We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day in Roatan with Murphy!”

Murphy's Roatan Tours
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are coming to roatan and want a custom tour with just your group that is safe comfortable and above all personal, we pay attention to details. so if being PAMPERED and seeing a beautiful and enchanted island paradise then murphys roatan tours is for you. we offer ziplining diving horseback riding island tours east aand west if you can think of it we can make it happen. go ahead and book your tour and i will see you in roatan.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic day in Roatan with Murphy!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked Murphy online after reading TripAdvisor reviews. We arrived on Carnival Magic in August 2012. He met our family of 2 adults, 2 kids at the pier and took us all over the island. He is very knowledgeable on Roatan history, government, and knows all the great spots to take you. All the locals know him and you can tell he is well-respected in the community. We got to see the iguana farm, ziplines, West Bay beach and West End. All of this was MUCH cheaper and better doing it with Murphy than if we had booked through Carnival. He took GREAT care of us--even gave us bug spray in the one area where we needed it! I can't recommend him highly enough--he should be rated number one for all Roatan activities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigmurphRoatan, Owner at Murphy's Roatan Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
hello judy just want to say i had a great day with you and your family the boys are great and judy thank you for using murphys tours and we will see you guys next time take care may god bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    5
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved Roatan”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a fantastic time with Murphy and would highly, highly recommend. He was very accommodating, extremely flexible and made the entire day/tour so fantastic. We went ziplining and snuba-ed and the only drawback was wanting to stay longer but having to get back to the cruise ship.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ytisalca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigmurphRoatan, Owner at Murphy's Roatan Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
hello from roatan thank you guys for using murphys tours ytisalca hows the weather in florida? hope to see you guys on your next visit to this are take care god bless murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great day in Roatan, wish it were longer.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Murphy is TERRIFIC!!! We arrived on the Carnival Legend July 5th, but I booked Murphy online on my own. After reading reviews and checking websites we hired Murphy to drive us around the island on his Advance Zip and Beach/shopping tour. Murphy uses Jon in NY who quickly answered our many questions. They gave us directions on where to meet Murphy once we got off the ship. It's a little bit of a hike to get outside the gates, but once you pass the gates you will see other tour people waiting to pick people up. Carnival will not allow them to come inside the gates to pick you up but they will allow them to come inside the gate to drop you back off. Do the tours away from the cruise lines as they are so much better and cheaper. When we got to the meeting point, Murphy wan not there but many locals knew him and called hi to tell him we were waiting and he came within 10 minutes. Murphy took 6 of us with some gear in his Ford Explorer. I was a little tight but worked fine for us. As we drive around the Island the locals were very friendly waving and saying hello to Murphy. He shared info on the local culture and politics which was very interesting.
Murphy took us right to his partners at SouthShore Zip Lining before our beach break.
Ziplining, island tour and spending time at a beach away from the cruise ship people was perfect for us as we are not huge Carnival fans. This fee for the day for the personal driver/guiide service was only $25pp, plus $40 for the ziplining. We were the first ones on the lines for the day and had the place all to ourselves. . Take bug spray and spray yourself before you begin ziplining. Our zipline guides used our cameras and took lots of pictures of us riding. This was a nice service they did for us so we tipped them well. We also bought the CD of pictures the in house photographer took.. The lines are very high and very fast but we always felt safe, even thought of us pushing the 300lb weight limit After ziplining we went to West End to the beach. Murphy took us to a public access point right near Tabyana Beach. The snorkeling is amazing. My family did SNUBA with AquaRoatan.com. They also helped me find a guide so I could scuba off the beach near my family.
We made 4 stops on our cruise and did a couple of things at each port., but ziplining and SNUBA on Roatan are #s 1 and 2 on our best parts list, thanks tot he great service Murphy provided.
I would recommend you use a local guide for your day in Roatan instead of a ship tour & Murphy is teriffic. You will get to see the real island and hear about the culture and go to places the ship would never take you to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeBob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigmurphRoatan, Owner at Murphy's Roatan Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
thank you very much for your great review joebob85 im so glad that you guys like our little paradise here in roatan you are always welcomed god bless murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"No doubt best tour guide ever!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Murphy was an excellent choice!!! We arrived on the Carnival Conquest, but I booked Murphy online on my own. Coming from New Orleans a person is skeptical of everyone. But I will tell anyone who asks MURPHY IS THE MAN!! He was very nice and answered all of our questions we asked about the island. If you are questioning booking because you have to "leave" the safety of the pier to meet him, it is perfectly safe. That was my biggest concern!! We met him, did the zip line in the monkey park-arrived way before it got too crowded, then Murphy showed us the rest of the island and places to shop. We had plenty of time to shop in the Carnival Pier shops at the end of our tour!! Again no second thoughts about Murphy he is a stand up guy!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigmurphRoatan, Owner at Murphy's Roatan Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
hello danny diana B "who dat" thank you very much for your great review loved having you guys come back soon may god bless murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, GA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Murphy was great! He transported us on a tour and to visit the local orphanage on a mission trip. He took us to zipline as well. He greeted us with a great smile and personality. He was very knowledgable (and popular--everyone knew "Murph"!) It was an excellent experience and I know when we get ready to return to Honduras, Murphy of Murphy's Roatan Tours will be the first to know!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AYA_31709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigmurphRoatan, Owner at Murphy's Roatan Tours, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
thank you so much aya the kids at the orphanage send their love may god bless and keep you guys safe love murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Roatan Tours also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Roatan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing