We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the Cameo Master at Work!”

Stone Castle Cameo Factory
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Coxen Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Hollywood, CA 90069
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Watch the Cameo Master at Work!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the only cameo factory in the Western Hemisphere. The Cameo master comes from Italy and trains the native Hondurans for 5 years to carve these works of art into Jewelry and decorative objects, such as shells and curios. And of course you can talk the merchants down and get good prices on cameo pendants and earrings! A wonderfully informative visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AnastaciaM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    15
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PR
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never send me the Cameo that we Already paid”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you want something there paid and take it, because we trust in the Owner that he going to send us the cameo by mail because he supposed to send it to another people to frame it and we wait and wait after our vacation trip, We call him several times and said I going to send it to you ..... We lost the chance to open a case with the CC and lost $ 1,270 . 03/06/08 We only have the receipt to remember not return to that place anymore.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank nachi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cameos in a Small Venue”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We found the information about the making of the cameos very interesting. There is then a shop where one may buy a cameo of various sizes and price ranges. This is a very small shop, and overall if you miss it you may not mind too much. However, for the short time spent, I was glad that I learned about the local talents.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank aggiemom20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lost art done with sea shells”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have been here the last two trips to Roatan. It is part museum and gift shop. The folks here have taken the art of carving cameo's in sea shells to the next level. The detail is incredible. They have a person right on the sales floor carving a shell and there are many show cases of pendants/ear rings/bracelets and shells which all have been carved all on sale.The pricing is very reasonable considering you are dealing with works of art. It was not listed on any of the cruise ship tours but we felt it was well worth the trip. It is located 1/2-3/4 mile west of Coxen Hole port. Just a little far to walk but a cabbie can take you there and most likely wait for you while you shop. We picked up a beautiful pendent under $50. I suggest that you bring cash other than a credit card. We were able to get a better deal with cash.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Topperdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Castle Cameo Factory also viewed

 

Been to Stone Castle Cameo Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing