We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots of grass but great snorkelling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Bay Beach

Sandy Bay Beach
Sandy Bay, Roatan, Honduras
504-929-4720
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #11 of 19 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The property is unique to Roatan. Just off the main road to a private beach area. This area is part of the Roatan Marine Park preserve. The reef system parallels the white sand beach of Sandy Bay The closiest swim to a underwater ecologial paradise teaming with tropical fish and corals. This area is a quiet tranquil area of Roatan without high end hotels and condos but close to the tourist meccas.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of grass but great snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Although you must swim out a good distance, not for the out os shape, we have been very impressed with the quality of the water and the amount of creatures we have seen. We have snorkelled many reefs off Roatan and this one has the best sea life we have seen. We have seen everything from tiny fish by the thousands to 8' nurse sharks and everything in between!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ibuycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“peacful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The beach on Sandy Bay was very private, peaceful, and clean. We were away from all the tourists in the West End and West Bay which was nice!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kregan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“West Bay Beach was the white sands and blue waters you love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were at Anthony Key Resort for 7 days (read my review) and then moved on to the west end of the island called...West Bay. Great swimming beaches and fun restaurants and bars. We ate at a cool Sushi place that was part of a fella's home. The one thing that we really took a liking to is the dive shop right off of the beach. It use to be Ocean Connections, but with it's new owners, it's changing to West Bay Divers. Not a big dive shop but organized, very reasonable, very clean and up to date. The gentleman who is in the process of taking over is named Malcolm Hobbs. Very patient, knowledgeable, very, and made us feel very comfortable. If I return to Roatan, it would be because of West Bay Divers, I call it a 5 star operation! They have the latest info on hotels, food, etc. if needed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It wasn't very welcoming. It wasn't so clean, and there are no businesses, no people. It's kind of run down properties. The water looked good though.

Helpful?
Thank lindsey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rawdon,qc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Snorkle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Snorkled in a cove off of sandy bay and saw a sea turtle amazing..

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindie-mai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Sandy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing