We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dive with dolphins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort

Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roatan Institute for Marine Science (RIMS) is ideally located for marine study on the northwest coast of Roatan where over 30 miles of fringing and barrier reefs, seagrass beds, mangroves and shoreline are home to an astonishing profusion of life. Founded in 1989, the primary objective of this facility is the preservation of Roatan's natural resources through education and research. In the past decade RIMS has established itself as a dedicated teaching institution. Our facility is visited year-round by colleges, universities and high schools from abroad to study tropical marine ecosystems and the bottlenose dolphins we house at our facility. Many programs are for academic credit, some are in conjunction with other field research stations, and others are simply introductory courses to the ecology of coral reefs in the Caribbean.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing dive with dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was such a treat to spend time with the dolphins on the platform, seeing their tricks and being entertained by them. We learned a lot about the dolphins and how to best interact with them. Some awesome photo opportunities were available! We then went out in the dive boat and toured underwater for awhile. The dolphins came and went among the divers. Toward the end of the dive, the 2 dolphins spent some quality time with us. It was clear that the trainer was their favorite person so if you want some good close-up pictures or some frequent interactions with the dolphins, stay in his vicinity! The video at the end was very good quality but quite expensive. We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank klfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    49
    19
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Swim with the Dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best entertainment around....take the time to check this out. Very caring trainers. Ask for Christine Parker who has been working with the Dolphins for 3 years. You will love it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank eboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dolphins - talk , swim and get a KISS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ask for Christine Parker when you go. She is one of the trainers and hails from Boston USA. She will introduce you to Marge the best Dolphin around. The jumps the talking the swimming with the Dolphins is great. Photo packages are expensive, but hey how many times are you kissed by a Dolphin

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank eboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a first for my wife and I though we have talked about it many times before. Christine with Mica, you were both fantastic! I highly recommend this to anyone!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bratty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Diving with Dolphins, cruise excursion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited Roatan while cruising with Crown Princess. The one excursion that I wanted to do was Diving with Dolphins. We were picked up promptly at the pier and transported over to the resort. I hadn't been diving in 4.5 years and told the dive leader that up front. He helped me with my gear and made me feel comfortable during the checkout dive. One of our group of 8 had regulator issues (her gear, not the resorts), and her tank was promptly replaced (not once, but twice). We had a great dolphin encounter on a platform near the dolphin compound. Anyone who thinks these dolphins are captive, doesn't look too carefully at the compound. There are no high fences or barriers, if the dolphins really wanted to leave, they could jump over and head on out. Then we went 5 mins out to a sandy bottom site for our dolphin dive. We were in 55 feet of water for 45 mins while the dolphins swam and played around us. the dolphin master even got them to lay down so that we could pet and stroke them. We were fully briefed on how and where we could touch them, and we had a wonderful experience! i have nothing but good things to say about this trip, and we're seriously considering doing a dive week there in the future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank woodfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing