We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dive shop. Great Value. Super friendly”

Octopus Dive School
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a 5-Star Padi Dive Center located directly at the quiet beach of Sandy Bay on the beautiful island of Roatan, Honduras, at the Blue Bahia Resort. The Octopus Dive School offers the following: PADI Courses We are a 5-Star PADI dive center, operating since 2005, with a focus on smaller groups and personal attention. We offer PADI courses from Open Water all the way to Divemaster taught by our qualified instructors. Classes can be held in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French. Our class size is limited to four scuba diving students per instructor. We also offer Discover Scuba Diving experiences for those of you wanting to try diving for the first time without having to take a full course. You will feel as part of the Octopus Family right away. With over 50 different dive sites to choose from, we take you to some of the best walls, canyons, caves, and wrecks the Caribbean has to offer. You will experience calm, warm, clear waters (yearly average temperature are 24 to 32ºC, 75-90ºF). We accommodate our clients by choosing sites based on their personal requirements, interests, and scuba abilities. We also organize whole day trips, sunrise, and night dives upon request. We dive with a maximum of six divers per instructor, and there is no fixed time limit for our dives. For you and your family’s convenience, we also offer Snorkel Safari, Bubblemaker (8 years+), Open water Junior (10 years+), weekly fish ID Happenings, and much more.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dive shop. Great Value. Super friendly”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I went diving at Octopus dive Center for a week in February. We had a great time and have only the highest praise for the shop. Nuria runs everything and is very organized and very charming. She is one of those people that really brightens your day just by being around her. We did 12 dives in total, including finishing our advanced certification. Again, great small group dives with great staff from the instructors to the boat captain. Sure, the wetsuits are a bit used but the equipment is fully functional and at no time was safety compromised. The overall cost at Octopus dive center is very, very competitive - far cheaper than Anthony's key right next door and you do the same dives! I would highly recommend this dive shop to beginners or advanced divers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    13
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun times”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice, knowledgable people at this shop. They took a group of us out in pursuit of a whale shark! They could upgrade some wetsuits and fins, but they run a careful, safe operation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellin1_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE them!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great value for money! The staff is amazing. Everyone is very nice and positive. I had so much fun with them. They are also very flexible and easy to work with. They even gave me rides to and from the shop--SO nice! Miss this great group of people and the diving is good too :)!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCloud12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome dive shop, great people”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just returned from a week in Roatan. My husband did his Open Water cert with Octopus and we can't say enough good things. Many have already been said here. We loved all of the folks here, from Nuria, the owner, to Ava and Dan, the instructors, to Antonio the boat captain. I went along on the boat dives just to snorkel, and they were totally cool about it and told me exactly which area of the reef to head to for best snorkeling. I even had a nice long snorkel with Antonio's 8-year-old son! They are super friendly, knowledgeable, safety-conscious, and you can tell they enjoy the diving and the area. This is not a crowded, cruise-shipper, tourist-packed dive shop. It is a low-key, relaxed, experienced place to dive. Sandy Bay is far enough away from West End to be less crowded, but closest to the best sites with the most sea life. Totally recommend Octopus for either diving or snorkeling in Roatan. Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reebs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dive shop!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I were excited to have Octopus Dive center recommended to us for our PADI open water certification. Its in the perfect location in Sandy Bay, and not overloaded with tourists. This means you get personal attention RIGHT away that is consistent throughout your time with them. We had an amazing experience learning to dive and the dives we went on were beautiful! Overall, I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone who wants to dive in Roatan.

They kept all of their equipment in excellent condition and we felt extremely safe from start to finish. Eva was an extremely patient instructor, and that calmed my nerves right away. We did all of our training in the ocean from day one and that made us feel much more confident about diving. Their pricing was very straightforward and included everything we needed for beginning divers without a bunch of surprise add-on expenses. We can't wait to visit again for some fun dives!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Dive School also viewed

 

Been to Octopus Dive School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing