We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with great staff”

Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roatan Institute for Marine Science (RIMS) is ideally located for marine study on the northwest coast of Roatan where over 30 miles of fringing and barrier reefs, seagrass beds, mangroves and shoreline are home to an astonishing profusion of life. Founded in 1989, the primary objective of this facility is the preservation of Roatan's natural resources through education and research. In the past decade RIMS has established itself as a dedicated teaching institution. Our facility is visited year-round by colleges, universities and high schools from abroad to study tropical marine ecosystems and the bottlenose dolphins we house at our facility. Many programs are for academic credit, some are in conjunction with other field research stations, and others are simply introductory courses to the ecology of coral reefs in the Caribbean.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great resort with great staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent time diving with Antony's key while staying on beautiful Roatan and met some of the greatest people. Pete&Tati are some of the nicest people I've ever had the pleasure of diving with. They were both very familiar of the dive sites and how to safely tour these sites. The fleet of dive boats and their Captains were amazing.
I would strongly suggest this resort to chill, dive, and take advantage of the very patient and educated instructors for a couple extra dive certs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank diver088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    54
    22
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just back and I wanted to rate this somewhat unique experience while still remembering our time there. I read a very extensive review and would say that they have it down great. We did a dolphin encounter in the keys years ago and this was definitely better. But the snorkel experience afterwards was not to be missed here. Go if you can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank peijade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dolphin Swim and Snorkel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The most amazing experience in my life. The beauty, intelligence, and playfulness of the dolphins took my breath away. The trainers are super friendly and knowledgeable. If you do only one excursion on the island, this should be it. If you are there at a resort, DO NOT go on cruise ship days (Tuesday and Wednesday). Totally worth the $103 pp.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dolphin Dreams”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at Anthonys. I had done a previous dolphin encounter in Puerta Vallerta Mexico and it was also really cool, but this was different. The Dolphins are in a sea-water enclosure netted off from the ocean. You walk right in up to your chest and then the fun begins! You get to spend a great deal of time even in the beginner encounter learning about these beautiful animals and getting to spend a lot of time actually interacting and playing with them. The trainers are excellent and are extremely sensitive to the dolphins' environment and needs. This is a spectatular family activity!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dolphin Encounter/Snorkel”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best experience EVER! The ratio is 4-6 people per dolphin and trainer. This is VERY up close and personal. You are encouraged to ask questions and in turn are educated on the dophin's life and training. After the encounter you are allowed to snorkel in the enclosure which is about 5 acres in size. The dophins didn't interact too much with you but they did to some extent. Very worthwhile experience. LOVED it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunloverkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing