We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice house and gated yard”
other travelers have booked this property
Our gorgeous veiw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our gorgeous veiw
morning view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Our gorgeous veiw
morning view
snorkeling in the back yard
living room
kitchen
kitchen/dining area
1 of 2 bathrooms
newly remodeled bathroom
1 of 2 bedrooms
Covered downstairs patio
Front of home
outside shower
relaxing
front yard
zip lining
local fruit
seafood dish from the restaurant next-door
Books and games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Flowers Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bonnie B
Canora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice house and gated yard”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was a very nice house, clean, comfortable and full of everything you will need.

Pros:
*ocean front
*close to a reef
*away from the busy beaches and tourists
*gated, manicured yard
*deck
*fully stocked & equipped house
*laundry
*walking distance to a nice gas station/convenience store
*manager lives next door & very friendly
*always a breeze
*outdoor shower
*community seemed friendly and safe
*TV with many channels (well used during all the rain!)
*assortment of games was nice (also used during a rainy evening!)

Cons:
*on a VERY BUSY and loud street
*you have to go out the front door (street side), down stairs and around to the waterfront
*so many locks! Didn't like being padlocked or locks that only open with a key inside a house a night.

We ended up renting a car. It was just way more convenient than catching a taxi every time we wanted to go somewhere. Although the one taxi ride was an adventure in itself! We aren't afraid to explore so that's what we did one day...just drove around and toured the island. We had an idea of where and what we wanted to see ahead of time. The gated yard is perfect for keeping the car safe.

The house was very comfortable. Cooking was not an issue, we found everything we needed. There was a constant breeze through the house.

There is only about 2 feet of water under the dock. Lots of little fish & urchins. The reef is very close but you can't swim to it. It is too shallow. You need to walk down the beach a little and then swim out through a very deep channel to get on the other side of the reef.

Would have been so nice to be able to walk out onto the deck and go straight down to the water. Became quite the trek once you got down there and then realized you wanted something back in the house! We might've spent more time down there if we didn't feel so cut off from whoever was still in the house. Petty...yes I know!

I can not go without making a comment about that traffic!! Wow. We left our quiet country home to holiday along a very busy street! That wasn't really the problem; it was the huge number of motorcycles that are so very loud! Felt like my son was ripping around on his dirt bike constantly!!

As you can see, my list of pros out numbers the cons by a land slide!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara G
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly as Described”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Private, Oceanfront home. As promised we were met by Lindy at the airport and he stopped at Eldon's Grocery store where we stocked up for a few days. We met Dempsey from next door and he was most gracious for our whole stay. There were 4 of us and the house was spacious, clean with nice linens and a well stocked kitchen. We prepared our own breakfasts and often our evening meal at home. Having the two bathrooms was a nice treat. The pictures shown on TA are exactly what we found upon entering. What we didn't expect was all the locks even though it was mentioned in others reviews. We understand the need for security but felt it was a bit much. The other aspect we didn't expect was the street noise - most annoying for the couple in the front bedroom. We appreciated the laundry service downstairs as well as the kayaks, snorkel gear and hammocks. Unfortunately we did not spend much time on the patio down below. It was definitely cooler down there but it was a hassle to have to lock up, go down and around to get to it and to have to carry "stuff" down there. We had no problems booking or getting in touch with Darci. She was quick to respond even when we were in the airport being questioned as to the address of our destination. We did snorkel out front and found the best way to do so was by going out in the kayaks. Walking out was difficult unless you have water shoes on - which I didn't have but borrowed from the gear provided. We found it more economical to rent a vehicle than taxi everywhere. We ended up going at least if not more than half way up island - at our own speed, stopping whenever and wherever we wanted to. We had a blast and feel we probably saw more than if we had gone on a guided tour. If you are physically fit you could probably walk in to Coxen Hole for shopping but to get to West Bay or West End would be a bit much. Our daily car rental rate was just a little bit more than a return taxi fare. And we could come back after dark with no worries. All visitors most definitely must go next door to Port Side for a delicious affordable four course meal with Francois (Frank). An evening to remember for sure.
Our Recommendations:
- A Clothesline
- Stairs from rear upper level to lower level - spiral staircase in the middle of the upper level down would be awesome
- Mini fridge on the lower level
- Storage cupboard or over the toilet shelving in both bathrooms for toiletries
- Roaster or covered casserole dish with lid for in the oven
- Longer towel bars so towels can be hung unfolded to dry
- A kettle
We enjoyed our 10 day stay!!! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“It was what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival, the curb appeal seems lacking until you remember the climate conditions affect on a wood exterior. Don't get me wrong, it's not bad but with a big gate, multiple locks etc, you start getting a little antsy. Right away, we met Dempsey Rivers from next door. He is your go to guy but actually turns out to be more of a friend. Everyone on the island knows Dempsey, literally everyone. His sister, Miss Haydee is charming and will cook up some fried chicken for you that is life changing. She'll come by, chat, cook and just have fun. The house sits on a portion of the reef that is easily accessible for snorkeling. Kayaks and everything water sports related is available. If you need laundry done, you can do it yourself at the house or simply take it across the street to a lovely lady that washes, and folds it for you. Do not hesitate to walk in to Coxen Hole for lunch. Yes, I'm aware of what you're gonna think but go anyway. It's very safe and quite interesting. Gios seafood is a very short walk but buyer beware, it can be very expensive ie $152.00 for our party of 2. It is good but not that good. Ask for Luen as your server. He's awesome and a shirt tail relative to Dempsey and Miss Haydee. The house?....it's everything the pictures show. We were lucky as it rained almost non-stop daily so we felt it necessary to sip drinks and watch the ships go by in the rain. The rain can be very hard so check your windows at night. There are lots of locks on the house, as well as, a safe. Your safety is not a problem. If you get bored, go visit Dempsey, Miss Haydee, Alton (Dempseys, nephew cooking chicken 2 doors down) or drop over to the gas station for some great local flavor. Give this place on Flowers bay a chance, even if it is for only a couple days. It's great and we will likely go back next year if they will allows us. Don't forget to tell Dempsey and family "Hi" for us. You'll likely love Flowers bay house if you are looking to relax

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandDPara...
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Stay!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I have never been to a place more beautiful and completely relaxing than Roatan. The house was very clean, decorated beautifully and felt very safe with the safe and upgraded window security. It included everything we needed on our getaway. The kitchen was expansive and both bedrooms were air conditioned. We used the Kayaks twice on our trip right into the ocean at the back of the house! Snorkeling was a dream right behind the house too. There is a reef not too far of a swim off the deck. The dinner next door was dreamy and the neighbors were incredibly kind. Darci answered any questions I had and made sure we were well taken care of. We can't wait for our next trip down!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiverKen8...
West End, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This house was so PERFECT! We had a wonderful time. The snorkeling right out back was awesome. Beautiful coral and so many Fish! The house had everything we might need and then some, Kayaks, games, TV, etc.
the neighbors are all wonderful and, because they also manage the house, any help we needed was just steps away. The power went out on the island one day, which is normal, and they came right over to make sure the water pump came back on.
We felt completely safe with the gated doors and windows. There was even a safe for our passports and such. The owners are very hands on. I felt as though I could call them at anytime time and they would assist me however needed.
I would totally recommend this house to anyone who wants to go to Roatan but not be in with all the tourists. It was my personal slice of heaven. Very peaceful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blissfull!”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Great house in a great location. Flower's Bay is out of Coxen Hole and West End and is not so touristy, but both are easily accessible. But you get more of a feeling of culture of the island. We bought fresh mangoes, bananas, and limes from a vendor on a bicycle pedaling by. Added some fresh coconut milk from trees on the property and had some awesome tropical drinks. Had a wonderful French seafood dinner cooked by Frank two doors down. Street food is wonderful if you skip the pork-chops (they cook them to the texture of roofing shingles). Because of a perforated eardrum I cannot scuba but my wife did, and I snorkeled above. Reef is amazing. Best reef is up by West end, but you can just go out the back door. Very relaxing and accommodating. Plan to go again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumpette
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roatan ”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had the greatest vacation. Darci and Brads place was beyond a dream. The balcony patio right on the water was the perfect spot to begin our day with coffee and end our day with a cocktail. The house was so clean and we felt so safe and comfortable. I couldn't believe just steps off there beach was a snorkel wonderland! We went snorkeling everyday. Seven days was not long enough,, we can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing