We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Groupers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Aquila Wreck Dive

Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Groupers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fun dive! The groupers are like dogs! actually have to push them away. And keep them from being to harassing to smaller people. They got a little too interested in our youngest diver.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paramedicnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roatan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Going deep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A must do, to see this wreck.
Besides that there is a lot groupers hanging out at the wall, which is close by

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxmoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun dive with Tranquilseas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We dove the Aquila with Ava from Tranquilseas, about 109 feet. Many large groupers and wonderful scenery. All-around great dive and highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScubadiverNskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing wreck dive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This dive was less than a half mile from our cabana! At 100 feet down,the water and wreck were beautiful, and Kent, our dive master from Tranquilseas, was wonderful!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kregan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of my favorite dives at Roatan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This dive is a close second to the Shark Dive in Coxen Hole. El Aguila Wreck was our adventure deep dive and wonderful to say the least! We made it to 110 feet (33.5 m)! There are HUGE groupers that swim up close as you make your descent, apparently they get fed by some folks at Anthony's Key- but they just seem curious. Now I get why divers say "Deeper is better" - cuz now I want to do more deep dives - and make that one of my specialties!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbugchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Aquila Wreck Dive also viewed

 

Been to El Aquila Wreck Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing