We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Dive Was a Bucket-List Item!”

Anthony's Key Resort Dive Operation
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Dolphin Dive Was a Bucket-List Item!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The dolphin dive was the most amazing dive I had ever done. The dolphins are not wild, but captive dolphins that are let out and make their way to the dive site, which the divers get to by boat. It is a sandy bottom with a coral reef nearby. Of course, the dolphins are free to escape, but they return to their enclosure.

Before the dive, we had at least 20 minutes of platform time with the dolphins performing tricks. We could touch the dolphins both during the platform time and during the dive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miranda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    25
    8
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very professional services”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The primary reason for my stay at Anthony's Key was to complete my open water certification dives. Although I have little experience with instructors and divemasters to date I can't imagine there could have been a more professional and thorough instructor than Pete. Every day the service was perfect. I will return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fred_garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Play with the Dolphins”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was the most fun we have had on the Island. It is a most go! We were able meet the dolphins then snorkel with them. The dolphins loved to play with us. They are such wonderful animals

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandBound2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dive excursion thru Carnival Cruise”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The dive was uneventful, which is both good & bad; no problems, but didn't see anything exciting (not the dive operation's fault, of course). Staff was accommodating, but didn't provide anything but water between dives (usually get fruit or SOMETHING). After breathing the dry air from the tank, you could use a little more than water.

Would recommend for the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive Operation!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was an excursion booked through Carnival Cruise Lines. We met inside the Conquest main show lounge where the representative from Anthony's Key checked us in, completed our paperwork and checked our dive cards.

Once everyone was checked in we were escorted as a group to the bus which was just a short walk to the end of the pier. From there it was about a 20 minute bus ride to Anthony's Key Resort.

Once at Anthony's Key we boarded the Ms. Cheryl and loaded the gear we had with us. Then went to the dive shop to pick up any gear we needed. The boat was large and spacious and we had plenty of room and we did not feel overcrowded.

Before our first dive they took down everyone's name and cabin number, then used that for role call after each dive.

Our first dive was just a short 5 minute boat ride away to Green Outhouse. We set up our gear and we were ready to go. Our group was divided into 3 groups. There were 10 people in our group on this dive. I like a group of no more than 8 but, I will say, that our dive master checked on everyone on this dive like no other dive I have been on. He did underwater headcounts every couple of minutes as well as checking to see how everyone was doing. That was very reassuring.

On this dive we saw amazing corals, colorful fish, large lobster, lion fish and huge grouper. We dove to about 70 feet and the water was about 80 degrees with amazing visibility.

After this dive we went back to the dock for about 25 minutes, where we had a chance to go to the gift shop (it is very nice), buy a snack at the snack shop, visit the restroom or just walk around. We then boarded the Ms. Cheryl again and headed out for our final dive of the day.

The second dive was at Deep Eel Garden and the Agulia wreck. Since this was our second dive we only went to about 60 feet, so we were not able to go all the way down to see the wreck but we were able to see around the mast and clearly able to view the wreck.

I liked this dive better than the first one. We saw many more fish, larger lobster, more lion fish, small squid, corals, and very large grouper again.

After this dive we went back to the dock, returned any gear we had from Anthony's Key and had a chance to have our log books signed. We then boarded the bus which returned us directly back to Mahogany Bay pier.

There is also a Passport Stamping Station at Mahogany Bay Pier if you would like a passport stamp.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this Operation. Excellent crew, very nice boat, amazing resort and beautiful waters! We will definitely return to Anthony's Key.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Key Resort Dive Operation also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Key Resort Dive Operation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing