We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering, relaxing slice of paradise.”
Review of Sundancer Cabanas

Sundancer Cabanas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundancer Cabanas
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My sister, boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 weeks in November 2011. We had an amazing time. The cabana's are simple and clean. A/C in the bedrooms and beautiful screened in sun room, as well as a huge wrap around veranda with the awesome hammock.

We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds come and go during the day and the gecko's hanging out on the porch at night. Surrounded by lush jungle all around.

Lynne and Bob were amazing hosts and took very good care of us. They were extremely helpful and know the island very well.

I also got my SSI scuba certification while there - with Holly Williams who is on site. It was amazing to have one on one training and right there on site. I can't recommend her enough she was an incredible instructor and very knowledgable of the reef and good diving spots.

The restaurant down the road had great food and good atmosphere for those evenings we didn't want to cook. We also took a few quick trips down the road to West End.

Felt very safe on site with a security guard on premises.

Only pitfalls were the hot water tank blowing (which was fixed within hours) and sometimes the chickens hung around our place and woke us up. Mostly they were down by the water though.

The beach and water are phenomenal... great dock and incredible snorkelling and diving right off the pier. Saw a huge barracuda, lots of parrot fish, turtles and eels.

Would highly recommend Sundancer if you want a quiet, low key, self catering vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Sundancer Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent a couple of weeks at Sundancer earlier this year. It is an absolutely beautiful spot with brilliant tropical gardens, mango and palm trees and is located right on a post card perfect Caribbean beach. The coral reef is just a little piece off shore, close enough to swim to, and the snorkeling was the best we have ever enjoyed. The people at Sundancer were friendly and very welcoming. Our cabana, while a rather rustic wooden building, was exactly as described and we really have no complaints about it.


In spite of all these tremendous positives, I could not recommend Sundancer to anyone. The stench from septic tanks was beyond anything we have ever experienced!!! There seems to be septic tanks all over Sundancer. . One was located close to the lane that leads to the road and it emitted a constant unpleasant smell. The truly terrible one was next to the Dive Shop. The stench from this one was not constant but rather came in waves. Because it is so hot there, you need to have the windows and doors open to catch a breeze. Unfortunately, more than once breezes brought in such strong fecal odours during breakfast and dinner that we were not sure we could hold down our meal. The stench also blew in during the night and was so fetid at times that it woke us up.

I have no idea why the septics are so bad at Sundancer, as we travelled all over the island and nowhere did we encounter similar septic problems. These septics are obviously not working properly and they are close to the sea, which leads to the question: Along with the horrific smell is there environmental damage?

Alymer, Quebec

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Johanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Peter's Place #14. We had comfortable accommodations for 7 adults and 4 kids. We highly recommend it.

1  Thank Irwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I just returned from 3 months on Roatan and was fortunate to have stayed at Sundancer Cabanas in Sandy Bay. Very centrally located - just a quick taxi or bus ride to W. Bay or Coxen Hole and within walking distance of 3 restaurants. Shrimp at Blue Parrot is sooooo good!!! Skippy Kirsch, the property mgr. is a wealth of hospitality and information and Dan & Holly can handle all your diving and snorkeling needs. Loved the dock and spent many tranquil hours on the top deck watching waves break over the reef. Snorkeling is awesome on the reef at Sundancer - much better than at W. Bay. Fireflies, Hummingbirds, beautiful blooming plants and beach - just wonderful. Do bring insect repellant - sandflies everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electra01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I love traveling with my daughter who researches everything to the nth degree and finds wonderful bargains. While we would have loved to stay in West End for the gorgeous white beach, our budget said "won't happen." We stayed 5 days at Sundancer and met lots of interesting people and had easy access to other towns by taxi. The Blue Parrot was a wonderful restaurant right by the road on the property. The best part of the trip was that I felt safe and would definitely go back solo. I did not feel that way in Tobago 2 years before.

Taxis can be expensive if you chose to explore all the facets of the island, but I don't think I would have wanted to rent a car there as the drivers are rather "spirited." Skippy, the manager of the Sundancer was very accomodating with advice and any needs we had. While my daughter likes to try new places, I prefer comfort and routine and would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylcip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Loved it - especially Lynne & Bob (the managers) ability to get things done. This spot was perfect for our needs - with two bedrooms, living room, kitchen, bath and two screen porches. we also enjoyed and used daily the pool - a perfect place ot relax and cool off after a long day. We also liked the location - and enjoyed the beach and reef - although it is a bit of a swim to the reef. having a car is certainly handy, but taxis are frequent and very cheap on Roatan. We also liked the nearby restaurants - Blue Parrot and Sunshine - different cuisines, but both good.
Diving was our attraction to Roatan - and the diving is very nice - not a lot of big fish, but hopefully they will return as the marine park gains traction. Sundancer is a nice choice for those who want to be a bit away from West End and have a condo like experience in a nice setting. But, do bring bug spray - there are lots of bugs in the tropics.
We were very pleased with the Sundancer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

would like to thank Jenny and Dave for looking after us so well, the place was spotless and very well run and they could not do enough for us. our stay was something I will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
4.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
0.9 mi away
Puerta Azul
Puerta Azul
#2 of 5 in Sandy Bay
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundancer Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundancer Cabanas

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sandy Bay
Also Known As:
Sundancer Cabanas Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing