We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sound of the waves will enchant you”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pez de Oro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterrico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pez de Oro
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The sound of the waves will enchant you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I used to work in Guatemala city and coming here during the weekend was a way to switch off in the nature. The ocean here is very rough and sometimes you couldn't even swim but beautiful dark sand and immense beach gave you space to walk in absolute peace. The Pez de Oro is an average hotel, very simple bungalows with a swimming pool in the middle and a restaurant in fornt of the sea. If you can, choose a room as close as possible to the sea, the sound of the waves will be like a lullaby at night. Use the mosquito net while you sleep and cover your self up (long sleeves and trousers - avoid skirts) after 5pm as the mosquitoes are particularly aggressive. Personally, I used the swimming pool once during the day and my forehead was attacked by insects...so I would recommend to spend more time on the beach. The breakfast was delicious and once at dinner I had spaghetti with seashells, I simply loved it. I recommend the place as a gateway fromt he city where to relax and enjoy the sound of the ocean.

Room Tip: As close as possible to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice setting with small bungalows right at the beach.
Food was good and tasty: we didn't venture into town
Rooms are not big, but you will be outside most of the time anyway. Beds are fine, mosquito nets available. U got bitten nonetheless. Make sure to bring repellent and wear socks, long sleeves/trousers from 6 pm.
Staff is very friendly and smiling, were offered a guided boat trip to nature reserve at 5 am which was well worth the trouble.
Hated the coffee, love de Dorada with slice of lime

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank djcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison KS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here as a last resort because we were turned off by the reviews. We found the rooms very good. Close to a pool etc. We stayed away from the dinning facilities. We did find the coffee to be fantastic. It was located on the beach and close to several decent dinning facilities. We had the fish tacos at Johnney Place and were fantastic. Dinner at the Pelican. It is a great value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arhusker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just got back from Guatemala where I went to Monte Rico on the pacific coast it was a very nice experience, the people that work there are very nice with the guest, they went out of the way to please them, one member of the group got sun burn and they got her aloe.

the restaurant service was nice and the food was excellent (only thing is that I miss the tortillas on my typical breakfast) is a quiet place to read a book in the different Pools or beach.

Thanks for a great weekend

Room Tip: get the high rooms to get a nice view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Monterico has many small beach fronted hotels, and the prices for most of the hotels are mostly inexpensive. I suppose this is because Monterico is most popular with local Guatemalan families who come down for the weekend. I read that over 60% of the visitors are from in country, and most of this is over the weekends. My experience confirms this.
I looked at several of the lesser expensive hotels, and would not want to spend the night in a budget hotel. I want to have a nice bed, clean bathroom, and nice gardens.
Pez de Oro is the best choice in the mid-range options, with spacious thatched roof bungalows interspersed between coconut palms and two small pools. The gardens are mostly empty of plants, but they keep the sand raked and clean.
Each bungalow has it’s own bathroom with cold shower and white towels. The bathrooms are very basic, so do not expect much. Each porch is strung with a hammock, linen curtains and mosquito nets, and although basic are pleasantly presented and very good value for money.

The setting at Pez de Oro is the nicest of Montericos mid range accommodation, and I would definitely recommend a stay for this reason alone. The restaurant has a limited menu, but the house special sauce is good. I think all the beach front restaurants are expensive by Guatemalan standards, but they seem consistant from one place to the next. If you go into town to eat you will save some money. The restaurant staff seem pretty lazy and not motivated to serve. The restaurant was mostly empty even though the hotel was full. I guess the other guests had figured there were better options. One the other hand when breakfast is served, the coffee is good and the o.j freshly squeezed. 15 Q for a cup of coffee is the most I have ever paid for coffee in Guatemala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times, the rooms are nice, and clean, all the rooms have hammocks on the outside. The hotel is right in front of the ocean and about 20m away from where they release the baby turtles at 5pm which is a awesome thing to see and be a part of! I loved doing that. The food is good but it's really over priced, we would usually go out to eat somewhere else, but if money is no issue, the food is good, the service is good as well, not excellent, but good. if you are on a low budget then this is one of the best places you can stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_dcm_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pez de Oro just for two nights last August. The reviews on this site are mixed, so we weren't sure what to expect (the more recent ones are more positive, interestingly). We liked our little cabin, painted in bright blues and yellows, with private bathroom. It had a much-needed fan, but it was more comfotable (heat-wise) to sit outside on our little verandah. There was a mosquito net over the bed, but we both felt trapped and claustrophobic, so sprayed ourselves liberally with mosquito deterrent and slept like that. We were fine. We ate at the restaurant, which we considered to be good but not exceptional. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had no problems with them. They were very laid-back, as was the whole atmosphere. At the time we were there, there was only one other group staying, so we had the place to ourselves. We loved the pool and considered this to be the best bit. We knew it was clean because we watched them clean it. The shower in the bathroom is described as a cold-water shower, but because it was so hot, the water was hardly cold - just luke-warm, which was quite nice in that temperature. There was a terrific thunder-storm while we were there, which was interesting to watch from the restaurant overlooking the beach, but we woke in the night to find the electricity had gone off, so the fan was't working. I should just mention that the bed was comfortable with good pillows and the whole place was kept very clean.

All in all, we felt we had made a good choice. Usually with heat like that, we prefer an air-conditioned hotel, but in Monterrico it seemed that to get the air-conditioning you had to stay in a rather more grand hotel like a resort, and we prefer a more homey type of place. We liked being right by the beach, and we liked the lay-out of the cabins - it all looked very attractive. We would recommend it, but you do need to be aware that it's pleasant and relaxing, but it's a no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaretjoe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrico hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Johnny's Place
Johnny's Place
#2 of 5 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel la Guitarra
Hotel la Guitarra
#2 of 16 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mi Paraiso
Hotel Mi Paraiso
#12 of 16 in Monterrico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Delfin
Hotel El Delfin
#1 of 11 in Monterrico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pez de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pez de Oro

Property: Hotel Pez de Oro
Address: Monterrico, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Pez De Oro Hotel
Hotel Pez De Oro Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing