We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahogany Bay-Isla Roatan Honduras”

Island Marketing Ltd Roatan Cruise Excursions - Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roatan Excursions Guide to shore tours for Caribbean cruise ship passengers visiting Roatan. Our Excursions range from snorkeling, Island tours, scuba diving, canopy zipline, fishing and Seaplane adventures
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mahogany Bay-Isla Roatan Honduras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Karen our driver from Island Marketing was great, not only did she get us to our Monkey and Iguana Reserve, she was able to give us a tour of Roatan Honduras. Island Marketing thank you for giving us Karen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    32
    10
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burlington, IA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Island Marketing, questionable marketing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived at port on Norwegian Star. Booked a trip through Island Marketing for beach day at Fantasy Island resort. Found our Island Marketing rep ok outside of port, seemed to be some confusion on who was driving, did have a very nice driver who took us to resort. Upon arrival at resort we presented the email we had received from Island Marketing stating we owed $51. However resort and driver stated it was $61. Luckily we did bring a little extra cash because I don't think they would have let us stay if we didn't pay the extra $10. (more on this later!)
Resort had a beautiful beach, very relaxing, saw monkeys, iguanas. They did have a restaurant to buy food and snacks. Water was crystal clear. Driver came back in plenty of time to get us back to port with time to do shopping.
After we got home sent an email to Island Marketing about the discrepancy in our balance owed. Unfortunately they claimed it to be a "computer glitch" (which is probably human error)and stated it should have been the $61. My thought is they weren't concerned about customer satisfaction, $10 isn't much but we would have been a lot more forgiving and given a better rating if they had been more accepting of their mistake. Bottomline is double check what they say you owe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank fawn1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour guide made this our favorite excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were very lucky to find Daniel Johnson as a tour guide that we booked through roatancruiseexcursions.com. We had to walk a short distance outside of the tourist holding area and he was waiting for us with a big sign. He was very accomodating, doing even more than the excursion we had described. Although I'd booked the cultural tour and the mangrove boat expedition, I asked if we could see monkeys too and he even took us to his home where he had 2 pet monkeys and let us play with them. He was very knowledgeable, professional, accomodating and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Even more than what we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived on a The Carnival Dream so had to walk a little ways to get to our tour guide, if the tour is not through Carnival the guides are not able to get right to the port, the walk was short and our guide was very easy to find amongst the throngs of other tour guides. We booked our tour through Island Marketing Ltd., which we wound was a very good decision. We had another couple who had to be dropped off to go zip lining, and then we headed off to the boat to go snorkeling. We did have a really good tour of the island on our way and the tour guide was very personable and told us about all the sites on the way. Island Marketing is a family business, and the hotel next door is also owned by the family and looks like a very quaint place for those wishing to spend some time. My husband and I were the only people going to the first snorkel site, we had plenty of time to swim around the reef and our snorkel guide, although he didn't speak any English we did figure out a way to communicate and he was very good at finding some of those hidden gems. We have been snorkeling a quite a bit and I was actually pleased with the amount of time we had at the first stop. We then left to pick up the people who had gone zip lining, they had been picked up and brought down by the driver and joined us for the next snorkeling stop again excellent snorkelling, we dropped them off back at shore and picked up another couple and off we went to a third snorkel destination, for this snorkel enthusiast this was the best. We then stopped for lunch and a nice resort with a beautiful view of the ocean and pool, the food was very good and relaxing. The option of a fourth snorkel was left up to our new snorkel partners who begged off; alas that was the end of our excellent day. We had a nice drive back to the ship and we were sure ready for R&R. It was an excellent day, with the perfect snorkelling that you always wish for this company sure does provide; the price is right and the employees are very nice. I would definitely give them a call the next time we are in Roatan.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ldhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolling meadows, illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively, both domestic and international, and we have taken tours in many places across the world, so we have a good bit of experience with excursions. We’ve found that when on a cruise, booking independent land tours is usually considerably less expensive than those offered by the ship line, with far fewer people, much more flexibility and, if you do some research and ask good questions and choose carefully, generally better value for money. Of course, safety and timely return to the ship can be concerns, but this can be investigated and evaluated.
This is why we booked the RoatanCruiseExcursions.com 4-hour ‘Roatán, Garifuna, Mangrove Tunnel and Iguana Farm Island Tour,’ while on a Western Caribbean cruise in early March, 2013. It proved to be a lot of fun. It wasn’t exciting like Zip-lining or SCUBA diving, but it was a very pleasant drive around the island in a clean and air-conditioned mini-van. The tour was nicely narrated by Norma, our friendly driver/guide (who spoke very good English), the Garifuna villages are worth seeing, the boat ride through the mangroves is quite a different and remarkable experience (including the boat itself) that is not to be missed, our 11-year-old granddaughter really enjoyed the Iguana Farm, and the Turquoise Bay Resort, while quite modest, provided a pleasant coffee and beach break.
The RCE tour was considerably less expensive than the similar excursion offered by our cruise line. Better yet, the cost for a private tour for just our family group of 4 adults and a child was less money than paying per person. And it was far better than being on a big cruise line bus with maybe 50 people, and without the usual long and time-wasting stop(s) for “Shopping.” Instead, Norma would have been happy to take us wherever we wanted to go on the island.
One tip – it’s a bit of a walk from the ship to the dock and through the dock compound. Then the place where you meet your RCE guide is some distance beyond that, including having to walk up a long incline and down the other side. So, if you’re not comfortable walking a long way, consider a $5 taxi ride from the compound exit to where the guides are waiting alongside the road. Coming back, you’re dropped off right at the entrance to the compound.
The tour was completely safe, we had no concerns or cause for apprehension whatsoever at any time. And, as for getting back to the ship on time, here’s what RCE assured me, “Our Roatán operators have years of experience and a number of vehicles in stand by in case anything goes wrong. In the past 10 years with over hundreds of thousands of passengers a year in ports all over the world we never once have had a passenger miss their ship. Please rest assured that this will not happen to you either!” And it didn’t.
I would highly recommend Roatán Cruise Excursions and this tour without any reservation (pun intended).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank ronar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Marketing Ltd Roatan Cruise Excursions - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Island Marketing Ltd Roatan Cruise Excursions - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing