We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF you visit Monterrico then definitely stay here”
Review of Hotel El Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Delfin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As we were taking chicken buses from Lake Atitlan to El Salvador we decided to detour here to break up the journey and have a few days RnR. In the end we didn't particularly like the town but we thought the hostel was excellent.
The black sand beach is obviously very hot, its also very dirty and its quite dangerous to swim in. The town is very small and is primarily a weekend party (and I mean party) place for those from the cities.
Having said all that this property is very good and the owners were doing a fantastic job. They welcomed us and showed us all the facilities, prepared our room quickly. They have created a relaxed vibe and ensure it is quiet at night.
They have a pay 3 stay 4 night deal that was a great deal, we stayed in a basic room with the shared bathroom, it was clean, came with fan and mosquito nets. The shared facilities were cleaned regularly and there was more than enough for everyone.
They have a pool, 2 bar/restaurants, ping pong, board games, movies, hammocks etc there is no need to leave the grounds.
Drinks were reasonably priced, the restaurant was a little more expensive than the street but fair.
If you want peace and quiet then come during the week.

Room Tip: there are larger rooms with private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJMGG, Owner at Hotel El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi, thanks for all of the great comments! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the town too much, but I think you stayed with us right before Semana Santa. The week before and then the actual week of Semana Santa (Easter Week) can be quite crazy here in Monterrico. It is the busiest and biggest holiday for our town, and people come from all over Guatemala to party hard. I bet if you had come during a quieter time you might have liked it a little more :)
Thanks again for all your positive comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us! Take care and happy travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 187 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is right on the beach, it's not a 5 star hotel but we had a group of 47 ppl stay there (we rented the whole hotel) and it was great. Again, nothing fancy but if you want to be right on the beach, have good food, pool, ping pong table and great service, this is def your choice... and at a great price! Owners were lovely and they helped us plan our group stay there without any problems.

We even took some of our wedding pictures there :)

Room Tip: Get one with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deisouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJMGG, Owner at Hotel El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! Your group was really great and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us! The hotel for sure isn't a luxurious place but we make up for it with our 5 star service :)
And thanks for sharing your photos, they are beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

El Delfin is definitely one of the main reasons to go to Monterico and it is a place what makes you return again and again. The owners and the staff are just amazing. Everyone there is very friendly, polite ad helpful - made me feel like a part of happy family. Rooms are clean and good size all equipped with everything you need. There are two areas where they serve food so you can always choose between bar overlooking the ocean or watch TV/use internet if decided to have a meal in a restaurant area. What makes this place even better is food. Great choice of very tasty meals. Also very affordable prices and cheap happy hour drinks. I was just in love with the hammocks which are perfect to relax, watch the beach, listen to the sound of breaking waves and catch the breeze.
Best place to stay in Monterico. Amazing people, great location and perfect atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likeanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lively place but also a nice place to relax. Cheap drinks, hammocks, and beach volleyball - not a bad way to spend a few days. We were there mid week, so it was rather quiet, but that was okay with us. There were still lots of people socialize with. The pool was nice and clean. The food was decent enough, but there are lots of other places to eat nearby too. The location was great and the customer service was really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the third time that I have visited Hotel El Delfin, and it keeps getting better. The food is delicious and reasonable. The bar serves terrific piña coladas, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I loved the swimming pool and the comfortable interior patio. A palapa covered deck extending out from the bar onto the beach offers a great place to eat, drink, read, visit with friends and view the sunrises and sunsets over the Pacific Ocean. I came this time for three days, and spent two weeks. If you like birds, there are some great birding opportunities on the beach and in the nearby mangrove habitat. I will return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griggs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJMGG, Owner at Hotel El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks so much David for the nice review! Honestly, repeat customers like yourself are a real pat on the back for us. It helps us to know we are doing something right! Thanks so much, and I am sure we will see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed at Hotel El Delfin for three nights. I had intended on heading to El Paredon in Sipacate, but when I realised I didn't have the funds to do this, I changed the destination to Monterico, owing to the greater choice of hostels. I arrived at Hotel El Delfin and ended up staying there for three nights, despite the Hotel's "stay four nights and get the fourth night free". I was concerned that I would have to live prudently for the next few days, however I was proven wrong by good pricing for good quality food and service. Enjoying smoothies by the sea, eating delicious cheeseburgers and watching the evening volleyball game with an ice cold beer. I though the place was great and will definitely return in the near future. It's a great place to prepare yourself to returning back to reality after months of traveling.
I would have stayed indefinitely, but like many backpackers there, I had to head back to Antigua, in order to prepare for my departure home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJMGG, Owner at Hotel El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hey, thanks so much for your lovely comments! I totally agree, and so would a lot of our customers, this is a great place to spend the last days of your trip! We have had a lot of people come here to soak up the sun before they head back home. Take care and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

4 nights spent here as there was a deal giving one night free if you stayed for three. This made the value of the room great value. We took a private double with en suite bathroom as there are not (i'm pretty sure) any double beds with shared bathroom. The room was clean, had a mosquito net above each bed (could have been bigger though guys!) and a basic but clean shower and toilet. Hammock right outside always wins brownie points with me as well!

It's located right on the beach, so from the bar/restaurant you can enjoy your FREE morning cuppa overlooking the fierce ocean in front of you as the sun comes up. Equally, you can watch it go down with a frosty beer in the evening.
The wi-fi was a bit hit and miss, but this is the perfect place to switch off, pick up a book and sit in a hammock with a cold one.

The staff are excellent. All of them, (and there were many) were a pleasure to deal with
The food is reasonably priced for the area and is just as good, possibly better than the many comedors that line the street.

We arrived on a sunday and the place was packed as it is popular with day trippers, so if you are looking for a quieter time, go mid-week. The bar shuts early, as did everything else in town when we were there. No complaints, as it was all about chilling! There are trips you can organise when you get there..i wouldn't know about them as we didn't partake, but by all accounts were well received by others.

Loved it, but..take plenty of mosquito repellent. Like everywhere on the coast, they are vicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJMGG, Owner at Hotel El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! We really appreciate it! I totally agree with you, if you are looking for a quiet time at the beach, it is better to visit us during the week. We are always full on the weekend, especially this time of year! Thanks for mentioning our offer of stay 3 get an extra night free, it is definitely a hit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrico hotels
0.2 mi away
Johnny's Place
Johnny's Place
#2 of 5 in Monterrico
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atelie del Mar
Hotel Atelie del Mar
#1 of 5 in Monterrico
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
Cafe Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 5 in Monterrico
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Cocori Lodge Monterrico
Cocori Lodge Monterrico
#4 of 11 in Monterrico
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marbella Eco Lodge
Marbella Eco Lodge
#8 of 11 in Monterrico
14 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villas Maya Jade
Villas Maya Jade
#2 of 2 in Hawaii
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Delfin

Address: Beachfront, Calle de Los Hoteles | 20 Mtrs From Calle Principal, Monterrico 06024, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monterrico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Monterrico
Price Range: $10 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW WiFi System! Hotel El Delfin is a great option for backpackers and anyone looking for great service at a great price! We have economic private rooms with shared baths as well as private rooms with private baths. We also offer dorm for Q40. We have a BIG clean pool, and beachfront bar and restaurant with fresh seafood and classics like hamburgers and pastas. Our personalized service with Spanish, English and German-speaking staff make us the best choice in Monterrico! You can chill out, have a beer, read a book and relax in one of our many hammocks! If you want to get active, you can play ping-pong, beach and pool volleyball. We always have our offer of Stay 3 Nights Get 1 Night FREE, as well as group discounts. If you would like to just visit for the day, there are shuttles leaving Antigua at 8am and leaving Monterrico for Antigua at 4pm. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Delfin Guatemala/Monterrico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing