We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolphin show atop of the mountain trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails

Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 100% natural 40 acres of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and their many jungle trails offer a perfect place for hiking, wildlife and scenic photography, eco tours, bird watching, nature studies, and of course, relaxation. So, "take a walk on the wild side" and watch the playful Monkey La La scurry along jungle trails as you enjoy flowering plants, orchids, medicinal plants, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees, including the very popular "Chocolate Tree" and the world famous Honduran mahogany tree.
Montréal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dolphin show atop of the mountain trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great garden to walk around. The owner was very friendly and informative.

We lots of indigenous flowers and trees. We also saw a basilisk.

We took the mountain trail after walking all the maze-like paths in the garden. When we reached the belvedere, we saw, from afar, the dolphin show of Anthony's Key resort.

It's about 18 Lempiras per person for a ride by a collectivos from West End to Carambola Garden.

The garden is located across the street from Antony's Key resort.

If you plan on taking the mountain trail, don't wear flip-flops.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clement c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    72
    16
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful tropical jungle garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visited this botanical garden as a cruise ship excursion from the Carnival Magic. What a treasure this garden is. Love the way the owner has made it a very natural setting. Beautiful plants and relaxing atmosphere! Also learned a lot from our tour guide who just happened to be the owner!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoyful2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
373 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Bill Bates is the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Bill is the owner and usual tour guide of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and is a charmer. He is from the Carolina's and came to Roatan in the Peace Corps, fell in love with it, and stayed. When my wife suggested the tour I was not enthusiastic as I'm not into botanical gardens. But Bill's tour ended up being the highpoint of our Central America trip. Bill kept us amused and we learned a lot in the process. If you ever get to Roatan his tour is a must plus he has the cleanest rest rooms in Central America.. The fact that Angela is a Red Sox fan, she was wearing a team hat that day, and Bill is also was an added plus.. Make sure Bill shows you his small shrine to the Red Sox Nation in the reception house...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to spend an hour (or two)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband & I spent a lovely hour-and-a-half at the Carambola Botanical Gardens today. The entrance fee (without a guide) was $20 for the two of us. You could pay an additional $8/person for a personally guided tour that included information on the medicinal uses of the flora. We opted for a self-guided tour. There is a small gift shop on-site featuring some local craft work, vanilla, t-shirts, etc. There are also restrooms.

We were warmly greeted at the entrance and provided with a map and a detailed explanation of how best to navigate the grounds. The "lower" or garden area is easy to navigate in terms of terrain, and would be suitable for most anyone. Most of the trails are "paved" with flat pieces of rock or are made of compressed sand. If you stay on the main trails, they are fairly flat. It had rained heavily in the morning so some sections were a wet and the rocks could be slippery where moss was growing in the shade. A wheelchair could likely be accommodated, but may limit access to a few areas where there are small bridges/walkways to get from one section to another.

The garden is very lovingly maintained and plants/trees of interest are well marked on both the map and placards. We saw cinnamon, ginger, coffee, cacao, and many, many orchids. We also saw numerous butterflies and small lizards. After competing the garden area (inside about 30 minutes), we opted to hike up The Jungle and then Mountain Trails to The View. This was a bit of a climb (about 30 minutes up, and about 20 minutes back), so I would not recommend if you don't have the ability to walk several flights of stairs. My husband and I are in relatively decent shape, but were certainly breathing hard most of the way. Of note, the trail is quite steep in parts, and narrow in others. It is natural terrain (roots, rocks, etc.), and there are several small foot bridges (without handrails) over 3-5 foot drops. Again, due to the rain, it was also quite slippery in areas. There are numerous benches along the way that you could rest on, if needed, and the trails are well marked so it's easy to find your way. I'd recommend that you have walking shoes and a bottle of water. It's the rainforest, after all, so it is likely to be a very hot and humid hike. However, The View at the top of the Mountain Trail will not disappoint! You look down the side of the mountain to the sea, over Anthony's Key Resort, and for miles beyond.

We would recommend the Gardens to anyone who loves nature, plants, or just a little exercise in the jungle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure next to Anthony's Key Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The garden is across the street from Anthony's Key Resort. The trails are marked. We were there right after a tropical storm so there was lots of debris to step over and it sometimes wasn't clear where the trail was. It is beautiful. We didn't make it to the top where thou have a view of the water but it was worth seeing. We did not take the guided tour but we should have. The tour is done by the former Peace Corp volunteer who created the jungle garden.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AbbieH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails also viewed

 

Been to Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing