We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the closest thing to a perfect vacation that we could ever dream of having.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet , then Tranquil seas is the place to stay. Since this was our first time , we really didn,t know what to expect. After a short ride from the airport we arrived and instantly knew we had made the right choice. The grounds , rooms , lounge and restaurant are all very clean and well kept. We stayed in the Hummingbird which has a great view of the ocean and was so private , it felt like we were miles from other people. The shower in the room was wonderful, we wish we had one like that at home. Everything in the room is decorated tastefully and very clean . We had the double front doors open quite a bit enjoying the nice breeze with no sign of any bugs . Other than the odd no-seeum down at the beach the bugs were not a problem. The restaurant lounge area is really a nice place to chill. At times we felt we had the whole place to ourselves including the beach. Our hosts Monica and Chris are two of the nicest people you could ever meet. They respected our privacy but were right there if we needed anything. Monica is a fabulous cook Ther really is no need to eat anywhere else , every meal we had was perfection and they always use ingredients bought the same day. Be sure to hit Tapas night on Tuesday for some great food and music. The resort has a nice long dock right out in front with some great snorkling right off the end of the dock and just a short swim out is the coral reef which is truly amazing. We wanted a place away from the busy all inclusives and found the perfect spot. We were thrilled with how quiet it really was. We were wondering how safe Roatan would be from things we read, but we can tell you from our experience there is nothing to worry about. We felt more than safe on the resort and everywhere we went on the island. We can,t think of one thing that could have been better. The food , acommodations , service are top of the line.Monica and Chris should be very proud of what they have going on here. We can,t wait to return.

Room Tip: View and privacy the Hummingbird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steeler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 539 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

Several of the previous reviews that drew us to Tranquilseas were accurate: great location, a staff that aims to please, beautiful views, good breakfast by Monica, delicious Tapas on Tuesday nights, and a world away from the craziness of West End/West Bay.

We went for a 7 night/10 dive package and ended up doing 13 dives with my wife doing her advanced open water while in Roatan. The dive instructor Kent was a huge part of our positive experience here. Kent was a great host and we had private dives with just 3 people for 10 of our 13 dives, and Chris the owner guided our other 3 dives. What a great way to dive- and both Kent and Chris know the island and the dive sites very well. A note on the diving in Roatan: Lots of great reef structure and fish life, but you can see that the system is struggling a bit, but the Roatan Marine Park Service (supported by people like Chris) are doing a good job of helping the system bounce back.

Aside from diving, we also took a great day trip to Barbaretta island and around the entire island (stopping for lunch at Hole in the Wall). The day trip with other guests was fun, scenic, and relaxing. Chris did a great job of explaining Roatan history and culture. I highly recommend a day trip of this type.

The rooms here are nice, but if you are like us, you won't spend much time there. The balcony of the restaurant and above the pool area is so nice (and quiet) that you won't need to spend time on your own balcony. Also recommend grabbing a hammock and setting up shop at the end of the dock.

Food, as stated by many, is great at Tranquilseas. There are also great local stops. Pizza up by the road is fantastic and reasonably priced, Blue Bahia has good food but a bit pricey, tons of good food in West End.

To summarize: Great diving with Kent, delicious food by Monica, beautiful views, good company from other guests, and a wonderful resort brought to you by Chris and company.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulf-coast-walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We booked this hotel specifically to avoid the cruise ship crowds that descend on West Bay Beach. It was very quiet both during the day and at night. Tapas night did have live entertainment but it wrapped up around 10pm. Hang out in the hammock on your deck or
take one out to the end of the dock. About a 10 minute swim out to the reef will get you some
great snorkeling. Don't miss Tapas Night (the duck and apple salad was yummy) and the new gourmet burger night. Chris and Monica are great hosts with tons of energy and lots of information to make your stay enjoyable. There are several restaurants within walking distance and many more only a $2 cab ride away in West End.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradobumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This quaint resort is for those of you travelers that want to get away from the mainstream world and stay in an eclectic beach bungalow with great ambiance and friendly local flavor. It is located in Sandy bay, just minutes from West end. It is right on the water and has many local attractions within walking distance or short taxi ride. They have great restaurant "the sunken fish bar" on property which is open for guests by reservation and hosts two dinners a week open to the public (Tapas Tuesday with live band and Burger heaven Thursday). The chef Monica prepares breakfasts, tapas, and a freshly made to order Paella dish that were incredibly delightful. The resort was build by the owner Chris over several years with an island flare and has little quiet areas to escape to if you would like to just lie around and enjoy a good book. The pool is just the right size for a short dip or walk a few steps further and you can take a longer swim in the turquoise blue waters. The resort also has an on-site dive shop and private boat for your diving convenience. The Dive Master Kent is very well known and respected on the island- you can book the boat and Kent for local dives and safari- dive day trips. He is very personable and will enhance your dive experience with his exceptional knowledge of the local reefs as well as his knowledge of the island itself. We did 17 dives with them and could not fathom diving with any other dive shops. The dives were all arranged based on what "WE" wanted to see and experience as well smaller more intimate dive groups to ensure the quality of dives. My overall rating of the resort is a 5/5- it was the perfect get away with friendly and helpful staff to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Someone once told me it takes a great foundation to make business successful and Tranquilseas resort has proven this to be fact. A place where you go on vacation and leave feeling like its a second home.
Thank you to Chris, Monica, Kent, Juvinne, and Feo for making it a very memorable stay. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Call in Advance and talk to Chris (owner)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Monica's cooking is just great and we could see the sun set each evening. There is lots of outdoor deck space to enjoy being outside. There was live music several nights and Chris and Monica were helpful and pleasant. It is truly a unique setting with many beautiful trees and plants. The reef is out quite a ways but we snorkeled it a couple times each day. There is also some snorkeling closer to the shore but we enjoy being on the reef. You can easily walk to the little pizza place at the main road or just walk a few steps down the beach to the Blue Bahia for lunch. It was quiet, and even when it is totally full you have plenty of privacy. It was a soothing vacation for us and we would go back again. It was our second trip to Roatan.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank lovesabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed one week - taking two rooms (one for adults, one for the 20 year old) - both were comfortable, quiet, creatively decorated - but who would want to stay inside with those great decks and stunning views? Chris and Monika are wonderful hosts who designed, built, and operate this slice of heaven. They succeeded in creating a relaxing, playful, and comfortable lodge with a common deck and bar area that allows you to hang by yourself and read (in sun or shade) or socialize with other guests. And they did all this while minimizing its impact to the nearby reef. They've planted the grounds with plenty of native plants - a horticulturalist's dream. We saw plenty of birds from the property (kingfishers, hummingbirds, white crowned doves, sandpipers, great grackles, parrots, night heron, frigatebirds, warblers, and a buteo complete with fish in its claws.) The point being there's something for everyone. We watched the Dive Master, Kent, teach new divers (he was thorough, careful, patient, and had great advice). He also briefed all divers/snorklers to ensure protection of the marine park and ensure they had safe diving experiences. Both he and Chris really know the reef creatures and ecology. As SCUBA trained environmental scientists, we were impressed. The Lodge has two boats and will arrange trips to accommodate the desires and skills of its guests. We only snorkeled and had a great time.

Room Tip: TreeFrog is upstairs w stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I have traveled to many places in the Caribbean but Tranquil Seas was our favourite place ever. We absolutely loved our stay at Tranquil Seas.

There was something about the place that created a friendly atmosphere between you and the other guests and it was really hard to leave.

I especially loved snorkelling off the dock in front of the Lodge.

Room Tip: The Hummingbird was a great place to stay
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank TerryandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
3.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
614 reviews
3.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: $181 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing