We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, warm, and beautiful.”
Review of Cafe Del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Certificate of Excellence
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming, warm, and beautiful.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Cafe Del Sol in Jan of 2012 and greatly enjoyed my time at this hotel.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (and reasonably priced), the staff more than helpful (especially given my limited Spanish), and the food and atmosphere wonderful.

I was vacationing from the Guatemalan highlands so the sun and warm water was most welcome. I soaked it up with gusto! I also greatly enjoyed setting the baby sea turtles free on the beach. Make sure to do this, as it was so much fun!

Nicolas (manager) was extremely accommodating in aiding in finding shuttles, directions, keeping me safe, and cheerfully answering my emails filled with questions. He is an excellent caring owner with a warm, friendly and fun manner. I enjoyed sharing stories and visiting with him.

I spend much of my time in the sun on comfortable lounge chairs reading and relaxing. I also fell in love with the delicious ceviches that the staff prepared with care. Delicious!

I would recommend Hotel Cafe Del Sol without hesitation.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance. Rooms fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenacityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
39
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Cafe del sol is a little and simple hotel at the beach, but is pure fun.
They have clean rooms with and without ac, a pool and a jaccuzzi and a terrasse on the beach. Stuff is friendly, food is good and the prices are reasonable. If you are a good swimmer you can jump in the waves, or you just enjoy the black vulcanic beach. From Cafe del sol you can go for birdwatching, or visit a turtle station (Tortugario). If you go out at night and you are lucky you can see seaturtles digging their eggs on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andres049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently vacationed solo in Monterrico and fell in love with the town and the people. It is a laid
back beach town vibe and not for everyone but if you want to really relax go during the week.
During the weekend it is very busy.

I managed to book in when there was a wedding. The hotel staff did an excellent job of accomodating their guests' requests. Florida Marie even moved me to the set of rooms opposite the beach rooms on the second night as some of the wedding guests were still partying. Juana, Freddie, Irma, and Juan were all polite and helpful beyond my expectations.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Enjoy and just take things as they come!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms across from the beach much quieter and enclosed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogamates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Situated directly on the beach, the Cafe del Sol is a great place to relax. My room was spacious, had a very good bed, and a shared roof which made it feel big and more comfortable. The best thing was the food, which is probably among the best I had on my Guatemala trip. The staff are also very polite and quick, and they keep the place very clean. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We only ate here. The experience was ordinary. The food ok. The staff a little lost. The view was nice. What we had read gave us higher expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robjoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We decidet to go to Monterrico on a litle family tour.

at the time we arrived at Monterrico we chacked out a few hotels in the area and decidet we want to stay at Cafe del sol, because directly at the entrece one of the staffmembers gave us a big welcome and at the time we chacked the room it was claen! That was the most impresive thing since the hotels we checked out before were dirty or way to expencive!

Irma wich is the receptionist talks only a litle bit of english, nevertheless she helped us so much with organizing activities for the famaly, we took a special tour of tradicional shrimp fisching during the night! for a Q 150.- per person! it was a great expicience since we entered into the mangroves during the night and learned how to throw the net!

well If you are going to Monterrico stay at this hotel theres is nothing better in Monterrico!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was our second choice of hotels on our first trip to Monterrico. It is about a 10 minute walk to the main beach area where they have a nightly turtle release. We stayed at the one beachfront unit they offer. The other rooms are across the alleyway where there is a pool but it did not look like anything we would want to swim in. Our room did not have air conditioning and one of the windows was missing! A little unnerving! The sound of the waves crashing in was non stop and from our room above the restaurant it was even louder. The staff was friendly and the food was very good and the beer was always cold! We were there around Christmas and were the only guests for two nights. We will try to stay our first choice next time but we would not hesitate to stay here again if that doesn't work out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midland98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrico hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Johnny's Place
Johnny's Place
#2 of 5 in Monterrico
250 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel la Guitarra
Hotel la Guitarra
#4 of 17 in Monterrico
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Delfin
Hotel El Delfin
#2 of 11 in Monterrico
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
8.3 mi away
Villas Maya Jade
Villas Maya Jade
#1 of 2 in Hawaii
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Del Sol Hotel

Property: Cafe Del Sol Hotel
Address: Monterrico 06024, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Monterrico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best place in Monte Rico if you want to be on the beach and close to the center of the village (300m). Our guests appreciate a friendly and helpful service and great food. Our restaurant won several gastronomic prizes. The restaurant is right on the beach and from here you can enjoy sunsets almost every day (August to April) and sun rises too (Nov - Feb). Our rooms are clean (!) and comfortable although not luxurious. Some have a/c, all the rest ventilators. Besides double rooms we have rooms with 3, 4 or 5 beds. Internet 1.25 US per hour in reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Del Sol Hotel Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing