We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Encounter - but next time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Unfortunately, we were just here for the afternoon, a day trip from cruising, at this beautiful resort.
I dive but my wife doesn't swim so this time, only waist deep in crystal clear waters as you watch these intelligent creatures perform on command.
A well run, sympathetic approach to training. Although a pen surrounds the the lagoon area, the animals can leave at any time, which they do at will.
I can see why other reviewers praise the resort & its facilities. The location is perfect. I wish I was diving instead of paddling!
The obligatory snap with a dolphin was the highlight of our holiday and just $20 for a USB stick with many photos was a bargin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saxondean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We did the full dolphin exhibition and it was great to learn a lot about the animals. First touching them was a thrill. It only got better when we got into the water! Playing with them and giving them commands and riding with them was one of the highlights of our whole trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LumpyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was a trip of a lifetime with everything taken care of and great diving. Was like being on a cruse ship with all your meals and everything included. Beautiful place and great staff. The only thing I would do when we go back is do the Night snorkel instead of the night dive as there is much more to see at night in the shallows. Dolphin encounter was fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed up on the hill and it is much closer to the restaurant and no sand flees but not right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

this is our second trip to AKR. The staff is so accommodating; the rooms are spacious and wonderful; the diving is off the hook!!!! Marvin spoils the heck of you when you are a guest there. We will be returning again soon! Mandy and the staff just rock. We enjoyed the Ixora spa during this visit. Our masseuse was fabulous and getting a massage on a tropical island was well worth it!!! The entire experience is almost beyond words!!!! Thank you again AKR!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zellerranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We signed up for this through Carnival and it did not disappoint. The site is beautiful and the dolphins were fun. One thing I loved about this was that the dolphins are not captive. They are taken out to free water every day and they can leave if they want. They've only had 2 dolphins leave and they have adopted one that wanted to stay. The staff is fun and friendly and it was a wonderful excursion!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We visited AKR recently and it really surprised me. As a diver I like resorts that are "centered" around diving. There are places there to do most anything related to diving. You can also find a corner to rest and read a book in a beautiful garden or under a shade. The people are fantastic and actually seem to love their jobs. the dive-masters are true professionals and never act rushed. They pride themselves on making each dive memorable so I rate this place as TOP NOTCH!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmbln_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The island of Roatán is full of dive centers but there is no one like AKR...here you can feel and experience how a real full throttle diving operation must run. i took a Divemaster internship for 5 weeks and i have to say it was way more than i could have imagined, Pete, Tati and crazy John were the best mentors showing an amazing level of professionalism. they only take a couple of interns at a time which keeps learning process very personal. The reef is in great shape with an unbelievable variety of species (big chances of whale shark and eagle ray encounters right in front of AKR) and local divers really make a big effort to keep it that way, wreck diving, beautiful sand patches and even a sunk aircraft are there waiting, so if you have any doubt about where to go for your next dive trip or training, just go AKR, i promise you will also write down a review here. Mauricio

Room Tip: Rooms on the key have shore diving acces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elpolloxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
4.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
216 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: $573 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing