us up and take us to west end. And the pizza place at the top of road from Tranquilseas, has brilliant wood fire pizza.

We look forward to returning again soon. Thank you Chris and Monica for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette2011gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Tranquilseas was much more than I expected. Our hosts Chris & Monica are so adorable, they took the time to get to know us and show us around. Monica is a killer cook, gourmet in Chicago! I loved the quietness of the resort, I was able to relax & actually read an entire book. Eric went diving with Kent as he describes as one of the best dive masters that he has ever had the pleasure to dive with. The cabanas are so comfortable; we slept great every night and looked forward to Monica's breakfasts every morning. We have zero complaints or concerns, absolutely pleased and highly recommend Tranquilseas. Thanks Chris and Monica for making this trip a memorable one! xo

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Property: Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing