We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve Bush showed us the Real Roatan!”
Review of Roatan Trips &Tour

Roatan Trips &Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Coxen Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Here at Roatan Trips and Tours it is our pleasure to be your host as we will make this tour and unforgettable experience for you and your love ones , our guides are native from the Island and will make sure to tell you all that it is to know about our Islands, our culture, and our people.We have a variety of choices that you can select at your convenience just relax and let us do the work for you, from most exiting adrenalin, exploring and shopping true the real Island Culture to Just sitting down and relaxing on the beach.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steve Bush showed us the Real Roatan!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having taken many cruises, and having also done many of the pre-packaged tours available to cruise-ship passengers, I can readily testify that a private tour with a local tour-guide is by far the better choice for a short visit in a new port.
This was our first visit to Roatan, Honduras. We, five passengers including two ladies in their eighties, were sailing the Royal Carribean "Mariner of the Seas", and had only an 8 hour stopover at Roatan. Steve Bush, of Roatan Trips and Tours was a great choice for a short but very informative and enjoyable day's excursion.
Steve was waiting for us as close to dockside as he was allowed to be...with our name on a sign...and a big smile for everyone. His English is exceptional, with that slight lilt of the islander we find so endearing. Steve brought along his son, 16 year-old Michael, who is in training to guide like his father, and the pair were a dynamic duo of information and assistance.
Steve picked up our group in a comfortable, late model American van with tinted windows and a hard working A.C. (necessary in the tropics), and really showed us many different aspects of life and society on Roatan. We saw how the rich and famous live and play, but we did not neglect seeing the real Roatan of the hard-working Hondurans who make the island pleasurable for moneyed visitors: the service industry. Our tour took us almost the entire length of the island, and we saw many beautiful vistas, sights and localities.
Having traveled the world by ship, plane, train and even camel...I, for one, long to see how the locals live. Steve showed us that, too...including a short visit with his family in their humble abode...and a chance to meet his wife and other children. A warm welcome and refreshments at that stop completed what was a thoroughly delightful day's tour of Roatan, Honduras.
I can highly recommend Steve and Michael Bush for their knowledge and obvious love of country and place. We will be visiting Roatan on another cruise soon...and definitely plan to use Steve's services in showing us and our guests around.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mzargarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    25
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great Time!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Roatan was by far our favorite port on the Cruise. The island is beautiful, and the tour was spectacular! Our guide Steve was awesome, he took us all over Roatan to see different beaches and communities. He took us to a great snorkeling spot on the beach, we saw many fish and had a great time! I would definitely recommend Steve and his tours! It is well worth the money and a great way to see Roatan!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lkennedy_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Steve, tour guide, is great!! He makes the trip fun for everyone!! I would recommend Roatan Trips and Tours to anyone!! Fluent in English and can help translate Spanish. Tours are very affordable, especially compared to the cruise ship excursions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Juan Carlos In Roatan”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

On previous cruises we have taken the excursions offered by the cruise line. This time we were more adventurous and made arrangements on our own. Our day with Juan Carlos was a delightful experience. We told Juan Carlos what we wanted to do, and he designed our day to accomplish everything. He met us at the dock and provided comfortable transportation. We enjoyed pleasant conversation while driving and saw places we never would have seen without his guidance.

One of the things we wanted to do was to snorkel around reefs that we had heard were spectacular. Of course we had no idea where to go. No problem! Juan Carlos took us to a comfortable beach with clear waters and a reef brimming with seal life. He even introduced us to a diving guide who went out of his way to help and give instruction to me and my two grand daughters who were traveling with us. Once again we snorkeled in areas we would not have ventured into apart from the guidance we received.

After a full, but unhurried day, we were returned to the ship in a very timely fashion.

If you want to see Roatan your way, contact Juan Carlos. Did I say that all this was provided at a very reasonable cost? All I can say is that Juan Carlos provides good value for your excursion dollars.

Thank you Juan Carlos for a delightful day in Roatan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 10th-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“A Great Experience!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Are you looking for a great experience in Rotan? Look no further! Steve Bush is native to the island and is an excellent tour guide. He is knowledgeable, compassionate, honest, trustworthy, and really fun to be around. If you don't speak Spanish, no problem! He is fluent in both English and Spanish. I had a great experience with Steve as my tour guide, and I'm sure you will, too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jesusdied4medarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan Trips T, Owner at Roatan Trips &Tour, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Darcy King our Dr, Darcy thank you so much for the time you took out to review us thank you for such some wonderful memories i will never forget youre great sense of humor God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Trips &Tour also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Trips &Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing