We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth visiting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails

Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 100% natural 40 acres of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and their many jungle trails offer a perfect place for hiking, wildlife and scenic photography, eco tours, bird watching, nature studies, and of course, relaxation. So, "take a walk on the wild side" and watch the playful Monkey La La scurry along jungle trails as you enjoy flowering plants, orchids, medicinal plants, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees, including the very popular "Chocolate Tree" and the world famous Honduran mahogany tree.
Dallas, Tx.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been to Roatan several times, but never took the time to see the Gardens. It was well worth the time. We had a tour by the owner, who was very friendly and informative, tellling us about each of the different species. The garden was beautiful and the tour was kept interesting..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    72
    16
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We took a taxi from the cruise port and went to the garden. Ask for Lincoln for taxi driver he is great! The garden was self guided tour of a beautiful tropical rain forest. Not much of a flower expert, so I can't name the plants but did see coco, coffee and banana plants. The tropical flowers were so beautiful and the park was laid out so you can stroll threw the garden with ease. Was a terrific way to get out of the sun and heat, seemed to be 20* degrees cooler because of the canopy of trees.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carambola Gardens, World Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Bill and Irma Brady have created a World Class collection of tropical plants at Carambola Gardens on Roatan’s North side behind Anthony’s Key Resort in Sandy Bay. Included in their beautiful and well planned miniature tropical forest are rare and endangered plants from Lancetilla, the famous United Fruit Company experimental garden near Tela Honduras.

As you walk the trails you may see deer, rabbits, butterflies, lizards, unusual insects and other fauna, in addition to the flora.

And then there’s the available hike through a natural habitat of various palms and plants where it is almost dark, climbing to the top of the hill. Bill has carefully carved foot paths through this original forest to arrive at a vista of Anthony’s and Bailey’s Cays. In addition, he has a telescope for night time celestial photography available by reservation.

My family and I travel to Roatan several times a year and always try to include the gardens in our itinerary. I highly recommend you contact Carambola Gardens through the internet to arrange a private tour with Bill during your visit to Roatan.

Bill and Irma are strategically involved in the preservation of Roatan’s’ ecology.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Beezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautiful flowers and view, well worth the hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We hiked on one of the cooler afternoons during our July visit, which was a fortunate choice (bring water). Flowers and hummingbirds are beautiful, as is the view. Many paths, but all seem to connect (so don't worry, as they are not very well-marked). We stayed at Tranquil Seas and walked down the beach to the Anthony's key footbridge and up to the road, and then entrance is right across the street. The man offered us delicious local bananas when we left.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScubadiverNskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful flowers, and view from high mountain point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I hiked to the top of the mountain trail in less than half an hour, beautiful vantage point to get a broad view of the sea. The gardens had a nice variety of flowers and native plants in one place too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank skidownbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails also viewed

 

Been to Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing