We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for teenagers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for teenagers”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We took our teenage grandsons, 16 and 17, to Honduras to visit Mayan ruins, experience Central American culture and see its natural wonders. We ended our ten-day trip with three nights at Anthony's Key Resort, the perfect conclusion to our spring break excursion. The Wednesday night "Island Fiesta" was a great mixer for the boys who enjoyed the BBQ, catchy Caribbean music, Garifuna dances, fire dancers, limbo contest and meeting people their own ages. Their snorkeling experience (offered twice each day for about an hour) was a highlight for them. We also enjoyed the Dolphin Encounter and Snorkeling with Dolphins, activities which we could actually see across the lagoon from the decks of our bungalows. We had booked #48 on #49 on the Key at the suggestion of a Trip Advisor reviewer. We were grateful for the tip! As someone else advised, you can't go wrong - if views are important to you - with Superior Rooms (with AC) on the Key, numbers 30 - 52. Watching the dolphins' aerial ballet during the day and the sunset at night from the hammocks on our decks will be cherished memories. Another reason to stay on the Key is the beautiful swimming pool and well-stocked bar. Coffee and tea are offered there 24 hours a day. All meals are included, thankfully, since the boys' appetites seemed to increase with the sea air. The staff was kind, patient and funny, often interacting with the guests. We especially enjoyed the boat shuttle to and from the key, never waiting more than a few minutes. There are lots of other activities available at AKR - horseback riding for $10, a dolphin museum, a botanical garden a short walk away and of course, its major attraction, scuba diving. You can also hire a taxi for a ride into West End or arrange a Canopy adventure. We didn't do any of these things, content to relax and enjoy our decks and the pool on the Key when we weren't out snorkeling. We loved the casual, laid-back feel of the resort and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room on the Key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bannerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    227
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
255
420
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's all about diving! Got home early morning and still feel like I'm diving--a trip that keeps on giving! Not as much marine life as other places I've dove but the reef system in that location is incredible, unbelievable formations, breathtaking. Nonetheless, still a lot of fish on top of the reef, more eels than I've encountered in one location, many turtles and grouper. AKR, being a dive destination, has it figured out. It was nice to be assigned to one boat, one dive master and boat captain, and the same dive group the entire week---cohesive group made each dive even better. You probably get it----as good as it gets for an overall dive vacation. Thank you Dive Master Alson and Captain Leo---I liked being taken care of and all you said was, 'you're on vacation.' Yes I was!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kzapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This review is just for the scuba excursion.
I booked a scuba excursion from my cruise ship.
The place looks well kept up and clean. The boat is we went on had plenty of room.
I enjoyed the dive sites. Saw a sea turtle and Moray Eel.
If you are doing a deep dive 80 ft. you need to bring your own watch to do the decompression at 10 ft. Our dive master was out of the water well before our group was out of the water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went to Anthony's Key as part of a shore excursion off a cruise ship. Site is really nice and want to return again, especially to stay in the private cabanas located across the inlet on the separate island. The amenities looked compelling, including the dolphin encounter area.

The dive area was nicely laid out like a small village along the boardwalk. The staff were friendly enough. Diving was pretty good, though be watchful - when we arrived at the mooring, the current was visible at the surface. In the dive briefing, no mention was made, so I asked and was told that the current would not be great enough to worry about. Wrong. After the giant stride, it was a scramble to stay at the anchor line. I was with my newly certified teenager, so we dropped down to the coral heads to get to an easier place. I also then noticed that my buddies rented depth gauge was broken.

The rest tried to deal with the current then gave up and joined us in moving in and out of the fingers along the wall. Suffice to say the second dive was changed to a drift dive, and we got a replacement reg with working gauge.

Nothing a diver shouldn't be able to accommodate, and I liked the place, people and dive very much. But with the lack of awareness of dive environment by the DM and malfunctioning equipment, feel it needs to be flagged with an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Golliwobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, AR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place! Rooms are spacious & clean. We stayed on the Key facing the reef, so we had a great view!

The noseeums will eat you up! Be sure and bathe in the bug spray!

It is isolated, so you cannot walk anywhere. You must take a taxi or rent your own vehicle to get anywhere.

The diving is spectacular - the DM's and crew are a lot of fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WednesdayandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My family visited this resort on a cruise excursion. Enjoyed it thoroughly! Great staff at the dolphin encounter, but the staff who was supposed to be leading us wad not too friendly. Be ready to drop some money on pics: $80 for a USB drive of the dolphin pics. A little pricey I thought.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermom0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked a scuba excursion through my ship on a cruise. In addition to the excursion fee, I had to pay $30 (cash only) for BCD, fins, and a half wetsuit. The fins were broken in a couple places, the BCD had to be replaced due to leaking air, and there was a rip in the pocket where my weights were put (because they do not provide weight belts).

Other than the roughshod equipment, the dive was good. Everything was done professionally for the 2-tank dive. The divemaster gave a good briefing, kept sight of us at all times, and also pointed out interesting coral and fish. The 75' dive included not very colorful but a high quantity of coral, while the 40' dive includes a few turtles and semi-rare fish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroad24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
0.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
1.8 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Property: Anthony's Key Resort
Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing