We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dolphin Encounter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dolphin Encounter!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We did not stay at Anthony's Key but we went to their dolphin encounter one day on our trip to Roatan. It was EXCELLENT. This was the first time that my fiance and I have done one of these and we learned a lot. We had a great time and we discussed coming back to stay at the resort on our next trip to Roatan. We also ate lunch at their restaurant which was delicious as well as moderately priced! Best, cheapest lunch with the most exquisite food that we sincerely loved. Great portions!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    227
    55
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
420
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I got my divers license several years ago here, they were really proffesional and had all the necesary equipment. They have dolphins you can actually swim with and a daily dolphin show, it is really nice. The cabins where you stay are really nice, have great views toward the ocean. I recommend it for couples and familys doing scuba or just interested in mingling with nature!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldberg1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is my second time leading a group dive trip to AKR. I had 21 divers this year and the dive shop accommodated our large group by assigning us two boats so we never felt crowded. AKR has a top notch dive shop, complete with dockside storage lockers, Nitrox and Scubapro rental equipment. They were also able to fix the few equipment issues some of my divers had with their own gear. The Key Superior rooms were fabulous, clean and spacious. The housekeeping service at AKR is really on top of their game. I heard numerous reports from my divers about the abundance of sealife they watched just from their covered porch! Yes, there are mosquitoes and no-seeums on the island, but what do you expect for a tropical location? I warned my group about this repeatedly in the months prior to our trip, so they came prepared and it didn't stop us from having a great time. The diving is spectacular! We dove the north side of the island, including the wrecks of the Aguilla and the Odyssey. I felt our dive crew was very professional, concerned for our safety and took time to point out the sites/sealife underwater. The divemasters were very personable and fun to be with. Kudos to Jerome and Frank (and their captains) for a more than enjoyable week! Each day we were treated to amazing reefs and walls...we saw such a wide variety of sealife, including lobster, crab, turtle, rays, eels and tropical fish. Our group enjoyed two night dives in very good conditions - great visbility and no current. The night creatures came out to entertain - octopus, lobster, shrimp and the bioluminescence! A few of our group did the shark dive and could not stop talking about how amazing it was to safely swim with Caribbean reef sharks. Most of the group also did the Dolphin Dive, where two trained dolphins interact with the group in open water. The dolphins were slow to shop up, but when they did it was amazing. My divers felt it was worth the money for that experience. allowing us to pet and interact with them for thirty minutes! We also braved the zipline at Gumbalimba park - a first for many of our group. Everyone made it from the top of the island to the sea! After the zipline, we did a guided tour of the park and enjoyed a visit with macaws and monkeys! It was very convenient that we could book the extra tours/dives directly with AKR. I also never felt pressured about the amount we should tip anyone - dive crew, restaurant staff, etc. It was all up to us. The staff at AKR works very hard to keep the grounds clean - including the pool, the restaurant, the docks. Service in the restaurant/bar is great. We had the same waiters all week and they were very attentive and courteous at all times. I've been to many dive resorts and this ranks up there as one of the best in my book!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank titademaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I refer to this as "adult dive camp". The rooms on the key are like deluxe camp buildings with nice baths, mini frig, safe. All have big decks. The grounds are well maintained and the pool area nicely done. The food was also good and I am fairly picky about that. All of the staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable.

The diving is very good and the dive staff professional and accommodating. We were a group of 22 with varying skill levels, which they quickly assessed and worked with.

We will return!

Room Tip: Stay on the key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickiinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort collins
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We've been here three times and have a wonderful time diving here. Granted, you are in a tropical resort so you do need to travel with Off bug spray.....anywhere there are warm, humid conditions, you're going to have insects. You also need to bring sunscreen b/c the UV rays are stronger at the equator. We found the people very friendly and the resort a nice place to vacation. The diving is great and typically the guests coming here and coming to do some diving.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kadie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Roatan and can say without hesitation that we would return and not hesitate to book with Anthony's. The only thing that keeps me from rating them at 5 stars is that for a couple of days they curiously accomodated a couple, who were very unskilled divers, on our boat that negatively impacted the rest of the group. We were made to dive to their skill level which meant cutting dives short or altering the dive plan with all attention being paid to one diver, clearly incompetent, who literally had to have their hand held for the duration of at least one complete dive. A situation not fair (and potentially dangerous) for that person or the rest of the group.We nearly had a mutiny of sorts but after discussing the issue with the dive shop, there was acknowledgement and improvement. Our boat crew (Captain Corvin and DM Frank) were terrific the whole week. For all that, the diving was exceptional otherwise, hillside room comfortable, great swimming pool/bar on the cay, food quite good and wait staff very professional. Plus all of the extras including presentations in the evening about fish identification and "turtle talk". Really nice touches. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Overall a very well run resort that deserves high marks.

Paul
Arroyo Grande, CA

Room Tip: We had bungalow 6 which is on the hillside and included air conditioning. It is not connected to ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sealeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Anthony’s Key Resort – Roatan
Remote Paradise for Eco-Adventure Lovers
Anthony’s Key Resort is an outstanding 4 star resort in terms of setting, sensational activities and service-oriented staff. It is located in the Bay Islands on 2 acres of hillside with 2 keys. As a travel writer I explore locations but here I am tempted to stay put and drink in the serenity and understated luxury. AKR offers the perfect mix of activity and respite.
A mecca for divers, we eco-tourists can stroll extensive gardens, chill at the pool, snorkel the warm waters teeming with marine life, kayak to Bailey’s Key to watch the playful dolphins train.
For nature and nurture, do not miss the Monday excursion to Maya Key. Sample a Honduran buffet. Dine at umbrella tables on the raised patio near the beach. There is no beach at the resort per se. The resort owner, Julio Galindo, a conservationist has created an animal refuge for native species caught in illegal trade or ‘cute pets’ abused or abandoned by owners. There is the peccary ( wild pig) that thinks it’s a puppy and wants its back scratched, the leopard who rolls over like a big kitty at the sound of our guide, Milton’s deep voice, scarlet macaws, lively capuchins and a colony of howler monkeys on a mangrove island.
At the close of our tour comes the up close and personal animal encounter. A tiny seven month old baby howler monkey is placed on my shoulder. He curls his soft black prehensile tale around my neck like a necklace as he chitters away in my ear. Magical.
Our flight arrived mid –morning so we had literally ‘missed the boat’ for Maya Key. After our check in briefing, Melaney arranged for transport just for us to we would not miss out on this unique place. It was like that for our entire stay. Ratio of staff to guest is 2 to 1 and all are hand-picked. You feel like you are staying with friends. I am gluten free and our server made sure that my fish was grilled not breaded and found fruit when cake and tarts were served. Nothing was an effort on their part but a pleasure. Thank you Perry, Yolanda, Melaney.
Meals are fresh, healthy and varied. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruits, juice, coffee, tea, cereals, croissants, and muffins. Pancakes and eggs are made to order. At lunch and dinner, they offer two choices (meat/fish or seafood and burgers are a backup) along with soup or salad and dessert. Cocktails and pop are extra. I lived on their fresh salads, grilled sea bass, grilled shrimp and snapper.
If you like to be active this is the place. Dive, snorkel, kayak, or take a sunset horseback ride along the beach. Then there are the 24 Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins. Sign up for a gentle Encounter or a full out Action Swim. The Action Swim was the highlight of our stay. Numbers are kept small with 2 dolphins to four people and one trainer. At $90 for 45 minutes it may sound pricey but it is worth it. Our trainer, Serena is a marine psychologist. We are helping her to “train” Margarita, an excitable adolescent at 3 and Fiona who at 7 is expecting her first calf and an old hand at this. With so many births, you know the dolphins here are thriving. We learn hand signals, dance, and spin, pet and swim with our charges. Then the big finale…. I splash the water as instructed and these water puppies glide by as I grab their dorsal fin and hang on tight. It’s a thrilling ride with them pulling me at breakneck speed!
The resort offers side trips to Mayan ruins at Copan, white water rafting, zip lining at nearby Gumbalimba Park and swimming the clear azure waters and walking the sugar white sand of Tabayana Beach at the foot of West Bay Beach. It’s a snorkel trip but I have been snorkelling daily so appreciate the beach time. If you have not been to a rainforest do go to Gumbalimba and walk the forest with its huge Kapok tree, black and green iguanas, brilliant scarlet macaws and mischievous capuchins who’ll pose on your shoulder for peanuts (the trainers have them ‘conditioned’).
You need to be fit to stay here as if you’re staying on the key (the best spot) you’ll be climbing in and out of the water taxi for meals and diving at the mainland and climbing the 50 wooden steps up the hill through glorious foliage to the open air restaurant on the hill with its spectacular views. Don’t dawdle after 10 pm the regular boat taxi boys go off duty then and you have to ring the gong for the security guard to get you. Can’t speak to the dive program but found the fellow running the night snorkel a bit casual in the safety department. Do not snorkel alone. We were separated from our group and one of the flashlights went out. Luckily I was wearing a life jacket. It took our ‘snorkel guide’ over 20 minutes to find us. During the day, there were two guides and the one in the boat kept good tabs on me and followed along.
We loved waking up to blue water lapping outside our balcony door and having a snooze in the hammock. Our bungalow ‘over the water’ was private and peaceful. From our deck we saw starfish and dramatic sunsets.
Be sure to get accommodation that is air –conditioned. Spring for the Key Superior – you won’t regret it. When you book request over the water as there is also near the water. Bungalow #48 and #49 have over the water sunset views. There is a South Pacific feel like their overwater bungalows. At meals their bright woven green, orange and indigo tablecloths and musical Spanish spoken by the servers among themselves or to Spanish speaking guests is Central American but happy hour and reggae are pure Caribbean. So much to enjoy.

Room Tip: Spring for the over the water bungalows. We loved #48 and #49. Do go on the Action Swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
0.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
1.8 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Property: Anthony's Key Resort
Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing