We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frenchy's 44

Frenchy's 44
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Coxen Hole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront Classy Family Restaurant and Bar with great tasting American/Caribbean cuisine and great atmosphere!! Tuesday to Sunday open 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., weekends a bit longer....Wednesday night Karaoke night with special prizes to the winner...Thursday night 44 special buy 4 of a kind and get one FREE!!! ...Friday night Live music......Saturday night LIve Guitar music and play at the beach all day....Sunday Island music all day , Island food and at night Persian night with you won't go hungry delicious Persian food, Persian Music and Belly Dancers.....join us for an unforgettable dining experience on the water and truly an enjoyable time!!!!
Yvelines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you go to Frenchy's 44, go for the location, not for the food.
The food is ok though, but this is not the best thing there.
Go to the key (Cayo Frenchy), you will have your own small secret place with turquoise water.
There is bar on the key and this is a really nice place to spend the afternoon with kids. Mine spent the whole afternoon jumping in the water from the peer house !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Frenchy's 44, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
As newly established Restaurant and Private Island Resort we are very grateful for your positive reviews and positive critisim . Our mission is your enjoyment...... very glad to see we are on track...thank you for your kind words and positive review...mangement team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tellysurf
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dining with a View...and a Salespitch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Frenchy's 44 holds some promise and could be a great experience. It overlooks a pristine, quiet bay. To enter the outside dining area one is guided down a well crafted boardwalk decorated with colorful Mayan masks and other artwork indicative of the regions cultural melting pot.

What detracted from the experience is that, while waiting an hour and a half for our food, the waiter brought over a placard with an arial photo of the parent resort, French's Key. The waiter tried to sell us package deal to the island resort. I always find upselling at restaurants particularly distasteful. Sometime later the owner of the resort stopped by and nervously welcomed us to pay the $44 to take a 2 minute boat ride to the island (a meal and drink were included in the price) where i'm sure we'd be charged for every fun thing on the island.

Another oddity is that on the menu there is a blurb to the effect of, "sponsored by Coca-Cola." However, they didn't actually have any of the cola in stock, but they would still mix a rum and Coke if you wanted it. And like a lot of places in Central America, the servers never disclosed the menu items that were unavailable until you ordered that item.

The food was tasty and well priced and to be fair there were 12 of us that arrived all at once which probably threw the kitchen staff off their game a bit. The coconut shrimp, burgers and coconut poached chicken were great. There were a few substitutions of meat that the wait staff didn't inform us about. Instead of the hotdog that was ordered, one child received beef in a hotdog bun. Another child received fried fish fingers instead of the chicken she ordered (thankfully she's not allergic).

To be honest, if it weren't for the salespitch and the aloof, incommunicative staff, I'd recommend the restaurant. Until those two things are adjusted I wouldn't bother with eating here again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tellysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Frenchy's 44, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
First I must thank you for your many kind words concerning the tasty food, you having a great experience and enjoying the setting, arts and crafts and the ambiance of the Frenchy’s 44 Restaurant.

A wise man once said “nothing is worse and universally more harmful than a half truth half lie statement as the truthful part of statement propels the falsity” on its own a lie will fall in short order a half truth statement carries on.

For this reason alone I must stand to correct your falsities...

We are a newly established Waterfront Restaurant and Private Island Resort both family owned and operated. We do not advertise in radio or magazines like many other Restaurants do and our many happy visitors either know us or hear about us through word of mouth and their family and friends who have visited us. Yes we are still streamlining our operations, training staff and changing as necessary to do the best we can with the limitations we are faced here in Roatan Island.

The Frenchy’s 44 Restaurant and Little French Key Private Island are part of the same operation and strictly intertwined...we are on top of the Trip-advisor best attractions in Roatan in less than 8 months since opening despite the limitation of the work force here in Roatan, infrastructure, unpredictability of vendors, unavailability of products, internet system disfunction and electricity black outs and many other limitation found and encountered in “Central American” Countries, as you have so eloquently stated in your review.

We try to inform the visitors and guests of Frenchy’s 44 that just across the “pristine, quiet bay” lays a world of wonder, magic and mystery on the Little French Key Private Island. An experience that many have called “the best time of their life”. This is caring to inform so you won’t miss the experience, not a “Salespitch”. And if you found this distasteful we are so sorry for your limitations in understanding the caring.

If a wait staff is “incommunicative aloof” how can they make you a “Salespitch” . This can only be a very dishonest statement.

I am the owner of the establishment and I was and am not nervous, and take offense in your statement that we are trying to sell you things you do not want or desire including “every fun thing on the Island”. We do not sell beef in Hot Dog buns as “Hot Dogs” and we do not sell fish as chicken.

We do sell some of the best mixed drinks here on the Island including Rum and Coke which we use the larger coke bottles for the mix. For table us of a order of coke we provide the classic coke bottle with a glass full of ice.

We find your review not only dishonest as you insist at the end that now you want “To be honest” and the one that states trust me is the most distrustful, as the saying goes...but also with a well crafted review and a dishonest motive as you have never been to the Private Island and have never fully experienced our facilities...If you had some “honest” concerns my wife and I were there when you visited as you so state in your review and you could have informed either my wife or I if it was a legitimate concern and you did not , so much for your half-truths and honesty.

God Bless you,

The Not Nervous owner of Frenchy's 44
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,752 reviews
2,138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Actually, the restaurant is located just outside of French Harbour on Roatan. Stopped there for appetizers and found the wings and onion rings, to be just perfect. There is a great ambiance and they have their own island to explore, which I plan on seeing the next visit there. If you are on your way to the iguana farm (less than five minutes further on the road), you can't miss this place and it is well worth stopping for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Frenchy's 44, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
As newly established Restaurant and Private Island Resort we are very grateful for your positive reviews and positive critisim . Our mission is your enjoyment...... very glad to see we are on track...thank you for your kind words and positive review...mangement team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise on a bay. Owner, employees, atmosphere, are great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were moored in the bay and occasionally treat ourselves to Freche's 44 to enjoy polenesian night, kareoke, or just a good lobster & steak meal that was well priced and delicious.
Captain randy collins

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeeCaptainRJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Frenchy's 44, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and positive review...Glad to be of service...Management Team @ Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Cay and Place in the whole Roatan Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

First its a unique Cay and a Restaurant the ambiance its so relax and peaceful the food and service its great I recomended a million times this place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Frenchy's 44, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and recomendations...our mission is your enjoyment...
Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Cay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's 44 also viewed

 
French Harbour, Roatan
Coxen Hole, Roatan
 

Been to Frenchy's 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing