We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is one of the best restaurants on Roatan! They do the best Prime Rib every Friday night. It's a rare thing to find a place with GOOD meats on Roatan
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Six of us enjoyed the hospitality of The Hungry Kiwi a few nights ago. We enjoyed one of the two dinner specials - either Prime Rib or Sea Bass. I had the Prime Rib, which was cooked perfectly and accompanied with fresh vegetables and rice (potato was an option). Melted in my mouth. I tried a bite of the Sea Bass and it was very good as well.

Great service. Next time I'm on Roatan, I'll make sure to eat here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Redman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodway, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Friendly, air-conditioned, great food and good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My away from home kitchen”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Move to Roatan 2 months ago. The Kiwi is my away from home kitchen, best comfort food (all food that's good is comforting to me) I have found and the staff is the best. still looking forward to dinner, I have to finish the breakfast menu and lunch menu before I start the dinner menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank EBREAUX2ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast Anytime”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The menu here is outstanding because so many choices just for breakfast. And I like breakfaast anytime of day. The owner assured me that will always be the case. But add some dinner specials like Prime Rob Friday nights, Lamb on Thursdays... Chicken or Fish Specials on Wednesday...one should not missed out on all this menu offers. They are located on ground floor of Lawson Rock, a very swanky condo/home community! Security guards in attendance.
Ample parking in front. The coffee bar is excellent too...and my Cappuchino with Kahlua is a on its way as soon as I arrive. Full bar, breakfast, lunch, dinner and a library shelf of paperbacks and 2 large screen TVs make this place right on for the savvy visitor or islander. Check it out!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank GastroKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One the best restaurants I have been to anywhere.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

A little gem on Roatan! I have had several lunches & the prime rib dinner. All were excellent! The prime rib was succulent & prepared perfectly. It truly melted in your mouth with excellent flavor. My salad was cold and presented beautifully with a delectable home-made French dressing. My husband & I truly enjoyed out dining experience at the Hungry Kiwi & would definitely return.
Susanne
Roatan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Kleewik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Sandy Bay, Roatan
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing