We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped bus and not much of a garden.”

Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
Ranked #7 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 100% natural 40 acres of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and their many jungle trails offer a perfect place for hiking, wildlife and scenic photography, eco tours, bird watching, nature studies, and of course, relaxation. So, "take a walk on the wild side" and watch the playful Monkey La La scurry along jungle trails as you enjoy flowering plants, orchids, medicinal plants, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees, including the very popular "Chocolate Tree" and the world famous Honduran mahogany tree.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cramped bus and not much of a garden.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to the gardens from our cruise ship. The bus was small, could hardly get down the isle. Seats were cramped and small. The gardens looked more like a path cut through the jungle. the guide was not bad, but there was not much to see. The best thing were the humming birds

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    77
    17
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN ANTONIO
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Challenging Trail With Great View At The Top”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On the day we went, there were no guided tours going on, so we walked around the gardens on our own and took the trail up to the top of the hill. As others have mentioned, the map they give you is not very helpful. The plants in the garden area are very colorful and many of them are marked with identification signs. The trail up the hill is pretty rugged - be sure to have good footwear if you are going to do it (flip-flops are not ideal!). It's a good idea to bring along some water as the trip up is hot and humid. Watch your step and take it slow as there are sections of loose dirt, palm fronds, and various nuts that you can easily slip on (and it would be a rough time down if you went off the side of the hill!). The view of Anthony's Key at the top of the hill is very nice. If you look close, you can even see the dolphins swimming around in the dolphin research area.

Along the trail and in the gardens, there are various lizards, butterflies, and birds to see. I recommend you spend at least a few minutes hanging out where the hummingbird feeders are and watch the various colors and sizes of hummingbirds chase each other around.

As others have said, the $10 per person admission seems a little steep, but it did provide a good hour plus of entertainment and was a nice change from the beach and snorkeling. If you don't like getting sweaty, this probably isn't for you, but overall I thought the scenery was beautiful and it was well-worth the time and effort to get to the top of the hill.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hike and beautiful view.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Enjoyable short hike to top where the view was lovely. Would have liked a few more labels on flowers and trees.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour for Nature Enthusiasts”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really enjoyable way to immerse yourself into the Honduran ecology.

As a Dionysian it was difficult, but I managed not to strip the cacao pods and coffee beans off of the trees! Carambola is nearly the garden of eden ;)

Irma as a guide was very informative and we really loved seeing the diversity of plants they have arranged in such a beautiful garden. As we visited in December many plants, such as orchids were not blooming, but it was still very beautiful and worthwhile.

I highly recommend for those interested in botany, ecology, farm to table cooking and natural medicine - it was very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful tropical paradise”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We walked to Carambola Gardens from our Sandy Bay rental recently. It was very easy to find, right across the road from the entrance to Anthony's Key.

We went early in the morning, before it got too hot, and I think we may have been the only ones there. Other than the employee at the gate who welcomed us, we never saw another person.

In the main garden there are so many different paths and varieties of flowers and plants that it was hard to take it all in. What a beautiful paradise!

We were given a little map, that marked out where the plant life was, etc. I just wish the map also included the jungle and mountain trails. We did follow the mountain trail, but found there were several times that the trail went in 2 different directions and we weren't sure which way to go. I think they all went to the top, just by different means, but having a map for those trails would have been really helpful.

Regardless, we made it to the top and the beautiful view. I agree with previous comments that bringing water along would be a good idea. And sturdy shoes! The mountain trail was steep in places and I was glad to have good shoes on - flip flops would have been very tricky on the way back down!

Unfortunately the orchids weren't in bloom. There were so many it would be have been amazing to see them.

Our tour of the gardens and hike on the mountain trail took about 2 hours. There was a small gift shop at the gate. They could probably do well selling some bottled water there too, but I didn't see any.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gotta-c-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails also viewed

 

Been to Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing